We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent and cozy place with superb hospitality”
Review of Hotel Regent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Regent
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Alor Setar
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

This an old hotel, bought by a Malay businessman and underwent restoration last year.

It is a very very basic hotel with basic amenities. But nice and cozy. Kettle and coffee cups are no provided, but you can get hot water at the lounge which is located right in front of the rooms. Wash basin is provided outside the toilet which I think is quite convenient when you need to wash your hands after having food when someone is using the toilet.

The interior design of this hotel and its ambience makes me feel at home. The front desk was very friendly. Everybody working here would greet you with a smile. When we told them that we wish we could have a kettle and coffee cups in the room, the staff were willing to send them to our room.

They even offered to send us the food. Breakfast buffet was not much, but somehow acceptable as they have basic western and local cuisines. The restaurant offers splendid food. The presentation of food is beautiful.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here despite lack of amenities, as it is a clean hotel with very friendly hospitality..

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aspn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2012

The hotel is convenient, thought through and mostly are priced very reasonable.

Check in was very convenient and fast. There were no language barriers or long unexpected waiting before being escorted to our room. The friendliness of all the staff is second to none.

The rooms are nicely furnished and very clean. The main area is a good size however the bathroom is a little on the small side but not much of an issue.

Breakfast are simple with not much variety choice

Room Tip: Nice, clean and convenient boutique hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherry_Tam78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: クラブルームはよいが、朝食はバジリコの方がよい。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kamisagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aureliedef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alor Setar hotels
0.5 mi away
Fuller Hotel Alor Setar
Fuller Hotel Alor Setar
#3 of 24 in Alor Setar
110 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Alora Hotel
Grand Alora Hotel
#1 of 24 in Alor Setar
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Alor Setar
Holiday Villa Alor Setar
#11 of 24 in Alor Setar
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
TH Hotel Alor Setar
TH Hotel Alor Setar
#2 of 24 in Alor Setar
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
StarCity Hotel Alor Setar
StarCity Hotel Alor Setar
#10 of 24 in Alor Setar
114 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Leverage Mergong
The Leverage Mergong
#5 of 24 in Alor Setar
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regent

Address: 1536-G Jalan Sultan Badlishah, Alor Setar 05000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Kota Setar District > Alor Setar
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Alor Setar
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regent Alor Setar, Malaysia - Kedah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing