We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Villa --- Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Ranked #22 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Holiday Villa --- Nice place”
Reviewed 10 March 2009

Transfer
No need for hassle n bargaining for taxi from airport to hotel .
Official taxi stand at exit .. just say yr location ..pay upfront n off u go .

Hotel
nice place ... cosy
got a superor room .
difference between superior and deluxe
TV ( 17 inch as compare to 27inch )
no toothblush in toile

Food
strongly recommend
a) Orkid Ria
b) Palm View
c) Tung Lung

Drinks
Dont need buy beers from Aiport
same place in town and airport
however , beer in hotel minibar expensive ..3x
beer price @ RM 3 everywhere even when u go restaurant .

Helpful?
Thank CharlesTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    696
    408
    194
    142
See reviews for
563
616
41
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

We did extensive research before we left Perth (WA) and settled for the Holiday Villa. First impressions were good and despite a couple of minor issues with the room eg sink didnt drain, they were all attended to promptly and fixed. We had a room in the corner facing the pool but we could look along the gardens to see the beach and ocean. The beach was clean, the water shallow and calm, the islands vista breathe-taking.

The view from the room (#133) was easy on the eye and we enjoyed sitting on our balcony. The room was tastefully decorated without it being stunning. The fridge did the job for the drinks we bought from the mini mart. Air con was great.

The comment about the oldies securing the pool chairs WAS ABSOLUTELY TRUE and quite annoying. By the time we had risen (8.30am) most chairs had towels on them with NO guests. My wife spotted some guests in underwear securing their chairs before 7am! This may be a cultural thing? - as we heard few English speaking guests but many European speaking ones - perhaps in Europe it is a "dog-eat-dog" pool lounge mentality. Was this the fault of the hotel (not enough chairs? Lack of courage to enforce some fair rules? Not sure).

If you like peace & quiet then this is the place - there was no music, not a raised voice from guests and no traffic noise. This is largely because it is tucked away at the far end of Pantai Tengah. But dont let this deter you - we walked in to Pentai Cenang some nights or used our RM50 per day hire car which we hired from the shop right next door to the hotel.

The hire car is a must! It is so easy to get around the island - the traffic is light, the roads well sign posted and easy to park in most places - including the Kuah CBD. We explored the whole island in 2 days! The tourist attractions are a bit lame and overpriced with the exception of the cable car which was great value and fun.

We checked out all the other hotels we had pegged to stay at - Lagoon, Frangipani, Sunset and heaps more and decided that we had chosen well - for the location (good beach access and Pantai Cenang boasted some good restaurants), the price (we paid A$145 which was mid range and you got what you paid for - after all we were out all day and only used the hotel for an arvo wine and to sleep) and the overall configuration of the hotel in terms of the view, pool size, access to beach, facilities etc.

Food was good and like any place you need to go searching for value for money. "Cactus" across the road was a good breakfast spot as Langakawi doesnt seem to get fired up until lunchtime - Cactus opened at 8am. Typically hotel food was expensive. The Maya Restaurant (diagonally opposite the hotel) allowed us to take to dinner a cask of wine. Great food here - our favourite.

Shopping was disappointing - not the range and bargains like Bali - though the alcohol is cheap - a litre bottle of Jim Beam was A$16 compared to A$40 in Perth. Dont expect to get cheap DVDs, Billabong Surfwear etc. The trinkets are a bit dated too. For a duty free island most costs were more than Australia.

This was an enjoyable trip but my advice is assess what you want from a holiday - to sit around the pool and beach and not be disturbed - then come for a week. If you like to get out there and explore - 3 days tops. The hire car is the best way to do this and STRONGLY RECOMMENDED. Its only an one hour flight on Air Asia - I think we paid about A$15 each return! (on special).

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DMandTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2009

Pretty good place. The pool is a major attraction, but a warning: people (seemed to be mainly the numerous elderly Europeans) still get up before 8:30am in the morning and place towels etc on the beds to secure them. We just ignored that anyway, and if no one is there, and there's just a towel, then the bed was ours.

The service can be somewhat slow at times - perhaps the laid back culture? For example room service trays stayed 24 hours before they were picked up, and we'd sometimes need to ring twice to follow up on things that never arrived. The rooms feel about 20 years old, but it's okay, we spent most of the time outside.

The restaurant is overpriced and except for the breakfast not very interesting. For a great breakfast, lunch or dinner we went directly across the road to the Cactus - half the price, and much better quality food.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wurly_monster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2009

We stayed in this hotel in mid jan. We were bit worried about this hotel after reading lots of negative comments. But, to be very honest, even now, still can't figure out why so many nagative comments.
Anyways, we were given a standard room with twin bed joint, so we asked for a king size one. They upgraded us to Deluxe Premium with NO extra charges. Both rooms were clean and comfy. However, we didn't like the view from the balcony as it was being blocked by a tree(anyways, didn't spend much time in room). Room service was good. Beach is just great. Me and my wife spent nice time there as it's not too crowded. Quite safe during late evening too.
Overall, our stay at the hotel was good and would like to stay there again when we visit langkawi.

Thanks
Sanjeet & Geet

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sanjujus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2009

the location is a little bit far away from the town, but it's ok because the traffic is very convenient and quick. The beach is great even better than P.C beach, the white sandy beach is very clean and not crowded. The swimming pool, yes, it's big and fantastic.
The hotel is a little bit old, but the service is ok. the doorman is very helpful.
The breakfast is not as that bad as some people said. and many restaurants are just near this resort.

  • Liked — beach and swiming pool
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kikithouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2009

Loved the beachfront location and the large swimming pool. Pantai Tengah is a clean, wide beach and perfect for swimming. There are several good restaurants and cafes just outside the hotel e.g. Sun Village Seafood Restaurant, Cactus Cafe.

Our room was comfortable and a good size, but needed some refurbishment. We found the air con and plumbing noisy at night and the blankets were starting to wear thin. The hotel has a 1980s feel, with lots of kitsch Christmas decorations up during our stay. But at just over RM300 per night (during the peak Christmas/new year season) this is still a great value hotel. We would come back here again.

  • Liked — Beach location and large swimming pool
  • Disliked — Noisy air con in the bedrooms
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jambu2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2009

Luckily for the Holiday Villa it is located in a beautiful location. The island of Langkawi and its inhabitants are lovely which, in our opinion, is the opposite of this hotel.
When you are inside this hotel you could quite easily forget that you are on a sunny island paradise because the public areas are so dim and dingy.
We were "upgraded" to room 238.
The only redeeming feature of this room is the view: it overlooks the pool, the beach and out to sea.
The room was tired and worn out. Our bathroom had a cracked basin and grubby tiles. The bed (two singles pushed together) was made up with second rate linen. The furniture looked flat pack.
All in all the room, like the rest of the hotel, had seen better days (circa 1980 I think)
We did not eat at the hotel; to be honest we did not hang out long enough to brave it! Fortunately the hotel is located within easy reach of many great bars and restaurants. If you love food you'll be very happy on Langkawi.
The bar inside the hotel had two enormous TV screens showing out of focus football matches so that equalled zero ambience.
The swim up pool bar made us swim in the opposite direction because it did not look very clean.
There were not enough sun loungers for guests. I thought the days of pitching your towel on a sun bed at 7am were long over, how wrong can you be!
I am sure this hotel would be a pleasant place to stay if it had money (lots) and TLC thrown at it.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The decor
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goff-McG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.9 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#21 of 103 in Langkawi
938 reviews
7.9 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
0.7 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
0.5 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
414 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#27 of 103 in Langkawi
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi

Property: Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Address: Lot 1698 Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Daerah Langkawi, Langkawi 507000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#16 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting 4-star picturesque resort is sprawled over 13 acres of land, fronting on one of Langkawi island's finest beach, Pantai Tengah. Here, our 258 guest rooms and suites range from the simple elegance to the truly extravagant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Holiday Villa Beach Resort And Spa Langkawi
Holiday Hotel Beach Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing