We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right on our doorstep!”
Review of Rawa Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mersing
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rawa Island Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mersing
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Right on our doorstep!”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

I've heard fabulous reports about Rawa Island but this is our first visit in 40+ years in Singapore! I booked a week before CNY thinking no hope of finding accommodation. To my surprise they had a room and the Mersing office arranged everything for us. I had read some rather negative reports on TA about the food, service and the state of the rooms and most of all I didn't believe the promotional photos. Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised, it is truly a magical setting, great service and super food for all tastes. Most of all the the dive shop and souvenir shops don't rip you off, very reasonable. It's not cheap to stay (still considerably less than the 5 star resorts or Bintang), but the relaxed stress free environment makes it well worth the 3 hour drive from Singapore).

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank littlebali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    124
    54
    18
    16
See reviews for
148
54
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This was an awesome quick trip out of Singapore for a few days with friends.
The rooms were clean but in need of updating, the buffet food was pretty average and the staff were not accommodating to additional requirements or late arrivals.
However the beach was picture perfect and the Saturday BBQ was really very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a splendid holiday on Rawa Island Safaris Resort. It's a wonderful place both for friends, couples and families...
The unique nature, the ambience and the people who care lovingly and attentivly to their guests. They made our stay extra special!
The food was fantastic, the service unobtrusive but very courteous, and the rooms were very nice and clean.
I wish I could come right back to Rawa Island ..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Beautiful island with clear blue sea and colorful corals along the beach (during low tide) with magnificent view from the mountain. BUT could have been better with a BETTER customer service. Staff were unfriendly and rude.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Palmsyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I have nothing but positive feedback to give this place. I booked to stay in a hillside apartment for 4 nights. Turned out, because it was low season, I was able to get upgraded to a beach front location. I must admit the beach front felt much more airy and comfortable. Although the hillside cabin was absolutely fine, it did have a dampness about it; it also felt like the door didn't really shut properly.

The resort itself offers amazing massage facilities - I got reflexology and cupping, which were both firm and well executed. The food was good too - a mixture of Asian and Western food at each meal. Hopefully you will have the delight of being served by the lovely Yanti, who I'm pretty sure is there to make you feel even better about your day :)

The beach is pure heaven and the fact you have the opportunity to snorkel and see the coral and some beautiful fish was something I considered an absolute privilege. It is a shame that some people, however, do not respect true nature; standing on the reef is strictly forbidden as it kills it.

All in all a great place to switch off, de-stress and be surrounded by happy people!

Room Tip: Definitely go for the beach front if you prefer comfort. Do bear in mind all rooms are pretty basic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed on Rawa in this Resort for 5 days in September 2013 - it was one of my best best vacations ever.
- The Island is just like a jewel!
- Houses are clean, comfortable and locacted very well
- Environment: great, clean beach, perfect water, snorkeling in Corals just 5 m behind the beach; the Resort wants to Keep tourism in a good Balance and does not overload the Island / Resort; if it is not fully booked, the upgrade very often!
- great Service: all staff is very Service oriented and willing to make guests happy - compared to other experiences in Malaysia they offer great hospitality, Service
- Food: Food Comes with high Quality and broad offer - both Asian cuisine + western style Food
- very familiy friendly though I was not there with Kids I could see this
- very nice assistant Manager who tries to be Close to guests, offers Background knowledge about the place and is very open minded

Overall Feedback: perfect place, perfect Resort - just can recommend it without any restrictions.

Room Tip: Front beach Bungalows of course are nicer than the ones in second line. But generally all rooms what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Solveig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

this was our first visit to the Island, first glimpse was beautiful even though the weather wasn't great. Slides are popular and great fun even for adults. water is crystal clear and can see fish even not snorkling.

Don't expect too much from hotel though, rooms are average, I stayed in the Deluxe Hillside room, it was spacious with a big balcony, bathroom was usable. Room has no TV / Phone so if you need anything you need to walk back to the front desk for help.

They provide cold / hot water, Tea and coffee for free and 3 meals a day for your stay. all other food / drinks will need to pay for

No choice on food as it was all set, but overall not bad, but not good.

Staff are very very friendly though, they are helpful and and prompt with problems encoutered.

This Island would not be for everyone if you are looking to eat a lot or do a lot, i chose this Island to relax and just read my book by the beach and enjoyed the sun for 2 days. its very very quiet with only 10 guest for the 1st night and 12-13 guest on the second.

Busy times are April + Oct.

Room Tip: bring your own snacks & nibbles / drinks to island. bring your own toiletries -they provide no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AUdrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mersing
0.0 mi away
Sibu Island Resort
Sibu Island Resort
#10 of 12 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mersing Hotel
Mersing Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mersing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Timotel Hotel
Timotel Hotel
#9 of 12 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
9.6 mi away
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
#1 of 2 in Pulau Besar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
21.8 mi away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa Sibu Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rawa Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawa Island Resort

Property: Rawa Island Resort
Address: Tourist Centre, Mersing 86800, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Mersing District > Mersing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Mersing
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Rawa Island Resort, an idyllic tropical island for guests to unwind from the stress and strain of modern life. Feel the grains of white, sun-baked sand between your toes as you stroll along the beach. Take a dip in the warm waters of the South China Sea. Enjoy the green scenery. Snorkel along the natural coral reef just metres from the shore. Or simply relax as you watch the sun disappear lazily over the orange horizon. Situated within the archipelago of the Sultan Iskandar Marine Park, Rawa Island is accessible by a twenty-minute boat ride from Mersing, Johor. This beachfront resort features 77 rooms, each individually designed to blend in with the natural landscape. Modern furnishings provide guests with the comforts of home. We invite you to take a break from the monotony of daily routine. Experience the island's natural beauty and our Malaysian hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rawa Island Safaris Hotel Mersing
Rawa Island Safaris Mersing
Rawa Island Resort Mersing, Malaysia - Johor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing