We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it's very average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Ranked #21 of 106 Hotels in Langkawi
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“it's very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2009

honestly, i have traveled to quite a number of island in malaysia and langkawi is the one i dislike most. however, i have been to langkawi about 4 times and i will be going again end of this year. the only reason i am attracted to langkawi is it's coz it's duty free!! anyway, i personally think most of the hotels in langkawi are overpriced including this one. when everything is overpriced, the least i expect is an awesome unforgettable wonderful stay.

holiday villa is just normal. it's just like every other hotel but this one is overpriced. The only thing i like about this hotel is the swimming pool. their beach is not even close to nice.

the location is pretty okay. it's quite near to this area with pubs and souvenir shops .

it's a good place to stay when u are having a family / extended family vacation.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveljunkieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    682
    402
    184
    139
See reviews for
542
606
41
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

We booked based on trip adviser reviews and there was some good and some bad in this hotel. We used the internet to book and of course the room we choose was not available!! so we had a pool room, the rooms are dated, but functional. Bathroom was in need to a reno. The view over the pool was nice. The grounds were quiet nice, the pool had tiles falling off and needed some maintenance.
The issues i had we that they did not provide drinking water for you. They FORBID (that is a word that they use) people tp bring in food from outside and thus we are supposed to by small bottles of water for 6 MRY...There was no mosiquito coils etc available in the room and being wet season it was mosquito heaven. And we found the staff to be a little rude and abrupt and there was barely a smile to be had. The hotel was in quiet a good location, quiet (although i think all of langkawi is quiet) and about 20 minutes walk to Pentai Cenang or a 6MRY cab ride. The beach is pretty but the water is quiet dirty with bottles and rubbish washing up. if you book this hotel do book breakfast as cactus across the road does a great breakfast for a 1/3rd of the price.. try the pineapple and lime juice yummmy.. and the guys working there are really lovely.
The spa was great to and very professional i would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KellieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UAE
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2009

This hotel was more than we expected
It was warm and nice with extremely nice people
The location is very nice all the good shops and restaurants near you
The airport far about 20 min
Many taxies
Big shops near you the T shop we did took the car from there, very nice girls working there, good prices but if you did go inside more you can find less prices
For the mangroph trip I don’t advise you to go with any agent you can go the bots area, near the Bats Cage and talk with the people there you will find a good boat and its will not cost you as much with an agent, the mangroph trip its only a tour in the river and the see and they will take you to a restaurant to eat its not worth able, you can do this activities alone.
We did paid 290 for this tour. And unlucky we could make with the half of this money. The only amassing thing to see is the Bats Cave and you can go by single boat to see it and am sure they will not ask you from more that 100 RM believe me don’t pay and go with the full mangroph tour its not that much, at the end its up to you.

Now back to the hotel
The reception were very nice our room was ready
They are so helpful
We did get a see view room.
You can see the swimming pool and the sea very nice
We didn’t try the food there; there were many restaurants to try out.
Good value for your money
Its seem old hotel but it's very nice
You can have a wonderful time there
The night was for super deluxe room 380 MR
I did booked by asiatravel.com

Good choice

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank advocatez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUBAI
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2009

it is an old, renovated hotel, and i would give it 3 stars for the renovation - our room walls had visible imperfections in the paint - it wasn't even one uniform level!!!

apart from the poor paint job, our 2nd issue was with the cleanliness - the floor under the bed, behind the TV, and behind the dressing table was full of dust like it hadn't been cleaned for a good week or more!! there was even a couple of M&m's lying under the bed...

apart from these 2 factors that initially dampened our enthusiasm, this hotel is a gem - beautiful views of the pool and the sea from our first floor room, excellent staff - very friendly, very helpful - a lady came twice to show us how to operate the safe - it was an old one, and the door would get stuck - excellent pool - one of the largest on the island, i was told - and live music at night.

our room was not ready upon arrival, where upon a very friendly lady took us for "free drinks" to the bar; in addition to this free drink, we still got the standard free drink coupons that every guest gets upon check in - these are small gestures with minimal cost for the hotel, but it makes tired travellers feel welcome, refreshed and pampered.

We had rented a car, and every day a waiter would GLADLY take out some time to guide us to where ever we wanted to go - KUAH; CABLE CAR / 7 wells; etc.

i do think breakfast at MYR 40/ head was extremely overpriced and am glad we didnt pay for it; we could get excellent local breakfast of roti canai or sambal plus coffee - tried local RADIX and fell in love with it! - for under MYR 10 for 2 people!

the pool was excellent and went for a dip EVEYRDAY! BEAUTIFUL WATER with outdoor jacuzzi; deep area separately marked out, and absolutely clean water, yet my eyes didnt sting from the cholrine so i guess they used reasonable levels of the chemical

there is a Tshoppe across the hotel for renting a bike or a car, and you can walk to most eating outlets on Pantai Tengah, or go by car further; the location is pretty central for most activities and is great if you're not looking for seclusion a la Berjaya or Andaman...

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hellokittydubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune,India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2009

This hotel has an excellent accomodation and with nice beach view. Beach is just behind the hotel.

This hotel is neat,tidy, good ambience and resonable cost.

  • Liked — Neat, Tidy and beach view
  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank shashank_tadakamadla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aus
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2009

We stayed 8 nights at the holiday Villa and we were very happy with our accomadation
Our balcony over looked the pool which was huge and also had abit of view of the sea the resort has beautiful surrounding gardens.The rooms were cleaned daily staff were friendly enough they did what they had to do over all a great holiday
Cautus resturant great for breakfast across the road as everybody knows and would also recommend Boat resturant for lunch and Dinner great food and staff

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dingo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indore, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2009

I would never suggest this hotel to anyone traveling for fun or relaxation. The hotel calls itself a 4 star property but the service is pathetic and over all the attitude of the duty manager was terrible.
The airconditioning system does not work, it has air cooling sysyem and when I complained twice and the duty mamager came over to the room, he said that we can leave the room right away at 11 pm in night with my family. He forcely barged in to the room and on objection he just said that in order to feel the AC's cooling he needs to check it himself without asking enters. Apart from this the attitude of the manager was really bad.
I would suggest travellers and agents to restrain form this hotel.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — service and attitude
  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ashishkrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.9 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#22 of 106 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
7.9 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Federal Villa Beach Resort
Federal Villa Beach Resort
#50 of 106 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#28 of 106 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi

Property: Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Address: Lot 1698 Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Daerah Langkawi, Langkawi 507000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#15 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting 4-star picturesque resort is sprawled over 13 acres of land, fronting on one of Langkawi island's finest beach, Pantai Tengah. Here, our 258 guest rooms and suites range from the simple elegance to the truly extravagant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Holiday Gems and Travelbag so you can book your Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Villa Beach Resort And Spa Langkawi
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Holiday Hotel Beach Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing