We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and cozy room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Ranked #22 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great location and cozy room”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The hotel is located in Pantai Tengah Beach, close to airport with 15min journey, passing by Pantai Cenang Beach, driving slow along the crowded street.

Pantai Tengah made me feel a bit quite compare to Pantai Cenang. It is having few big restaurants and café with multi-national cuisine. Spa and groceries shops are just located outside of this hotel main entrance. And there is a coffee factory which I had missed.

Pantai Cenang is located not far away within walking distance. It is a happening street and it shows holiday feel! There are many shops, café, bar and restaurants, just not that big compare in Pantai Tengah. However is very crowded. Along the way is having many hotel and bag backer hostel. Underwater world is located in this street; it is a nice attraction for the family. I loved this street.

About this hotel, we stayed 3D2N in mid of March, just a normal deluxe room, but the room is big enough. The room is having a garden view balcony, it is quite and I was enjoyed my tea time and reading there. The sound block is good and air-cond did not make noise, we do have a peaceful sleep at night. It is a smoking room and non-smoking room; please make your choice when you check-in.

The swimming pool is very big! And it is keeping well. I love it. It is a nice garden when you go to the beach, the beach is big, beautiful, quite and I feel a bit private. Nice place to watch sunset and have your sun bath. However, the sea water is not that clean, recommended to swim at the swimming pool.

Is recommended to rent a car to travel around, Langkawi Island is not big, but can be travel by car with your own arrangement and flexibility is there. The arrangement can be done in the airport when you reach, the price is reasonable and negotiable! To rent a scooter or motorbike can be arranged in Pantai Cenang. There is a many attractive tour packages selling in the airport, but I will recommend to book in the hotel and there are few travel agents in Pantai Cenang which the price is cheaper than what you see in the airport.

Langkawi is a duty free island. For those alcohol and chocolate lover, please don’t buy in the airport, because it is limited choice and expensive. It is a mistake I had made, I am unable to find the alcohol chocolate in the airport. Kuah town is having many shops and won’t disappoint you.

I will visit again, is a nice place to spend your holiday with your family and children!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeilekHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVLangkawi, General Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for the kind review and I am very pleased that you had a nice time with us at Holiday Villa Langkawi. I hope that we can welcome you back soon and that you will be able to stay a bit longer in Paradise the next time you visit.

Yours sincerely,
Antonello Passa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    691
    404
    191
    142
See reviews for
553
615
41
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We spent 3 nights there from 28-30th March. It is a very traditional hotel with a beautiful lobby area. The staff were friendly and offered a cool lounge with free juice while our rooms were organised. We did get there early. Rooms are spacious but a bit tired. The air conditioner was very noisy and it was the same in 2 other rooms had by family members. The bathrooms need upgrading which would really make it a fantastic hotel. The pool area is huge with a separate kids pool and a spa. The hotel is right on the beach with stunning views across to islands. There are great restaurants across the road. The Cactus is fantastic for breakfast and in fact any meal. The Boat was also great. A short taxi ride gets you to the main restaurant /market area. You can hire motorbikes or a car from across the road.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GYCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVLangkawi, General Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you very much for providing us with your valuable feedback, which will enable us to take direct steps for improvement. Your feedback is very important in our continuous effort to meet guest expectation and create a memorable stay for them. We shall look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Antonello Passa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Travelled with family of five adults and booked PREMIER DELUXE rooms. Took hotel's airport transfer from Langkawi airport - RM 18 per person one way - please note that taxis are MUCH cheaper from the airport and also, it was only RM 30 in a large taxi (which could seat 8 people) for 5 of us from hotel back to the airport.

Receptionist was cold upon check-in, no smile. Bell boys very nice. We made our bookings on agoda.com and failed to note that we had to print our hotel vouchers. We were given a key and told to head toward their "internet room" to print our our hotel vouchers as they could not check us in without these vouchers. No proper explanation given, no one escorted us to the internet room and we had to make our own way there (not that it was difficult but it would've been nicer if someone did).

Our rooms were run down - we wanted rooms with wooden flooring - but were given one room with a carpet. Rooms were clean and tidy. NO WATER BOTTLES. Tea and coffee amenities were only provided on first day. Our bath gels were empty in one of our rooms (they were horrible at any rate and I'm glad some of us carried our own shower foams!) Basics not provided but fruit basket was sent to room!

We had 3 persons in one room and had requested upon check in for an extra bed. 3 hours later we still had not got our extra bed / towel etc. When we rang housekeeping to remind them, we were given a sigh of frustration at the other end as though it was our fault. Overall, the customer care was rubbish for a 4 star hotel (or mid range hotel, if u wish). Only porters/bells boys had smiles on their faces. They should remove their "Manja" badges as it would simply annoy Malaysian customers who understand the word.

Nice big swimming pool with a bar - always busy. Nice shading spots with trees. Gorgeous plants and big field - well maintained for football! We had a nice run around! Sea isn't amazing given that we are in the west coast of peninsular. However, nice warm waters. Once again, loads of loungy beach chairs. Very peaceful and serene down by the beach at dusk. Unfortunately, litter on beach and in sea. We went for a stroll as the sun was setting and picked up so much litter it was ridiculous - polistyrene containers, plastic bags mostly.


There are convenient stores right outside the hotel and water bottles provided at RM2 so we didn't have too much trouble. Loads of restaurants outside hotel. We went to Cactus for breakfast as we noted many reviews recommending it - very nice western breakfast with fresh local fruits and mugs of tea and coffee. They also serve local food : roti jala, roti canai - that was alright. However, the local malay girls serving were always sour and indifferent. We noted however, that they made an effort with westerners. It is thoroughly disappointing when Malaysians are ignored point blank especially after we make an effort to speak in Malay. Chinese restaurant Boat is so-so.

We went to El Nino's Steakhouse for dinner and it is AMAZING! Great service, lovely ambience, good food and wines! Pastas, pizza, cajun chicken, grilled lamb - u name it, u get it! Fairly reasonable prices too.Rizal the chef was so very nice and gave us a lot of information on Langkawi and where to go and what to do etc. His wife, Effa, was also very lovely. We also tried La Bamba a mexican/italian place which was quite nice too. And slightly cheaper than El Nino's.

We hired a car from the hotel for a day (RM 126) and went into Kuah town to get our duty free stuff. U could also hire motorcycles from across the hotel at a reasonable rate. It is real easy to go around the island and definitely go on foot by Cenang beach. There are shedloads of shops to browse along and it's all very touristy. We went to Ayer Spa Wellness Village which is walking distance from the Hotel. The ladies were real lovely and there are many options - we took their traditional malay massage at RM98 per person. It is better to book an appointment in advance if there are many of you especially if u travel during the low season.

On the day we arrived, a tsunami alert was issued due to the earthquake in Banda Aceh, Indonesia. Thankfully we were warned by friends on our mobile phones. We immediately switched to BBC and caught on all the updates. When we rang reception to check if any further news/warnings had been given to the resort by the Malaysian authorities, we could not get a proper answer from the staff. When asked to speak to the Manager, we were told he was engaged. No one could tend to our concerns. We seemed to know more about the gravity of the situation (which thankfully, wasn't alarming) compared to those answering the phones! Up to 8pm, no one at reception could give us any information. We went for dinner and only when we got back to the resort (and AFTER the tsunami alert had been lifted), did we see a flyer in our room by the management telling us to be alert from 9 pm - 3 am !! The Malaysian authorities had confirmed the tsunami alerts were lifted but the hotel was telling us to be alert up to 3 am?!?!

We wanted to catch the EPL Arsenal v Wolves match at 2.45am and were told outright that "that isn't possible" and the reason being "company rules" was repeated. We are aware liquor isn't served past a certain hour - and we did not want the bar to be open , ONLY the tv as the rooms did not screen the match. The hotel has a list of games that they SAY are being shown. Lee way must be given when it comes to certain requests by guest. We have, at many hotels in Malaysia, requested to watch football matches in the wee hours of the morning and the management have never had a problem with it. Only Holiday Villa Langkawi has issues with this.

Overall, the hotel isn't of four star status. Photos seem way nicer than what one sees in reality. Run down and some maintenance would do them well. Service shoddy. The plus points probably are that it's a cheaper mid range hotel (for Langkawi) and located in a strategic area and if one ignores everything else in the room and hotel, it turns our to be a pretty pleasant holiday!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isla_vp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

10-15 minutes from the airport.
Right on beach.
Large swimming pool. Jacuzzi, kids pool & pool bar is excellent.
Beach side Bar, restaurant, night BBQ & buffet is too good.
Good restaurant are within walking distance. Sagar is serving good starters & BBQ.
Near to famous Alun-Alun & Ishan SPA but the hotel's Amora SPA was excellent & reasonably priced.
On our arrival they upgraded us to superior room. The sofa inside the room worked as an extra bed so we did not pay for extra bed.
Hotel is old but they have all the star facilities under one roof.Tariff is not much if you consider the location. Restaurants menu & drinks are also reasonably priced. Big parking space & many places inside the hotel to sit & relax.
Internet is on payment. I would suggest tourist to take internet SIM when they land in Malaysia. Nothing complimentary in room except the toiletries.
I paid 500 US$ for 4-nights (w/o BF) and over all my & my family experience was good. Kids have enjoyed the hotel pool more than us.

Room Tip: Take pool facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsoodmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVLangkawi, General Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for choosing our resort Holiday Villa for your holiday here in beautiful Langkawi, Malaysia. I with the management staff of the hotel wish to let know that we read your constructive comment dated 13th April 12 with great attention and we will work harder and smarter to improve up on it.
We hope that you will give us one more chance to host you next time you are in Langkawi should you decide to stay with us again on your next holiday to Langkawi.
Thank you once again for your comments and best regards from all the team here at Holiday Villa Langkawi.

Yours sincerely,
Antonello Passa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
212 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed there from 4th to 9th with my wife and kid. It was a fantastic experience. The location is good - calm place but not very far from shopping area. Many good restaurants around the place. You can easily hire car/bike from the shops or pick activities from the tourist service providers - there are many around the hotel. The beach is also on the backside of the hotel just where it's pool area ends. Staffs are good with smile and friendly. Would like to stay again and surely recommend others too.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Spartacase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVLangkawi, General Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Many sincere thanks for your appreciative words and you made everyone of us extremely happy.
It is always very nice to receive such positive comments and is greatly appreciated! We certainly look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Antonello Passa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pakistan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

A very nice and comfortable hotel.The pool was just too good and very spacious.The beach at the back had a very beautiful view with comfortable beach chairs to relax.The rooms were fairly good and the hotel had nice plants to give it warmth.The staff was helpful friendly and nice.The eating places are not very near by but not very far away too.I was with my small kids so it wasnt an issue to take walk with them.But maybe kids wont enjoy much for the walk ...my kids are exceptional, they rarely trouble me.Overall excellent experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fauziafarhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVLangkawi, General Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. The team has done a great job; we don’t have better satisfaction than reading your lines.We shall look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Antonello Passa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I was here for a short working trip recently. Check-in was quick, as i had my booking arranged earlier. Found my room decent enough, with a nice view of the garden. Pros : 1. Great location near Pantai Cenang / Pantai Tengah with the nice shops (ala Phuket or Kuta town,Bali). 2. Has a private beach, clean, with a nice pool and pool bar. 3. Nice breakfast spread. 4. Great staff. Cons : The facilities are a bit run-down, and needs upgrading. Also, the lighting was rather gloomy. However, children would love the place.

Room Tip: Get a room which faces the sea / pool. Very breezy, especially at nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HasLan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HVLangkawi, General Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for providing us with your valuable feedback, which will enable us to take direct steps for improvement. Your feedback is very important in our continuous effort to meet guest expectation and create a memorable stay for them. We shall look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Antonello Passa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.9 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#21 of 103 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
7.9 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
0.5 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#27 of 103 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi

Property: Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Address: Lot 1698 Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Daerah Langkawi, Langkawi 507000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#16 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting 4-star picturesque resort is sprawled over 13 acres of land, fronting on one of Langkawi island's finest beach, Pantai Tengah. Here, our 258 guest rooms and suites range from the simple elegance to the truly extravagant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelbag, Priceline, Fastbooking, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Holiday Villa Beach Resort And Spa Langkawi
Holiday Hotel Beach Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing