We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Royale
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bee Garden Motel(Alor Setar)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Miramar(Alor Setar)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Regent(Alor Setar)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
1
2
3
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
2
3
5
4
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Bathroom had a "buzz" all the time. We found out that it was water pressure on the system. The only way to stop it was to leave the tap on permanently. Couldn't really do that so we closed the door and plugged our ears. Towel rail was laying broken on the floor. Electrics were a nightmare. Switch on a overhead light to get the kettle working. Staff were not interested and would listen to complaints with a shrug and a couldn't care less attitude; especially the manageress. Dirty carpet. TV plug would not enter the socket; different fittings. Had to use this hotel as it was booked for us by a friend who had had good comments from another friend. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nicebed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2010

Access to the hotel's large car park is via the neighbouring garage, meaning cars exiting the garage could block entrance. The smart-looking foyer was quite impressive, as was the adjoining restaurant, but the toilet is external (around the back) was in poor condition.

Rooms were fairly spacious but shabby. The once-beautiful bathroom looked grotty through neglect; it could have benefited with re-grouting and bleaching. A broken towel rail, in conjunction with missing bulbs from many light fittings showed that the hotel owners weren't concerned with its upkeep. The widescreen TV was fitted with a plug incompatible with our sockets, so no viewing that night.

Between two beds were a staggering array of switches, one of which controlled the overhead lights, some controlled power flow to the switched bedside lights (why two switches?), some delivering power to the switched sockets (which is why we had difficulty in boiling a kettle) and one that supplied power to the isolation switch that powered the air conditioning - all switched were helpfully unlabelled, meaning trying to activate anything electrical involved solving lots of binary problems.

Quality of customer service was exceptionally bad: our room had been used by our wedding party photographers but not been redressed for our return - we were greeted with empty coffee packets, dirty cups and damp towels upon our arrival. When we raised this with the management I was under the impression this would be addressed prior to our return from the wedding - but we found it later to have been completely overlooked, the manager simply brushing aside our concerns with the fact that the housekeepers finish at 4pm.

I would not recommend staying there; I know the bridegroom who booked and paid for these rooms for his wedding guests was deeply embarrassed to find that such a grand-looking hotel was sadly let down by neglect and poor customer service. A definite sham: for 100RM a night, we received beautiful icing upon a rotten cake.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PreacherKane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews