We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aint coming back.”

Hotel Selesa, Pasir Gudang
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Selesa, Pasir Gudang
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pasir Gudang
Reviewed 14 November 2008

Just returned from staying at HS,PG with 2 other workmates.
As we were visiting offices in that area for work purpose, it was more convenient staying there than in JB city.
Unless you have a car, it is not located in a convenient location but there are few restaurants nearby.
Furniture is dated, carpet looks 'dodgy'; and out of order lamps in the shower & above the bed. Also breakfast isnt anything to shout about. All that for USD55/- per night.....the dead cockroach next to my bed is included FOC.
Rooms were not that quiet.
While checking out the concierge staff forgot to return my credit card until i asked. However the cafe staff were helpful.
Also there was a notice for a power outage today from 11 to 3.
I sure am glad it was only a one night stay.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Trin17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Selesa, Pasir Gudang
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2008

Had two nights here & that was 2 nights too long. Was really glad to check out, but that’s another story.
I was booked into the hotel by my company and after my short stay have been removed from their recommended places to stay. I arrived early evening & it looked OK from the outside. The taxi driver helped unload the car & the doorman watched me walk to reception with my entire luggage, didn’t even offer to open the door.
Check in was OK, then I got to the room (252) & it had a bit of an odour, when the lights were on you could see mould on the ceiling. Going back to the elevator you could see mould & damp patches throughout the level. A colleague also stayed & when he turned on his light saw small cockroaches running around, though I did not have any in my room.
The evening meal in the restaurant is OK, with a very limited western choice & even when you order fish n chips, a medium steak arrived. The hotel is Halal so don’t expect any alcohol even with your evening meal, not even in a secluded corner as some hotels do.
Did manage to get any early morning wakeup call problem was it was 5.00AM and it was the local mosque, that noisy that it was pointless trying to get back to sleep.
Breakfast consists of an omelette & sausages if you are lucky, failing that it is rice n noodles. On checkout despite asking for the bill before eating it was still not ready 15 mins later & many interruptions it arrived, unfortunately it wasn’t my bill. So back to square one. Finally got the right bill & asked where my taxi was to me met with a nice smile & a @Oh sorry forgot to call, needless to say late for work again.
On a plus side they did arrange a taxi to take me over to Singapore airport, which was clean tidy & reasonable & arrived in time.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LukChang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2008

the hotel exteriotr is well painted...looks nice and appealing...however dont expect the rooms to be just as nice as the exterior...

check in was a breeze as the hotel is located rather at the industrial part of Johor...not much tourists can be found....the room that i was given at first was room 425...the way to the room was pleasant..no bad odour despite the pathway is carpeted....However i was greeted by a bad smell when i entered my room..I booked a deluxe suite..and the only thing that i got for a suite is just the space....no bathtub..no xtra amenities..with a price of RM207 for a deluxe suite,I would expect at least a bathtub..when i enquire with the staff,i was told the hotel has no room with a bathtub..so i would suggest that one should just booked the normal room..cause all the amenities is the same for all rooms....another problem with my room is that the air con is not working...after calling up the technisyen..its still the same problem...hence i asked for a room change...i got it quite fast..but the room is the same...large..loo large that the air con cant be felt cool enugh....

all in all...never get the deluxe room..just book a normal room...the aircon does not have the power to cool the whole room...a smaller room would be cooler than a suite...
.
breakfast is a simple buffet spread...no sausasges or ham..no pancakes or waffles...just 2 type of rice...and bread...assam noodles and the egg section...thats all...

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huneybaby69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hermes16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 26 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pasir Gudang
1.8 mi away
Hotel De' Tees
Hotel De' Tees
#8 of 10 in Masai
9 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Masai Utama
Hotel Masai Utama
#9 of 10 in Masai
8 reviews
2.6 mi away
Swan Garden Hotel
Swan Garden Hotel
#63 of 109 in Johor Bahru
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Peach Hill Hotel
Peach Hill Hotel
#3 of 10 in Masai
10 reviews
3.9 mi away
Amansari Residence Resort
2.7 mi away
Grand Far East Hotel
Grand Far East Hotel
#4 of 10 in Masai
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Selesa, Pasir Gudang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Selesa, Pasir Gudang

Address: Hotel Selesa Jalan Bandar, Pasir Gudang 81700, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Pasir Gudang
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pasir Gudang
Price Range: £28 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Selesa, Pasir Gudang 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Selesa, Pasir Gudang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Selesa, Pasir Gudang Johor, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing