We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pool & Beach - Average Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Ranked #21 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My family and I (2 adults, 2 small children) stayed here in late Feb 2014. After reading all the review we had lower our expectation before arriving. The hotel itself is a bit old and cannot be compared to your newer posh hotels - the decoration, rooms and fittings are old but is acceptable. We had booked the Deluxe Premium room which was at the highest floor - 2nd Floor overlooking the pool, which was nice. For the rate we paid RM550/night for the room - it was a bit pricy considering its size and amenities provided. The best thing about this hotel is their beach and pool, which I think it is why many guest come here. The beach was long enough, clean and peaceful, pool was nice - not overly crowded. Buffet Breakfast was good - sufficient choice of food though not a huge buffet spread. House Keeping needs improvement though - we had asked for our room to be cleaned and from 10am (time we left the hotel) till 3pm when we returned our room was not clean - bearing in mind that this was on a normal - nonpeak period time. Also when we wanted to check-in we were told that the housekeeping needed 45 mins to clean the room.. with a room that size that is very long. Overall - average rooms & amenities, GREAT BEACH and POOL.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are excellent. But I think all the rooms are similarly run down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mich6650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear M/M Mich6650,

Greetings from sunny Holiday Villa Beach Resort and Spa, Langkawi.

We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay with us and for providing us your valuable feedback.

We are pleased that you found our beach and pool to your liking and tried our Deluxe Premium room and found it nice.

We sincerely apologize on the setbacks you have experienced with our housekeeping and we take heed of your comments to improve our service and cleaning time.

Our resort is of the traditional concept and most of our decoration and furniture are of beautiful brown wood especially at our lobby area with traditional coloured glass windows depicting a traditional nyonya or malay house.

We thank you once again for your value feedback and hope to have you return stay with us in the near future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,756)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

676 - 682 of 1,756 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

On our memorable trip to langkawi the hotel had key role to play with its location, white sand beach on back yards of hotel gives a stunning view and rich feeling. Stayed here for 5 nights and much say had very nice stay. hotel hospitality was nice.
Location of hotel is very good you get Indian restaurant just outside hotel which was plus point for us. departmental store and vehicles for rent was easily available .
Room was nice and spacious. I liked staying here .

Room Tip: opt for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VikashTripurari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear M/M Vikash Tripurari,

Greetings from sunny Holiday Villa Beach Resort and Spa, Langkawi.

Thank you for taking your time in providing us your valuable feedback during your recent stay with us.

Your comments were encouraging to our whole team and we appreciate it.

We are glad that you have enjoyed the white sand beach and stunning view that gives you a rich feeling .

We look forward to welcoming you back to have another nice stay with us.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We visited Holiday Villa in last week of Feb. 2014 (stayed for 3 nights as a couple).
after reading all the reviews, we were earlier hesitant on whether to go for this hotel or not. However the location of the hotel tempted us to opt for it.
In contrast to some of the reviews, the hotel offers a very good property with an excellent large swimming pool and a newly opened infinity pool (although we couldnot spend time there, as at that time some renovation was going on in the La Villa restaurant).
The rooms, as mentioned by everyone, are pretty basic, but not as bad as some of the pictures shown here. They were very comfortable rooms with good cleaning service and daily well maintained room service.
The balcony is an added advantage.
The Hotel staff is very cooperative and our requests to fix the tap pipe and shower were met immediately without asking them another time.
The breakfast is very lavish with a lot of options and very good tasting food.
The hotel property (outside garden, pool, beach area) are all amazingly fantastic, we were very pleased with the property of the hotel, and most of our time was spent outside (compensating for the less amenities of the room).
The Beach (although not private) is so huge that is seems almost like the hotels private beach. The famous Cenang beach is just 10-15 mins drive from the hotel (takes 10 RM by taxi).
We did water sports from the hotel beach, but found out that Cenang beach offered reasonably lower rates than this one. However Cenang is usually crowded with people swimming and it is better to take water sports at the hotel beach.
Just outside Cenang is also the Underwater world, do visit that for an amazing experience.
The hotel location is surrounded with many good food cafes (of different cuisines) and also at walking distance (abt 15 mins) are Indian restaurants, this made our food life easier.
You also find good shopping complexes (although small) near the hotel.
We found this hotel location much better and accessible than some of the other hotels nearby as for those you needed to walk long distances.
Overall a very good experience staying in the hotel.
Don't just go by the mixed reviews, a visit to this place is a must. Positive from me !!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaya241982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear M/M Jaya241982,

Thank you for taking time to provide us a review on your experienced during your recent stay with us.

We valued your good comments and your positive feedback.

We at Holiday Villa Beach Resort and Spa, Langkawi will continue to work hard to maintain the good service you have experienced.

Your positive feedback is our drive to provide better service to all our valuable guests.

We look forward to having you return stay with us in the near future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

My sister and I recently stayed here for a week and both thought the resort was fantastic! Beautiful setting, right on the beach. Excellent pool facilities and a quality breakfast buffet. The RM25 to get into the private infinity pool is well worth it for a day of relaxing! All the staff we came across were extremely friendly. Whilst the decor isn't modern, it felt more traditional than outdated. The rooms were immaculate and room service came every day. Convenient location - about 10 minute walk to cenang! Excellent value for money. We were really impressed and I look forward to staying again!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank maleya585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with encouraging feedback with regards to your stay with us.

We are very glad that you have enjoyed all the facilities and services provided by the resort. It is a great motivation to us receiving such nice comments. Especially on the point that we are a traditional concept hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the near future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We've stayed here from the 27 February to 2 March 2014. After reading so many reviews both good and bad, we decided to give a try after having our good experience from the Holiday Villa Subang in year 2009 (we had our wedding dinner there).

When we reached the hotel about 2.45pm, we were greeted by the friendly front desk personnel.Room were ready and it only took us 3minutes to check-in into our Deluxe Room. Upon entering the room, we can see that the furniture and fittings were old and outdated but clean. With rate that we were paying, one will expect basic amenities like room slipper, toothbrush and more variety of coffee and tea (we paid MYR530 per night)! Nothing to woo about the room.

The location of the hotel was great as it has a nice beach and also swimming pool both kiddo and adult. There are also new infinity pool, La Villa Pool which cost MYR24 per pax for hotel guest. Not many people were hanging out there as the existing pool were good enough! This hotel have the one of the greatest and nicest pool in Langkawi.

As for the daily breakfast, there were variety but it repeat same things from day 1 to 3. It served great omelette. But they lack of waiters and waitress and this has caused us taking the fork, spoon, knife by ourselves for 3 days. Too many guests but too little workers on the floor but they were still friendly and helpful.

If I were in charge of the hotel, these are the things that I'll look into:
1. Refurbish the room - bed sheet and comforter were outdated (grandma's design) - it might look nice 20years ago but not now.
2. More quality and modern design of table and chairs at the balcony (no cheap plastic chairs, please)
3. Provide more basic room amenities - bedroom slippers ... Etc
4. Pay more attention at the landscape beside the balcony - some of the bougainvillea are dying.
5. Fix the grill at the balcony (Room 140), already rusted and broken, thus dangerous for kids.
6. More TV channels.
7. Change the overall look of the hotel lobby - looks very 'tired' and outdated. For a moment, we felt like we were at the 80s era.

If this hotel didn't do something to upkeep and maintain the name, it will slowly but surely become like some of the hotel in Langkawi - takeover or closed by others since there are too many other hotels providing better service and value to the guest. We believe HVL can give more with MYR530 per night that we paid.

Room Tip: Choose a room with pool or beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Traveler010710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your feedback with regards to your recent stay with us.

We are pleased that you have found our front desk personnel , waiter and waitresses friendly and your check in was prompt and fast. We valued your good comments and we also valued your suggestion on improvements.

We have immediately review our buffet breakfast menu to ensure it is not repeated frequently.

We will definitely look into all the points you have taken valuable time to write to us.

Shall your travel plans bring you to along this route, we would be more than glad to welcome you back to the resort.

Please contact us at 04- 9529999 or email to us at admin@lgkhvl.com

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Having recently stayed at the Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi from 6th January until 20th February I feel I am duty bound to comment on a couple of aspects of this hotel. Firstly they have recently opened a new infinity pool at great expense but for which they charge an entrance fee to use this pool. The money would have been spent refurbishing the poor quality rooms. They already have one of the best pools in Langkawi. The money invested could also have been used to negate the ridiculous expensive charges for WiFi. Who in 2014 still charges for WiFi? We had a fabulous holiday but these experiences tended to spoil some aspects.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Timothy_George1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thank you for your comments. We sincerely appreciate that you have chosen to stay at Holiday Villa Beach Resort and Spa Langkawi.

We had recently opened La Villa Poolclub and Restaurant on the beach front which comes with a new infinity pool and a restaurant.

It is a private pool with a minimum entrance charge of RM25.00 nett per adult for in- house guests inclusive of a pool towel, a drink, usage of the infinity pool and its facilities. The new restaurant exudes an exclusive setting with a nice ambience and diners can get to enjoy a view of the beautiful sunset.

Yes, we do have another huge and very nice swimming pool with an open-air jacuzzi for guests to use as part of the hotel facilities without any charges. At this swimming pool, a pool towel will also be provided on loan as part of our services.

We are also looking into providing the free WIFI service as soon . We thank you for your kind concern and we will continue to further strive in improving our products and services for the comfort stay of our guests. We look forward to see you again in Langkawi island With warm wishes. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Plus:
Nice beach
Big room
Plenty of car park
Friendly staff

Cons:
Extra charge for new pool
No WiFi
Old Hotel
Tired furniture
Poor Maintainance
Spent RM8 for my flight check in as they insist to charge for 5 minutes internet access!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daisy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear M/M Daisy P,

Thank you for your review.

We are most appreciative of your views and we are always trying our very best to provide the best possible service to our valued guests.

Our existing 04 swimming pool consisting of 01 big pool, 01 children pool, 01 Jacuzzi pool and 01 indoor pool is free usage for our in-house guests. It is further complemented by our New Infinity Pool which is a privatize pool with a minimum charge of RM25.00 inclusive of 01 drink and usage of pool towel.

We are also currently looking into providing free WIFI at our hotel.

Our hotel are constantly upgrading and maintaining our facilities. However we are not a modern hotel and our hotel depict a traditional Malaysian concept hotel with many wooden decorative.

Once again we thank you for taking valuable time to write to us your personal view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
7.9 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
0.5 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
437 reviews
0.9 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#23 of 104 in Langkawi
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#26 of 104 in Langkawi
203 reviews
8.8 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
5.3 mi away
The Smith House
The Smith House
#1 of 1 in Padang Mat Sirat
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi

Address: Lot 1698 Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Daerah Langkawi, Langkawi 507000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#15 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: £65 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting 4-star picturesque resort is sprawled over 13 acres of land, fronting on one of Langkawi island's finest beach, Pantai Tengah. Here, our 258 guest rooms and suites range from the simple elegance to the truly extravagant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Holiday Villa Beach Resort And Spa Langkawi
Holiday Hotel Beach Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing