We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly services”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
StarCity Hotel Alor Setar
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Alor Setar
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Friendly services”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Came here in June 2014 for one night business trip. Recommended by fellow colleagues.

Check in was very fast. Twin sharing room and we add another extra bed. Went to the room and found that the air condition is faulty. Immediately call regarding thr problem. Within 20 minutes the extra bed came and another 5 maintenance came which they recommend to move to another room.

Within another 5 minutes the supervisor came and apologize. He brought another set of card keys for next door for us to move in. All is done swiftly and in a friendly manner.

Free breakfast was provided but during the month of ramadhan (fasting month) breakfast would start early. What suprises us that the breakfast was brought to our room peraonally which is good.

The room was not equipped eith full fifa world cup games which is disappointing. However full game was shown near the lobby.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to others

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank azizyaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    49
    35
    8
    8
See reviews for
32
11
6
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located in what I would describe as the Chinatown of Alor Setar. We could see the Alor Setar Tower from our room. However, if you're a Muslim and would like to eat out, I doubt if there is anything around this hotel for you within walking distance. The room was okay, not that spacious but not small either. The only complaint I would have would be of the basement parking. It's either always full or the bays are not meant for MPVs. So we made the correct decision by driving from KL in our smallest car.

The staff is friendly. Breakfast is limited in choice and when we were there, there were lots of mosquitoes at the coffee house.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel m, General Manager at StarCity Hotel Alor Setar, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear John S,

Thank you for staying with us here in Alor Star.. In the past we have had no problems with MPV parking at the basement. Perhaps you would be happy to know that Close Circuit monitored parkings are also available around the hotel during your future trips.
As for Muslim patrons who makes up a large number of our clients, we have the Paddy Cafe available which is Halal and has a Grade A Certification from the Ministry of Health. Also less than 10 minutes walk from the hotel we have a Nasi Kandar shop, a Nasi Tomato shop, Nasi Padang and many more eatery catering to the needs of muslims. Please ask our reception who will be happy to show you directions.
We look forward to you coming home to StarCity during your next trip here in Alor Star. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

An average hotel with spacious room, air-con is tremendous good eventhough lower the speed & temperature but need to improve their pillow(too soft)
Conveniently located eventhough is isolated but is my fav's for Alor Setar
Front Desk service is warmth & knowledgeable

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenYap55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Haven't been back to this hotel in abt 3 years.

Hotel is still well maintained. Rooms are nice and comfortable with sufficient in room amenities.

Size of room is good and sufficient.

Location. Right smack in the city centre. Can walk to the Alor Setar tower.

Food outlets within 100m from the hotel where cheap local food both halal and chinese can be found.

Convenience stalls are a plenty around this area.

nearby Fuller hotel is more for the budget class modern motel while Star city is a Fu service hotel.


Overall great price for the comfort and well maintained compared to otherlocal hotels in Malaysia

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Located in a quieter part of Alor Setar, it is a fairly new hotel and so it's very clean, cosy and comfortable to stay - good air conditioned room with all the basic facilities. Breakfast is just average.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damas1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Nothing much to say bout this hotel. The staff is well mannered. Upon checking and once inside my room i called and asked for praying mate and i received it within 5 min. So fast. The room decoration quit simple and yes it have lcd tv but without astro channel.
The breakfast is just ok. Not so many choices and the quality i mean the taste was also SO SO. Owh btw the cafe also insect friendly. You will be accompanied by flies and with a mix of mosquitoes.
Hotel sorrounding was not so cool. With food courts along the road you will sumtime face trafic congested.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank shahrulhafeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I booked this hotel for an overnight trip. Alor Setar is a really quiet town, and hotels are correspondingly modest. The hotel is on a quiet street in an unprepossessing neighbourhood of mainly small commercial buildings. The checkin process was efficient and friendly. The room appears newly refurbished and is reasonably sized and clean. The air conditioning, even at minimum fan speed, sent an irritatingly strong draught across the bed and sitting area. The bathroom has no tub, just a shower cubicle, but water pressure is good and hot water plentiful. The toiletries are very basic - one small tablet of soap, one tube of shower gel and one tube of shampoo (both very small). There is an iron and ironing board in each room, but the minibar is empty. Coffee making facilities can best be described as basic - one sachet of "milk tea" and one of 3-in-1 coffee (coffee, creamer and sugar) per room.
Breakfast is in the tiny restaurant in the lobby. Choice is rather limited, but there is a station for freshly cooked eggs, as well as local favourites and bread. I also had a buffet dinner here and the food was dire. Avoid if possible.
Checkout was unproblematic and the staff efficiently arranged a taxi to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inftraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alor Setar hotels
0.0 mi away
Fuller Hotel Alor Setar
Fuller Hotel Alor Setar
#3 of 23 in Alor Setar
102 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Alora Hotel
Grand Alora Hotel
#1 of 23 in Alor Setar
127 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Villa Alor Setar
Holiday Villa Alor Setar
#12 of 23 in Alor Setar
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
TH Hotel Alor Setar
TH Hotel Alor Setar
#2 of 23 in Alor Setar
92 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Regency Hotel Alor Setar
The Regency Hotel Alor Setar
#8 of 23 in Alor Setar
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sentosa Regency Hotel Alor Setar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to StarCity Hotel Alor Setar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about StarCity Hotel Alor Setar

Property: StarCity Hotel Alor Setar
Address: 88 | Jalan Pintu Sepuluh, Alor Setar 05100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Kota Setar District > Alor Setar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Alor Setar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — StarCity Hotel Alor Setar 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, StarCity Hotel Alor Setar caters for leisure and business.In addition to the 98 luxurious rooms, StarCity Hotel offers various function rooms for meetings, conferences and banquets. Equipped with complimentary internet facilities and state-of-the-art audio visual system, StarCity Hotel is an ideal and excellent choice for your events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your StarCity Hotel Alor Setar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
StarCity Hotel Alor Setar Malaysia - Kedah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing