We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff advisednot to drink water due to suspected contamination”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mersing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Gypsy Village Resort & Dive Base
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Mersing
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
johor
110
Reviewed 20 July 2005

Would not recommend - waited more than 1 1/2 hours for my luggage to find it had been left in the rain, senior male staff were not only flirting with female guests, but also allowing them to go behind the bar when the barman was on his break; found the two male staff responsible for the diving rude, especially the senior dive instructor, both these staff also continuously helped themselves to alcohol throughout what was presumed to be their working hours and providing female guests with free drinks; a young woman staff member giving the appearance of being responsible for the financial running of the show only to have her do a jealous outburst directed at one of the male staff members and in front of the guests. On top of this, other staff members advised me not to drink the water due to at least 4 guests and 1 staff member recently requiring treatment for a "stomach bug", 2 of which required hospitalisation. Combined with plastic covered mattress, sea lice in the water and complaints from other guests of sandflies, did not make this worth the boat trip from the jetty nor the drive up from Singapore.

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 April 2006

The water at Sea Gypsy Village comes from our own well, which we lovingly look after. We all drink the water. My children grew up drinking the water from the age of 6 weeks. We serve the water to all our guests at meal times and through the ice in drinks. We tell all our guests the water is drinkable and advertise the fact as it is unsual in Asia. In 14 years I can count on the fingers the number of upset tummies we have had. Finally the Ministry of Health come to Sibu regularly to test the water.
This review was maliciously posted by (the disgruntled family of) a lad from Australia that became sick within a day of arriving on Pulau Sibu.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank AphexTwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Urban S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Ijzerhandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
Thank Carola v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: les chalets sont a quelques metres de la mer. Le V0 est le plus proche de l'eau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Julily02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mersing
21.2 mi away
Mersing Hotel
Mersing Hotel
#4 of 11 in Mersing
55 reviews
21.2 mi away
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#8 of 11 in Mersing
117 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sibu Island Resort
Sibu Island Resort
#9 of 11 in Mersing
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Timotel Hotel
Timotel Hotel
#7 of 11 in Mersing
138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa Sibu Island
15.5 mi away
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
#1 of 2 in Pulau Besar
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Gypsy Village Resort & Dive Base? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Gypsy Village Resort & Dive Base

Address: | Pulau Sibu, Mersing 86800, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Mersing District > Mersing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Mersing
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy access form Singapore or Johor Bahru Airport with our own non stop direct airport transfers. Complete relaxation on an undeveloped island within a Marine Park. Delicious food, fully stocked bar which never closes for drinkers, amazingly beautiful safe almost private beach. Scuba Diving, Snorkeling, Excursions, Nasty Activities, Sailing, Paddle Skiing, Boogie Boarding, Games, Beach Volleyball, and freshly baked Scones every afternoon! Special rates for kids up to 17 years of age. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Gypsy Village Resort & Dive Base Hotel Mersing
Sea Gypsy Village Resort And Dive Base
Sea Gypsy Village Mersing
Sea Gypsy Village Resort & Dive Base Mersing, Malaysia - Johor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing