We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach with average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Ranked #22 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach with average hotel”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We checked in late at the hotel and once we got to the room door, it couldn't be opened. I went to the reception and someone came to open the door. He asked us to inform the reception the next morning about this issue only to find out the we were given the wrong key the night before. The room itself is good however looking rather old.

The hotel has a great pool and a jacuzzi alongside a private beach that gives a beautiful view of the sunset and the surrounding islands. The lobby looks great but tends to have a ventilation issue in the afternoon as it gets very hot. Staffs are friendly however some seem to be poor in English but we were fine as we understand and speak the Malay language. Flies sitting on fruits which went unnoticed by the hotel staff during breakfast.

Outside the hotel, there are bike renting facilities that may be convenient to some travelers. Pantai Cenang is quite far to walk (around 15 min) but it's well worth the visit to that place.

In short, amazing beach and pool but average rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GokulSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear M/M GokulSP,

Thank you for taking valuable time to write us a review.

We sincerely apologize on the setback you have experience on your arrival with regards to your room key.

We thank you from the bottom of our heart for the good reviews and also on the area's for improvement. We would like to reassure you that actions have been carried out to ensure customer expectation are being met.

We hope you will make a return trip to stay with us again.

In the meantime we wish you all the best and warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    706
    413
    198
    143
See reviews for
575
625
42
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paro, Bhutan
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel location and it's surrounding itself bring the luxury looks and feel. The lobby , the dining area , the sunset bar and tropical beach bar is superb.The room that I stayed is Deluxe room , very clean and bathroom size is quite big. The best of all is it's personal beach, what a romantic moment to stroll along the beach while watching the sunset!there is a sign of jellyfish existence but don't worry it's seasonal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaWangdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear M/M Diana T,

Thank you for taking valuable time to write us a review.

We sincerely appreciate your positive and wonderful comments.

We truly hope you will make a return trip to stay with us again.

Your excellence review and rating on our hotel warms our heart.

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selangor
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

we had a short vacation recently with my family, i have to say, the location is very very good, Langkawi main attraction should be along pantai cenang with street night market, night clubs, good food and etc.

My rate for this hotel:

Room : 3/5 = its clean but very very ageing design, what i like about the room is that, they have a huge space, quite relaxing couch.
Toilet : 2/5 = The hot shower is the only plus point here, toilet floor is uneven which makes a puddle of water (it can be very slippery).
Hotel Lobby : 4/5 = Love the design, its old skewl but well maintain
Breakfast food : 3/5 = its just plain average.
Hotel Facility : 4/5 = Big pool area is good, and the maintenance is pretty decent.
Infinity pool : 3.5/5 = it comes with a cost, a new pool, great view and a complimentary soft drink, or selected drinks (its nice, but if you can afford to skip this).
Hotel Stuff : 3/5 = just average.
Hotel Price : 2.5 = over price

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Razak_797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear M/M Razak_797,

Thank you for taking time to write us a review on your recent stay.

Your comments are important to us and we take heed of both good and area's to improve comments.

Yes our hotel location is on the best area with many activities and attraction.

We are glad you and your family find our hotel location very good.

Thank you once again and we hope to have you return stay with us.

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I personally enjoyed my stay.. Food wasn't supper but acceptable. Beach is nice and the pool needs some renovation but still is ok
Room had few bugs but it didn't bother us a lot..
My suggestion it's worth the money only if ur not spending ur time at the hotel. There are lots of stuff to do there. Rent a scooter and discover the island.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_hussamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear M/M R_husammy,

Thank you for taking time to write us a review.

We are glad to know you have had an enjoyable stay.

We thank you for your comments and we hope to have you return stay with us again.

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Good amenities with big pool, restaurants and on the beach but overall the hotel is dated and in desperate need of a makeover – especially with all the new development which seems to be happening on the island. Room decor was stuck in the 80s and the bathroom condition was not great - looked to have had many patch work repairs done over the years but never properly updated. I think what frustrated us here was in the foyer there were TVs showing pictures of all the other resorts in the Holiday Villa chain and they all looked very modern and up to date! The one thing that didn’t disappoint in our room was the view from the small balcony out to the sea (apart from being slightly obstructed by the new LaVilla Poolclub & Restaurant).

We had read several reviews before selecting Hotel Villas so knew a bit of this going in but I guess what disappointed us the most was the quality/standard of the hotel is not worthy of the cost. Especially when they then want to charge over and above for what is pretty standard in most other hotels/ resorts like the use of the new Infinity Pool and Wi-Fi!

We opted to eat off the premises as there were plenty of food options over the road or down the street at local prices and most with FREE Wi-Fi.

We wouldn’t stay there again but, to be fair, got the sense Hotel Villas was on par with most other resorts on Langkawi i.e. they all seem expensive for what they offer and not equal to comparative standards elsewhere in Asia.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philby79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear M/M Philby79,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us.

We sincerely appreciate the constructive comments and to reassure you , we have newly renovated rooms with newly renovated bathrooms.

We hope you will make a return trip to stay with us and try our newly renovated rooms.

Once again we thank you for constructive comments.

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Fair price and beautiful pool/beach area. Overall, however, this hotel definitely deserves an average rating. Staff unfriendly and not helpful (i.e. sleeping behind the desk when I tried to check out early). Frustrating extra charges such as the Wifi and infinity pool. Rooms clean, but in need of updating. No "resort" feel at this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AllieParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear M/M AllieParker,

Thank you for your valuable comments.

We sincerely appreciated your comments and will seriously look into every points made.

We are currently upgrading our WIFI facilities and will soon provide free WIFI to our room guests.

We do provide free facilities at our 04 swimming pool to our room guests and it is further complemented by our New addition Infinity LaVilla Poolclub and Restaurant a privatize pool with a minimum charge of RM25.00 nett per adult for room guests inclusive of 01 drink and usage of pool and 01 towel.

We hope you would try our Infinity LaVilla Poolclub and give us a chance to prove to you the experience of a lifetime with a breathtaking view of the sunset, white sandy beach and beautiful Andaman sea which is well worth the price incurred.

Once again thank you for your constructive comments and warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Pros: Private beach, reasonable price, ample parking, good location and hotel setting/decor, clean beach, jet ski and parasailing available at the same beach.
Cons: bathrooms could be maintained better, breakfast average (maybe below), housekeeping service not reliable, infinity pool charged at RM25/psn, may have jellyfish in sea (if you are unlucky, but according to the locals it is rarely the case).
My stay here was a memorable and good one, as the beach was just a walkaway from the room and average priced room, which I feel could be maintained slightly better especially the bathroom. It would have been a perfect stay, if not for my disappointment on 2 occasions:
1. Breakfast tasted average, and slow to refill at some point during the morning, as trays were seen empty. They have Western, Asian, pastries, but not a wide selection, albeit enough to fill the growling morning tummy. P.s. This is during a low peak season.
2. Room air-conditioning was leaking at about 9pm, and so called housekeeping, which took at least a half hour to arrive. Inspected the problem, and "fixed" it apparently with no apology whatsoever, however within 10 mins, it was leaking all over the room floor again. Called housekeeping, and they said the will send someone over, but none in sight after waiting another hour. Called the front desk, and she was apologetic and offered to change room, but decided not to pack and unpack all my stuff again as we were checking out the next day.
Overall Holiday Villa is a decent enough place to stay, and I would return to this exact spot, but hoping management would improve in the areas lacking to make it a great place.
P.p.s Check out Yuan Spa opposite hotel. Review available on Yuan Spa.

Room Tip: Room by the pool is alright, not noisy on non-peak seasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenSuresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, Manager at Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear M/M Stephen Suresh,

Thank you for taking valuable time to write us a review on your recent stay.

We are glad you have had a memorable and good stay with us.

We would like to reassure you that our hotels are always looking into improving and upgrading our facilities. We have rooms that have been renovated with the bathroom and we hope you would take the opportunity to visit us again to try out our newly renovated rooms.

We sincerely thank you for your constructive comments.

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
7.9 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
0.9 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#23 of 104 in Langkawi
952 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Federal Villa Beach Resort
Federal Villa Beach Resort
#49 of 104 in Langkawi
364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
421 reviews
8.8 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi

Property: Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Address: Lot 1698 Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Daerah Langkawi, Langkawi 507000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#15 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting 4-star picturesque resort is sprawled over 13 acres of land, fronting on one of Langkawi island's finest beach, Pantai Tengah. Here, our 258 guest rooms and suites range from the simple elegance to the truly extravagant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Holiday Villa Beach Resort And Spa Langkawi
Holiday Hotel Beach Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing