We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best family hols ever....”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mersing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Gypsy Village Resort & Dive Base
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mersing
Certificate of Excellence
Munich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best family hols ever....”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We were visiting Singapore in August from Europe and wanted to squeeze in 10 days of quality beach time with no news, no shoes and three kids, two of which are teenagers. On arrival I was a little worried my older kids would get bored because there was nothing to do except go swimming and fishing - but what was I thinking?! Why would they be bored in paradise? Sea Gypsy and its lovely, welcoming staff gave us the perfect injection of fun, quiet time, home food, quality time and the simple possibilities to go diving, fishing, hiking, snorkelling we were looking for with our kids. It was a lot like leaving home when we left and we will def be back. Especially the very motivated group of young internationals who shape the fun activities impressed us and we hope that our kids return there one day maybe as one of them?! If it weren't so darn far away from Munich, we'd be there every year!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank familyholsinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    78
    28
    8
    6
See reviews for
122
53
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at Sea Gypsy in February and found it to be a great little place to get away to from the hustle and bustle of Singapore!
The resort's boat picked us up from the jetty and took us across to the island which is about 20 minutes away. We were warned before boarding that 'the winds had picked up' so needed to dock at Coconut Village 15 minutes walk from the resort. The boat ride was not for the faint hearted! The sea was really rough (and at times quite scary!) and by the time we got off we were all soaking wet!
As many others have written the resort itself is basic but lovely. The rooms are clean and many of them overlook the beach. The meals are really nice although I did find it strange that staff started cooking dinner at 6pm but don't serve until 8pm by which time all the food is really cold.
The thing that was quite astounding (and many others have written this too) is the amount of litter that washes up. Sea Gypsy take care of their stretch of beach and every morning the boys are out cleaning up the large amounts of rubbish that wash in over night. However if you walk 200 metres up the beach it is covered in rubbish. I think the resort should take more responsibility for the entire stretch of beach (it isn't long) and send some of the staff to clean up that part as well. I say this because a lot of the time it seemed like the staff didn't have enough to do and just messed around with each other.
After saying this the sea is fine and quite lovely to swim in.
Overall a really pleasant stay - we'll be back!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper ask for a villa away from the sea - it's pretty noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna_Hearts_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Having been sick for most of January, we were looking for a 4 day break over CNY. Sea Gypsy fit the bill. After an easy drive, the boat took us from Tanjong Leman to the island. Due to the winds, it wasn't possible to drop us on the beach, so we docked at Coconut Village (which looks like it has seen better days) and walked over the island. All good, except that getting on and off the boat was a little difficult for my parents, as it might be for anyone with knee or back problems.

We'd read the reviews, and the detailed Sea Gypsy website, so thought we knew what to expect - something a bit more rustic and perhaps a little dated. But I have to say it was lovely! Perhaps being the beginning of the season, we saw everything at its shiny best. Crisp linen, brightly coloured towels, new mozzie nets, fresh paint...and staff that were keen and eager to please!

We went on one of the snorkelling trips - excellent - since the sea at the resort was not as calm as needed for snorkelling there. That said, our 9 year old had a great time in the waves (noted as his favourite thing!). The beach is great, though it is sad to see how much rubbish is washed up from Singapore and JB!

As mentioned everywhere, no hot water, but that didn't matter. All that was needed was a quick rinse of sand from body and hair before dinner, so it wasn't like we froze...

Meals were excellent. All included and no choice, but we were really impressed with both the adults and children's meals. I actually really liked the fact that everyone eats together too. It lends itself to more mingling to give a nice friendly atmosphere. If you want to feel like you are the only people on the island, this isn't the resort for you!

And the kids club was also great. Organised activities, and then movies until 10pm. Our boy was shattered at the end of each day, and slept really well.

All in all, we had a great stay, and we'll definitely be back. Thank you to all at Sea Gypsy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glynn101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We visited the Sea Gypsy in July 2012 with over 30 people and had the most amazing weekend.

This isn't a luxury resort so come expecting bugs, average food, weathered looking decor and a lot of beach debris. This isn't 5 star luxury but it's 5 star fun.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I've been several times - it is very basic, no hot water or air con, no wifi, and exactly what we want as a break from bustling city life. The buffet food is fine, and caters to young palates very well. The Malaysian staff are consistently fabulous. Very helpful, polite, and ready with a joke. The foreign staff (often what appear to be young British backpacker types), can be a mixed bag. Sometimes brilliant, most recently, pretty neglectful of the guests in order to hang out together, although this improved a bit when the manager was around. I have dived here, and wouldn't dive here again - I don't think the dive masters are up to scratch - one changed the tanks and put a used one on a beginner divers BCD (with only 80 bar), and then did a buddy check and let her get in the water for the second boat dive! This was noticed by a more experienced diver after a few minutes under, but still, diving should be taken more seriously than that. So in summary - great family holiday to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life, fabulous for kids, easy to get to.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We were looking for somewhere tropical, and not too crowded and found exactly what we were looking for. The staff were very friendly and always had good advice to offer about what we should do. The huts were basic but comfortable, they are 10 seconds from the beach and you literally don't need to take anything with you. The water was lovely and warm and it was bliss to swim in the calm sea. We went at the start of the monsoon so on the second day the waves started to get bigger, which meant we could body surf. We also hired paddle ski's and we also went on a snorkel trip to a nearby little island.
We also walked through the jungle to Rimba Resort and had a drink there. The jungle is beautiful but you definitely need proper shoes for the hike.
They served meals 3 times a day which were included and the food was very good. They also have afternoon tea, with delicious brownies. We had a selection of cocktails which were reasonably priced and tasty.
It started to rain the night before we were due to leave so the library came in handy, there are also some board games. We don't have kids but the kids that were there were entertained well with their kids program.
Do take note that there isn't really any cell phone reception, and no hot water. This didn't bother us as we knew what to expect and the weather was warm. It's not an upmarket place but if you're looking to get away from crowds and have a relaxing, rustic holiday then I would recommend Sea Gypsy. It's very liberating to know you can do whatever you want, cant be reached by your boss, and don't have to look dolled up at all.
The only negative thing about the place is that the beach next door is filthy, there is a lot of rubbish washed up on the beach. The portion where the resort is, however is kept clean, so it only bothers if you go for a long walk on the beach. The sea in the area around South East Asia isn't exactly clean so its understandable that a lot of things wash up on the beach. There were a few derelict buildings next door which looked like a resort that went bust and no-one is taking ownership for the mess.
Other than that, we had a truly amazing time and I would like to go back in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I choose Sea Gypsy as a place to spend time with my best friend and her 2 year old son on holiday, and it turned out to be a perfect choice.

The child care and fun actitivities arranged make it a perfect solution for having fun times with your loved ones together and some chill out times for the adults too. To have the kids entertained and supervised from 6pm to 10pm was amazing!

The kids zone is a haven for them, bean bags, kids movies, t short painting and loads of other fun stuff.

Staff are amazing and the food is plentiful and tasty.

Accomodation is maybe a little basic, but its very comfortable and has everything that you need.

Would go back with family and friends time and time again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mersing
0.0 mi away
Sibu Island Resort
Sibu Island Resort
#10 of 12 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
21.2 mi away
Mersing Hotel
Mersing Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mersing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
21.2 mi away
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Timotel Hotel
Timotel Hotel
#9 of 12 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
15.5 mi away
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
#1 of 2 in Pulau Besar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa Sibu Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Gypsy Village Resort & Dive Base? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Gypsy Village Resort & Dive Base

Property: Sea Gypsy Village Resort & Dive Base
Address: | Pulau Sibu, Mersing 86800, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Mersing District > Mersing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mersing
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy access form Singapore or Johor Bahru Airport with our own non stop direct airport transfers. Complete relaxation on an undeveloped island within a Marine Park. Delicious food, fully stocked bar which never closes for drinkers, amazingly beautiful safe almost private beach. Scuba Diving, Snorkeling, Excursions, Nasty Activities, Sailing, Paddle Skiing, Boogie Boarding, Games, Beach Volleyball, and freshly baked Scones every afternoon! Special rates for kids up to 17 years of age. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Gypsy Village Resort And Dive Base
Sea Gypsy Village Resort & Dive Base Hotel Mersing
Sea Gypsy Village Mersing
Sea Gypsy Village Resort & Dive Base Mersing, Malaysia - Johor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing