We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With Family - Its a Must Must stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Ranked #24 of 107 Hotels in Langkawi
Reviewed 7 April 2009

We stayed in Holiday Villa for 3D/2N and felt that in such a short stay you can not do justice to the resort. Check in was a breeze and the room alloted was 056. had a direct view of the ocean from balcony. Although on ground floor. But with a stroller and a walking toddler, in retrospect we figured that it was the best selection.

First the good points: Absolutely lovely location. Very close to Cenang area, the beach is clean and secluded with not much local interference. ie to say no touts and agents selling their parasailing trips.

Swimming Pool is wonderful and the pool side bar is good.

Taxi is available from the resort itself at normal city rates. (To Cenang 6RM, to airport 20 RM)

Area nearby is good, nice spa and eating outlets.

Must comment on the buffet b'fast included in the package. It was wonderful. The range was from Indian vegetarian to Malay and western and was always hot and available.

Next best thing we liked was the "Shower Room". You have to check out by 12, max by 1 if you have to prevent any charges. However they can keep yoru luggage in a cloak room and upon return will proveide you access to a "shower room". It was big enough for both of us to change/ shower and freshen up before we leave for the flight. An amazing plus point for the Resort.

Quite baby friendly, provided with baby cot.

We took a "Superior Room" which had all facilities and was quite enough for our stay.

Now the only negative point - The cost of food in the Hotel Restaurant is quite high. Including the minibar.

TIP: 1) Dont forget the Shower room upon leaving. 2) Buy 2 lt water bottle from nearby area. (We bought 5.5lt costing 5.9RM and it lasted 2 days. Minibar water bottle cost 6RM-500ml.) 3) Jacuzzi closes at 8 so if u want to enjoy dont be late.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeepanshuS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,366 - 1,372 of 1,786 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2009

Stayed for 5 nights in a ground floor room overlooking the pool with my sister. Room was very clean and spacious and nicely decorated..Air conditioning was excellent - which is very important to us as Langkawi is very humid...didnt eat at any of the restaurants as they were very expensive compared to what you pay just outside the hotel and our room rate didnt include breakfast. Towels changed daily, bed sheets changed daily. Good fridge for keeping our wine cold. Would recommend this hotel as its reasonably priced compared to others of the same quality. Pool was huge and kept clean. Didnt swim in the beach in front much as we saw a huge jellyfish the size of a car tyre on the first day lying on the beach..quite a nasty sting if bitten , but the locals said it was unusual this time of year and they were mainly there in the rainy season? Anyway it put us off a bit.
Most of the time we stayed in the local area as the main town Kuah was 30 min away and only went in once for a shop ( dept store there had a very trendy fashion shop level 2 ) but didnt buy that much as sizing is small !
Ate at cactus (opposite ) one night..food was ok but basic and but very friendly staff/owners. Then worked our way down the street -next night at Chinese restaurant with the fresh prawns etc and lanterns which allowed byo as well and the food was very good. Mostly ate at Maya as you can also byo and food is also very good. Most restaurants in the entire area are not busy - only a few tables filled as the tourist season is over. so watch out for seafood that is not fresh - and having said this we were not sick the entire 9 days in Malaysia as we were careful.
Ate at Campor/Campor just down from the Pelangi on Pantai Cenang Rd - on the left in the main strip run by an Indian lady (very westernized) and the surrounds are just like a Bali/Indian secret garden..highly recommended..food was very good.
Shop opposite our hotel had ample supplies of water, etc and also hired cars...50MR / 24 hours ( $20 Aust ) which was good because the island is very easy to drive around and local drivers not erratic like a lot of other countries. Drove up to the very expensive Datai for lunch and when we went though the lobby a very unfriendly concierge followed us and asked "where are you going " and personally had to escort us to the restaurant for fear that we might wander around the resort ! We were the only ones there at 11.30am so we just had a drink and left. Wouldnt stay there unless you want total seclusion as you are right on the top of the island with no shops etc.
Also from same one stop shop opposite we organized a 3 island hopping tour..$45 Aust and that was also well worth it..( inludes 2 swims and eagle spotting )
Bought duty free in shop next to underwater world 1 litre beefeater gin $18 Aust etc so very cheap...Aust wines from $15 bottle so dont worry about bringing any over except maybe your favourite champagne which is harder to get there..one warning..any duty free you buy on the island cannot be taken in hand luggage back into KL..must be checked into your suitcase as they dont allow anything except duty free bought at the KL airport properly sealed..this also applies to leaving KL and going back to Aust .so pad clothes around it in your main suitcase and youll be fine.
We had such a good time on Langkawi..the people are so friendly and lovely and honest as they are muslim and so expect to see many Malay women in head scarfes etc...dont walk around in bather tops etc except around the hotel pool or beach as you need to respect their culture which is to be modest. All the taxi drivers on the island have the same set price - so its only 6 MR into the main street from most hotels in the area but we walked as its only 10 min and needed the exercise after big lunches and dinners.. and the most you will pay to go anywhere is around 26MR if the drive is 30+ min away...so very cheap. Didnt bother with spa/massage treatment as it costs from $50 + and every Aust knows how this compares to what you pay in Bali !
What can I say...we had a excellent time there and as 2 women travelling alone( as we left our husbands at home for a change ) felt very safe and would not hesitate to go back..
Spend a couple of days in KL...thats where they have far more shopping and markets..we went to Chinese Market in Petaling st...and needless to say, thats where the bugdet was blown !!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lanose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2009

Transfer
No need for hassle n bargaining for taxi from airport to hotel .
Official taxi stand at exit .. just say yr location ..pay upfront n off u go .

Hotel
nice place ... cosy
got a superor room .
difference between superior and deluxe
TV ( 17 inch as compare to 27inch )
no toothblush in toile

Food
strongly recommend
a) Orkid Ria
b) Palm View
c) Tung Lung

Drinks
Dont need buy beers from Aiport
same place in town and airport
however , beer in hotel minibar expensive ..3x
beer price @ RM 3 everywhere even when u go restaurant .

Thank CharlesTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

We did extensive research before we left Perth (WA) and settled for the Holiday Villa. First impressions were good and despite a couple of minor issues with the room eg sink didnt drain, they were all attended to promptly and fixed. We had a room in the corner facing the pool but we could look along the gardens to see the beach and ocean. The beach was clean, the water shallow and calm, the islands vista breathe-taking.

The view from the room (#133) was easy on the eye and we enjoyed sitting on our balcony. The room was tastefully decorated without it being stunning. The fridge did the job for the drinks we bought from the mini mart. Air con was great.

The comment about the oldies securing the pool chairs WAS ABSOLUTELY TRUE and quite annoying. By the time we had risen (8.30am) most chairs had towels on them with NO guests. My wife spotted some guests in underwear securing their chairs before 7am! This may be a cultural thing? - as we heard few English speaking guests but many European speaking ones - perhaps in Europe it is a "dog-eat-dog" pool lounge mentality. Was this the fault of the hotel (not enough chairs? Lack of courage to enforce some fair rules? Not sure).

If you like peace & quiet then this is the place - there was no music, not a raised voice from guests and no traffic noise. This is largely because it is tucked away at the far end of Pantai Tengah. But dont let this deter you - we walked in to Pentai Cenang some nights or used our RM50 per day hire car which we hired from the shop right next door to the hotel.

The hire car is a must! It is so easy to get around the island - the traffic is light, the roads well sign posted and easy to park in most places - including the Kuah CBD. We explored the whole island in 2 days! The tourist attractions are a bit lame and overpriced with the exception of the cable car which was great value and fun.

We checked out all the other hotels we had pegged to stay at - Lagoon, Frangipani, Sunset and heaps more and decided that we had chosen well - for the location (good beach access and Pantai Cenang boasted some good restaurants), the price (we paid A$145 which was mid range and you got what you paid for - after all we were out all day and only used the hotel for an arvo wine and to sleep) and the overall configuration of the hotel in terms of the view, pool size, access to beach, facilities etc.

Food was good and like any place you need to go searching for value for money. "Cactus" across the road was a good breakfast spot as Langakawi doesnt seem to get fired up until lunchtime - Cactus opened at 8am. Typically hotel food was expensive. The Maya Restaurant (diagonally opposite the hotel) allowed us to take to dinner a cask of wine. Great food here - our favourite.

Shopping was disappointing - not the range and bargains like Bali - though the alcohol is cheap - a litre bottle of Jim Beam was A$16 compared to A$40 in Perth. Dont expect to get cheap DVDs, Billabong Surfwear etc. The trinkets are a bit dated too. For a duty free island most costs were more than Australia.

This was an enjoyable trip but my advice is assess what you want from a holiday - to sit around the pool and beach and not be disturbed - then come for a week. If you like to get out there and explore - 3 days tops. The hire car is the best way to do this and STRONGLY RECOMMENDED. Its only an one hour flight on Air Asia - I think we paid about A$15 each return! (on special).

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DMandTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

Pretty good place. The pool is a major attraction, but a warning: people (seemed to be mainly the numerous elderly Europeans) still get up before 8:30am in the morning and place towels etc on the beds to secure them. We just ignored that anyway, and if no one is there, and there's just a towel, then the bed was ours.

The service can be somewhat slow at times - perhaps the laid back culture? For example room service trays stayed 24 hours before they were picked up, and we'd sometimes need to ring twice to follow up on things that never arrived. The rooms feel about 20 years old, but it's okay, we spent most of the time outside.

The restaurant is overpriced and except for the breakfast not very interesting. For a great breakfast, lunch or dinner we went directly across the road to the Cactus - half the price, and much better quality food.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wurly_monster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2009

We stayed in this hotel in mid jan. We were bit worried about this hotel after reading lots of negative comments. But, to be very honest, even now, still can't figure out why so many nagative comments.
Anyways, we were given a standard room with twin bed joint, so we asked for a king size one. They upgraded us to Deluxe Premium with NO extra charges. Both rooms were clean and comfy. However, we didn't like the view from the balcony as it was being blocked by a tree(anyways, didn't spend much time in room). Room service was good. Beach is just great. Me and my wife spent nice time there as it's not too crowded. Quite safe during late evening too.
Overall, our stay at the hotel was good and would like to stay there again when we visit langkawi.

Thanks
Sanjeet & Geet

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sanjujus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

the location is a little bit far away from the town, but it's ok because the traffic is very convenient and quick. The beach is great even better than P.C beach, the white sandy beach is very clean and not crowded. The swimming pool, yes, it's big and fantastic.
The hotel is a little bit old, but the service is ok. the doorman is very helpful.
The breakfast is not as that bad as some people said. and many restaurants are just near this resort.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kikithouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
7.9 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
0.5 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#2 of 5 in Pantai Tengah
445 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Smith House
The Smith House
#1 of 1 in Padang Mat Sirat
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
5.4 mi away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#30 of 107 in Langkawi
220 reviews
0.9 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#27 of 107 in Langkawi
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi

Address: Lot 1698 Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Daerah Langkawi, Langkawi 507000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#17 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#18 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: £64 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting 4-star picturesque resort is sprawled over 13 acres of land, fronting on one of Langkawi island's finest beach, Pantai Tengah. Here, our 258 guest rooms and suites range from the simple elegance to the truly extravagant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Holiday Villa Beach Resort And Spa Langkawi
Holiday Hotel Beach Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing