We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mixed feelings about this place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Ranked #21 of 106 Hotels in Langkawi
nyc
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“mixed feelings about this place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

the Holiday Villa is the more expensive property that shares a location with the Federal Villa - I stayed at both on a recent trip.

the property is gorgeous as are the grounds - despite the fact that a big chunk of the land in between the pool and the beach is under construction. a sign says they are building an infinity pool. which seems ridiculous considering the current pool is gorgeous.

but I digress.

the Federal Villa is the cheaper place - they share the pool, beach, restaurants, bars, etc. the rooms are nice enough - bathrooms are not good, but there is a flushing toilet and toilet paper so I was happy enough. On a scale of 1 to 10 re: cleanliness, I'd give it a 5 or 6. I have certainly seen worse, but it was not great. and it was carpet (yuck).

the Holiday Villa is not as much as a hike from the amenities - the room I had was a proper US 3 star hotel. it had a balcony which was nice - but the furniture was old, the bathroom was not as bad as in the federal villa, but the bathtub didn't drain. but it was clean - so points. I'd stay there again.

the reason I am not wild about this property is because I felt a bit scammed by the front desk. I paid $58US/night at the federal villa for one night. When I asked to extend two nights, the front desk said it was sold out and offered a discounted rate of $100US for the fancier Holiday Villa.

now I know that hotels sell blocks of rooms to websites like hotels.com and expedia.com, but I later saw on their own website they had availability. soooo, I wasn't too happy about that, but the Holiday Villa was worth the extra $40/night, I felt. so no big deal.

the hotel is in a great location - lots of restaurants nearby to chose from, including the lovely Cactus across the street (they might be the nicest people I have ever met there - the Holiday Villa is worth it just to go to this restaurant/bar). the food was solid, the beer was cheap, the wifi was free, and the staff was easy to fall in love with. they taught us Malay and gave us free samples of Durian Fruit and Hairy Eggs!

I digress again...

the hotel is also across from many car rental places (do cruise around the island - waterfalls, empty beaches, great food and no cab pressure)...massage parlors, and food/drink. I did not go to the restaurants on site - but did go to the beach bar and inside bar - both were average at best.

but the beach is a stellar place to watch the sunset. breath taking. worth the price of admission.

overall, the hotel was worth it, I think - if you're on a budget, certainly the Federal Villa is acceptable. if you want to live it up marginally, the Holiday Villa is a bit nicer.

I'd go back. it's better than spending $400 at the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripper24nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for your comments. We thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Langkawi island. We value your feedback and acknowledged your observations on our facilities and services. We take them positively in moving forward to offer better services and will always welcome you back again to Langkawi island. Have a nice day and warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    680
    402
    183
    139
See reviews for
541
605
41
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

The only good thing about this hotel is the location, which is situated right next to the beach, which was nice.

However, we came across many issues in which the staff seemed quite reluctant to resolve.

First, our hotel booking promised us free wifi and breakfast during our stay. However, when we got there, we were told we had to pay by the hour (or by the day) for wifi. You would think since we are paying good money for this hotel that wifi and breakfast would be free. After expressing this complaint to the staff, the manager gave us free wifi for the remainder of our stay and said the username and passwords are for 2 devices each per room.

However, the next day, all our wifi connections got expired (we still had 1 more day in the hotel). We brought this up with the staff and they said that the username and passwords were actually for 1 device per room, per day. Okay, if this was the case, why did they state something entirely different just the day before? They also seemed a bit rude and reluctant to help out, it seemed like they were just creating excuses so they wouldn't have to deal with it.

As stated before, our booking also promised free breakfast. When we got there, we found out that we had to pay for each guest about 50 ringits (about $25 USD) for each person. Where did it state this on the booking? Once again, we brought up this issue with the manager and he stated we'd all get free breakfast starting the next day. Note that they were aware that there were 5 of us in 2 rooms. The next day, when we all got there, we were told that only 2 people per room are entitled to breakfast, and the extra person would have to pay full price. This is understandable, but we were not told this at all. Either the staff has very poor communication skills or they simply did not care enough to make us aware of this detail.

Aside from the poor service, the rooms were of average quality, not 5-star as the hotel seems to state. The pool was nice, however, the Jacuzzi broke down 1 day into our stay. The staff mentioned it will be fixed soon but 4 days after our stay and the Jacuzzi was still not working. The hotel staff obviously was not very concerned and do not seem to express much interest in making the appropriate accommodation for its guests.

With that said, I would advise to avoid this hotel at all costs. Basically, the only thing you're paying for is the room, as there seems to have been hidden charges everywhere. The most astounding part of this experience was the lack of care for customer service and disregard for guest satisfaction. All in all, this was a very disappointing hotel.

Room Tip: If you care about good service, or any service at all, this is certainly not the place to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tashnuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for your comments. We have carried a thorough investigation and our findings showed that your room was booked under Agoda.com and upon check-in, you were briefed on your accommodation entitlement and that your stay is on room only as stated in your voucher .It was not true then that your booking was promised free WIFI and breakfast.Our staff had also shown you a print out of Agoda.com website that notifies WIFI services is chargeable.You then purchased a 24 hours WIFI at RM40.00 nett. On 2nd day of arrival, you had approached the reception to request for extension of stay for another 2 more nights for your children's rooms and you had asked for the cheapest package. The staff had offered MANJA PACKAGE which includes daily breakfast and free WIFI. The 24 hours WIFI is for one user only per room per day regardless of how many persons occupying the guest room .Subsequently ,forms were issued to you and you were briefed on the entitlement .On the 4th day , our GSA Siti was confronted on the issue of WIFI and claim breakfast was supposedly for 5 persons. GSA had duly informed that the two rooms are for 4 registered persons and they were in order.You didnt meet up with any of the manager to lodge on this complaint. Regarding the jacuzzi, it was apparently down for one day due to the wiring of the blower had cut off. It was immediately rectified on the same day and not 4 days .Our resort has never been advertised as a 5-star hotel.Whilst we understand that your accommodation experience at the resort didnt meet up to your expectations, on the contrary we believe that we have provided our best of efforts and courtesies in accordance to our service standards. We trust that our clarification is acceptable. Thank you and warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

This hotel is not 4/5 * ! The rooms were basic and clean but the hotel has no entertainment or facilities. The price of food and drinks was 3/4 times the cost of outside the hotel. We couldn't believe how expensive it was. The wi-fi was not included and was very expensive. The indoor pool was disgusting and only for women. Women were allowed in the outside pool in full burkas! The bar was completely empty as drinks were so expensive and we couldn't use the pool table (which had to be paid for) without buying drinks first! The beach was beautiful but all the beaches are in langkawi. The jacuzzi didn't work at all for at least 2 days of our stay. The spa was lovely but also cost a lot more than outside spas. Langkawi is a lovely island and Malaysian people are very nice but I certainly wouldn't recommend this hotel as it was very disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for your comments. We wish to clarify on the issues raised . For entertainment , we have our in-house band performingly nightly at the Lagenda Restaurant (8.30pm to 9.30pm) and Matahari Lounge (10.00pm to 1.00am) except on Mondays. Our hotel facilities are listed in the Directory of Services placed in all guest rooms . We also provide a Welcome Card and the list of facilities are stated on the card as well. Our beach resort is situated along Jalan Pantai Tengah and surrounded by 20 restaurants and 10 spas as well . Hence the prices vary with each other, depending on the type of service and food provided ie from 1 star to 5 star treatments.We provide 4 star quality treatments and the prices are reasonable based on our standard. As for the swimming pool, we have an indoor pool dedicated for ladies . We have a signage that advises guests to wear proper swimming attire for swimming. A life guard on duty is also available to advise guest that they are not allowed to use the pool if they are found not wearing proper swimming attire. Rest assured that we have numerous times barred guests from using the pool for not wearing proper swimming attire. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused from the jacuzzi that was out of order. We were able to rectify the jacuzzi blower within one business day and not two as claimed. Spare parts were ordered from the mainland resulting in longer time to fix the jacuzzi. Lastly on the WIFI, our hotel offers packages that includes WIFI and there are packages without WIFI. Rooms booked under booking.com is clearly stated that WIFI is chargeable at the resort. We trust that we have clarified the points raised and we thank you for bringing up to our attention .With warm wishes .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Our family stayed at the holiday villas after reading mixed reviews.
This resort is outdated which i could handle, the other stuff I could not ignore.
the childs pool had a light fitting hanging out which was a safety nightmare. we reported it to pool staff and on our last day it was still like that. our room was spacious, had a constant clogged sink, air con that leaked twice, and mould all over the bathroom ceiling, broken tiles in the hal way(they stayed in the hallway the whole week we stayed there,no one picked them up).

they are in the process of spending 2.5 million on an iinfinity pool, which they dont need as the current pool is huge and adequate. the 2.5 million could be spent on the room maintenance.

The staff never smiled and were pretty unhelpful. when we reported the childs pool light issue to one of the reception staff she said we should wait and tell the hotel manager ourselves.
I know the general manager reads some of these posts, so you really need to do something about these issues and your staff who are pretty inadequate.

the only pluses of this resort is that its on the beach and our room view was of the beach.
I really try to find the positives in hotel, but i have stayed at the YMCA which was in better condition.

Room Tip: we stayed in the Pima suite, which does have an excellent direct view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bec72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for your comments. We have inspected the room and acknowledged the presence of moulds on a small patch area of the bathroom and not all over the bathroom ceiling as claimed. On the clogged sink, it had been already rectified by our maintenance team. However, there was no record of air- con leakages or broken tiles in the hall way and we were unable to trace any broken tiles. The maintenance team had also repaired the children's pool lightings. We value your comments as it is through your feedback that we will be able to improve and offer better services to our guests. Thank you and warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We had a good stay at this hotel. The staff was really friendly. Although the hotel needed some Maintenance, it still was not bad. I really was hoping that they serve the dinner buffet at the restaurant. They advertise at the lobby that they have theme buffet for the whole week but they did not. That was really disappointing as we had a free voucher for the buffet. Luckily there was a company event and we could join in the buffet.
The room was spacious and the pool was big.
Overall for me it is a good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spiderhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for your comments. We thank you for your support to Holiday Villa . We would like to apologize on the absence of the themed buffet dinner during your stay as the buffet is featured when there is a minimum 25 diners. The Management notifies all room guests in the Directory of Services of its right to change or cancel the themed night buffet without prior notice and probably you may have overlooked. Our BBQ buffet dinner is also featured subject to weather conditions as well. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to see you again in the near future. Thank you and warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puchong, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stayed for 3 days 2 nights from 6th July to 8th July 2013. Good location and nice swimming pool. My kids enjoyed swimming in the pool. Breakfast was good with choices.

Basically the rooms need upgrading, especially the tiles, carpet and bathroom.

Other than that no comment.

Room Tip: Choose room facing the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmtechraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure to have served you as our guest and thank you for choosing our resort . We are glad that you had enjoyed your stay and happy with the facilities and services. We look forward to your support again in the near future. Thank you and warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

It's been a good stay. Fantastic beaches and nice swimming pool. The only downside is the bathing area whereby we can't control the shower water pressure and its making it hard to wash up the kids. But overall it's a great hotel and friendly staff as well.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for your comments.We are glad to hear that you and family enjoyed your stay at the resort and happy with our facilities and services. We will look into your observation on the pool shower for further improvements.We hope to welcome you and family again as our valued guests and explore more attractions on the island.Thank you and warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.9 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#22 of 106 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
7.9 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Federal Villa Beach Resort
Federal Villa Beach Resort
#48 of 106 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#29 of 106 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi

Property: Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Address: Lot 1698 Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Daerah Langkawi, Langkawi 507000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#15 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting 4-star picturesque resort is sprawled over 13 acres of land, fronting on one of Langkawi island's finest beach, Pantai Tengah. Here, our 258 guest rooms and suites range from the simple elegance to the truly extravagant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Fastbooking so you can book your Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Villa Beach Resort And Spa Langkawi
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Holiday Hotel Beach Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing