We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel A.S.R.C.
Nearby Hotels
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Alora Hotel(Alor Setar)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$44
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AST Hotel(Alor Setar)
US$24
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$23
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Q Bintang Hotel(Alor Setar)
US$25
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
4
13
10
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
13
10
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Alor Setar is not high on the 'gotta go there' tourist map. So when we visited there for a short stop over after Langkawi we were not prepared for the wonderful city that we discovered.

The hotel is about 1 mile walk from the centre of activity in the city. The room was clean, fairly large - including 2 comfy armchairs (why don't all rooms have armchairs?), air conditioned (en suite of course) and in good condition. The staff were helpful and there are some facilities e.g. a small convenience store and a cafe on the ground floor.

Room Tip: The south facing rooms wake up to a view of the Alor Setar Sky Tower!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

If you are looking for 4 or 5 stars hotels, then this is not the place you are looking for, BUT, if you are looking for a good value place for one or a few nights stay in Alor Setar, then this is a place I would recommend.

It is actually a recreational centre with a big well-maintained swimming pool & a kids wading pool. There is a meeting hall which they use for line dancing and aerobics dance exercise on the first floor and a huge badminton hall on the ground floor.

Hotel guests have free access for using the swimming pool. You need to wear proper swimming attire and swimming cap to use the pool. Swimming caps and goggles are available for sale and for rent. You will be requested to change into dry clothes at the changing/shower room at the pool before going back to your room. Pool opening hours- 7.30am-12noon, 1.00pm-4.45pm, 5.30pm-8.45pm. The swimming pool is partially covered with high roof which is suitable to swim even during the hottest sunny day.

There is a minimal fee to attend the exercise dance classes. Such like 3 rm and 4 rm for an hour of aerobics dance class depends on which instructor is leading the class.

The hotel staff are very friendly and they clean the room, make the bed, change the towels and provide new soaps everyday.

The hotel has covered parking places for hotel guests only.

There is a TV with limited Astro Channels. Mostly local TV channels. They do have HBO channel and WAH LAI TOI.

There are Deluxe rooms on the first floor for 70+rm suitable for anyone who doesn't want to climb the stair so much.

Standard twin rooms are available on the second floor, and double rooms with good view of the Alor Setar Tower are available on the third floor.

Free WI-FI Internet in the rooms with good and fast speed connection. Ask for the password from the reception.

We stayed here for two nights and paid 58.30 rm per night for a double room on the third floor, (no lift, but very good for fitness walking up and down the stair) with clean and spacious room and the view of the Alor Setar Tower, good air-conditioning, big attached bathroom with good shower and a TV. There is no fridge or tea making facilities. It was a very quiet room as we were on the third floor. The room is so spacious that I can do cart wheel in it. The bed is comfy enough but the pillow is a bit too high for me. But I slept very well though. If you don't want to use the air-conditioning, there are windows you can open and it is quite airy. So far I didn't find any mosquitoes.

I made use of the pool and attended an aerobics dance class (3 rm a session).

There is an OLD TOWN White Coffee Restaurant with local specialties right across the road. I like their Curry noodle and Ipoh shredded chicken noodle soup.

It takes less than 5 minutes drive to the city center and less than 20 minutes drive to Kuala Kedah - the ferry service to Langkawi Island.

If you want proper espresso coffee, there is a Secret Recipe restaurant at the City Plaza next to Holiday Villa Hotel in the city center that you can have good coffee and cheese cakes (10am-10pm). Less than 5 minutes drive from the hotel.

I had enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I will recommend it to anyone who just want a simple stay in Alor Setar or those who are on the way to Langkawi Island but have missed the last ferry at 7.30pm.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank wintermelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

The upside - affordable, fairly clean, large room, working a/c, next to community pool and some restaurants.

The downside - not really near anything. Fine if traveling with car but location was lacking as a foreigner with no car.

That being said we only stayed one night in between places and were not in Alor Setar to see much.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lqdflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews