We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Ranked #22 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“just ok!”
Reviewed 14 October 2010

the hotel was old fashioned and the rooms need renovation,especially the bathrooms...the only thing that was great was the pool area and the gardens(but the coctails were overpriced).i chose this hotel because i had read that it has nice beach..when i got there i found it idyllic!!!(but the water sports out of the hotel were overpriced!!!)!also it has the advantage that there is a supermarket,motor rent and restaurants 40 meters from the hotel which was really convinient for a tourist..(check out the chinese rstaurant called boat,loved the butter prawns!)the staff though was very kind!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maya04096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    707
    413
    198
    143
See reviews for
576
626
42
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
delh1
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

This hotel has a great location and is wonderful. It has a great swimming pool, beach and other facilities. It is also near some useful shops. The rooms are very spacious and the beds comfortable. The only thing is that the rooms have a slightly oldish feel to them; they are less sunny than you expect and the fittings and furniture have an old worn look to them. But contrary to several reviews we had read, the rooms were clean. The staff is very friendly and all the activites you would want to access in Langkawi are easily accessible. The restaraunts are not the best, but they are quite acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank presidentdelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at HV from 27th Sept to 4th October and I must say that many of the negative comments on trip advisor are certainly unwarranted. We generally stay at 4.5 and 5 star hotels/resorts but with a tight budget we chose HV. We had a fantastic holiday and found the resort to be lovely. Staff were friendly and helpful and the grounds very nice. The pool was very large and, while we were there, reasonably quiet with plenty of available loungers. As others have previously mentioned the temperature of the pool water is a bit warmer than expected - however I dont think thats the hotels fault. The pool bar was well staffed and prices very reasonable for a hotel (about $5AUD for a cocktail). The beach is also lovely - very calm with snacks and drinks available.

We had breakfast included in our package but rarely ate breakfast at the hotel. We found it to be quite busy with regular queues and pretty much the same stuff everyday which we soon got a little bored of. Instead we chose different restaurants around the hotel which offered many different choices and styles of breakfast. I must mention though that on our last day we checked out of the hotel at 6.30am. We thought we'd see if we could have breakfast first - we discovered that breakfast didnt open until 7am, however the staff were most accommodating and nothing was a problem.

As far as the location goes, HV is a little out of the main area however there are still 8 or so restaurants close to the hotel that offer great food and service at a very cheap price. It is possible to walk into the main area - takes about 20mins or a taxi costs 6 rinngit (about $2AUD). There is many many restaurants and bars in the main area - our 2 favourites the brasserie and oasis - both right on the beach and amazing!

All in all - this was a great (very cheap) holiday for us. HV is a little run down and could do with a bit of a revamp but for the price I think it's exceptional value and very comfortable. If you are looking for something a bit fancier try the Westin - a beautiful resort but quite isolated. We are hoping to go back to Langkawi early next year and planning to stay at Meritus Pelangi - nice resort on the beach in the main area

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayluvaPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2010

I have booked the fedral villas (3 bedroom villa) hopping tht I will enjoy the stay. I was shoked by the old and poor quality fernture. And what surprised me is the bad quality of the towls and the bath room that has two doors one to the main bedroom and the other one to the main corridor (anyone can get to the main room through the bathroom. They do not have an iron we have to go the the ironing room claiming that they had several fires because of misuse of irons inside the rooms( as if they are unique and different from other hotels all over the world)
I did enjoy the resturant and the beach is good.
I will not book aain in this resort nor recommending it to any one.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mejna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

I am from India and had stayed for 3 nights. The check in was quick and the room alloted was nice and neat ith a good view of the pool as well as the sea. The swimming pool was huge with good jacuuzi to relax. The children pool was also good. My daughter loved it. It is located very conviniently to nearby Indian restaurent ( Tulsi Garden ). The breakfast was good, though for vegies the choice was limited. Great facilites for kids with play area for them . Overall good stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amitlapasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Was dreading staying here after reading lots of bad reviews,but was pleasantly surprised, The room was clean and tidy,the only comment I would agree on was the air con was a bit noisy and only worked on high,but we didnt want it on all the time anyway,and the carpet smelt of cheesy feet, other than that we couldn't fault it.The swimming pool is really nice and the beach is lovely,but when the tide comes in lots of rubbish is washed up on shore eg plastic bottles,light bulbs etc but this is all cleaned up by the hotel and is not their fault(unfortunately humans are a messy race and responsible for not disposing of their rubbish propperly,hence it gets everywhere).Can't comment on the food at the hotel as didn't eat there,but would recommend the Cactus right opposite the hotel,very cheap and plenty to choose from.We found lots of places to eat within easy walking distance of the hotel but be wary of the uneven pavements and holes in the paths especially at night. Getting around by taxi is very cheap and prices of destinations are displayed at the taxi rank at the hotel so you know exactly how much you will pay and that they are insured. Would recommend the cable car ,but check on website before you go as it is closed for maintenance several times a year ,opening times,prices,and maintenance schedule all displayed on website,also ring up on day that you go as it can close in poor weather conditions for safety reasons. I would also recommend Devs Tours,go on website. we went on mangrove boat trip,very Knowlegable guide and well organised.We found staff at the hotel,restaurants etc all very friendly and helpful(being polite to the staff can go along way)We loved Langkawi and hope to go back someday.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy123Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yio Chu Kang, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

I had a room with its back sliding door just metres from the pool. My son and I could just walk out and within minutes we were in the pool. When we were tired of the swimming at the pool we could just take a stroll to the beach which is within 50 metres.
The beach is beautiful with fine white sand and the hotel provide good deck chairs for the hotel guests' use. Our whole family sat on the beach and watched the sunset on our last evening there. The feeling was undescribable.
This hotel is great for families with young children. It was a little crowded even though we were there in the supposed monsoon season so it's not so good for couples expecting a romantic quiet getaway.
The breakfast selection is suitable for the whole family. There are things which my 2-year-old son was able to eat.
Everything is good about this hotel except their staff are mechanical and serious-faced. But they were reasonably efficient and I dont stay at a hotel just to see friendly faces.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayWee1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
7.9 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
0.9 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#23 of 104 in Langkawi
955 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Federal Villa Beach Resort
Federal Villa Beach Resort
#50 of 104 in Langkawi
364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
423 reviews
8.8 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi

Property: Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Address: Lot 1698 Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Daerah Langkawi, Langkawi 507000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#15 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting 4-star picturesque resort is sprawled over 13 acres of land, fronting on one of Langkawi island's finest beach, Pantai Tengah. Here, our 258 guest rooms and suites range from the simple elegance to the truly extravagant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Holiday Villa Beach Resort And Spa Langkawi
Holiday Hotel Beach Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing