We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
Ranked #22 of 105 Hotels in Langkawi
Reviewed 17 November 2010

My wife and I have just returned from a 10 day stay at the Holiday Villa. Very impressed with the hotel, the bedrooms, the fantastic, helpful staff and a beautiful, amazing, quiet and soft sand beach! Before we arrived we were led to believe there was a problem on the beach with jellyfish-forget it! The whole time we were there we never saw one!! The hotel bar has a great happy hour from 5pm to 8pm which serves beers and spirits for half price. Great air conditioned bar with 2 fab gigantic screens, ideal for watching sports. Close by you have many good restaurants, but my favourite was Maya Restaurant, which was across the road about 70 metres to your left. Maya has a fabulous menu that will suit all tastes, and just amazing value in a beautiful setting. They serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. Every member of her family and handpicked staff just couldn't do more to ensure you had a great evening! Although they do not serve alcohol, they are more than happy to allow you to bring your own. Eating there most evenings was the highlight of a wonderful holiday. Four stars for the hotel and five stars for Maya!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brendan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,193 - 1,199 of 1,764 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2010

My wife and I stayed at HVBR for two nights. We found the room excellent, although our balcony view included a moss covered pool and the mosquitos were very evident. The staff were very friendly and willing to help. The pool was fantastic as was the beach. We will return in 2011

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 652408Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

was very apprehensive as had read mostly average reviews about the property. i had booked thru the click and go and got the amazing rate of 565rm for 2 nights with bf. for the third night i had emailed them and they offered me the same room for 335 with bf which again was great as the rack rate was 400rm room only. was given a pool facing room on the ground floor, which was very convinient with kids. room was spacious and had a sofa bed too. bath was ok size but clean.

you can see the beach from the pool itself and is quite a lovely sight, the pool area itself is quite big and has a jaccuzi too.

well got into our costumes and headed straight for the sea which was more like a placid lake and very safe for the children. also the climate too was just right not too hot, as i had expected it to be.

breakfast at the hotel is pretty good but the staff is not very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller_infty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

So happen our bed having bed bugs and toilet having coakroaches while the front manager didn't even bother to entertaint you when you call them to update them. Very dissapointed with the way the manager reply "anything else?" and the bed bugs caused my hubby body full of red spots everywhere which ended up we have to visit doctors for medication. Now the red spots still very clear and getting very itchy...poor him.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chris71tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

I had a unfortunate experience at Aseania Langkawi and drove further down the road and found Holiday Villa. My husband and I have never been on a HOLIDAY for more than 15 years and being retirees, we were looking forward to this trip. We arrived at Holiday Villa Beach Resort and asked for a room and immediately knew this is the place I want to be. The whole of my stay was an experience I will never forget. The place was fantastic and I would any time go back there and would certainly recommend it to anyone who wants to go to Langkawi.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheated045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

This was our first time in Malaysia. We booked the Superior Deluxe room and were more than happy. The room was clean, beautiful comfortable king size bed with excellent pillows. The balcony was small and we had to get some insect repellent because the insects were unbelievable. The grounds were picturesque with beautiful gardens. The pool was magnificent. The beach was as good as beaches get in Malaysia (can't compare to West Australian beaches). Staff were friendly but not as friendly as staff in Novotel in Phuket! Had problem with the air con in room which poured water out onto the carpet but was fixed immediately. Also once you used the coffee/tea sachets and the first bottle of water, you had to purchase subsequent ones and also had to pay 10 MR for a bucket of ice. I have never encountered this before as most of this is complimentary in other hotels. There is a restaurant across the road called Cactus. Went for amazing breakfast every morning and the staff were delightful. We fed 4 adults with juices, coffee, and full cooked breakfast for about $15 Aust in total. Also no probs with parking hire car and scooters in hotel carpark.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilymayloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

We bought return tickets to Italy on Malaysian Airlines with 3 other couples, and the airfares included a two night stopover on the return journey to Brisbane at the Holiday Villa Beach Resort on Langkawi Island off Malaysia, including internal flights from Kuala Lumpur. This was a bargain, especially at the price (we bought it essentially through a travel expo about 12 months previously).
Langkawi Island is much like it’s compatriots on Pacific Islands or in the near-East (like Phuket in Thailand). It’s in bit primitive in some respects, but the beaches, ocean, views, food, resorts and pools are glorious. Langkawi is no exception and deserves to be remembered in the context of similar locales.
Now, the Holiday Villa Beach Resort is, overall, pretty good. It’s not 5 star and in fact in some aspects is starting to get a little tired, but at the price (ok, it cost us nothing!), it’s good value. The staff were helpful and there was plenty of them (thought the restaurant could have done with a few more waiters/resses).
The pool is fabulous – enormous, warm, a children’s area, a deep area, a spa and a swim-up bar (food and drinks). We spent most of our time here. The cocktails are cheap, and we went through the whole list more than once! The beach and beach surrounds, and the resort gardens, are very pretty. There are beach activities available like jet-skis and para-sailing.
The rooms, though a little tired, are large and comfortable, as are the bathrooms. We all had balconies overlooking the pool area. There is internet access, but it’s not free.
We had one breakfast in the Resort, and whilst it wasn’t bad, Cactus across the road serves terrific breakfasts at a fraction of the cost. We had one evening meal at the Resort too – a buffet/barbeque – and this was really good. It even included Teppenyaki! For both the barbeque and the Teppenyaki, you selected the meats you wanted and it was cooked freshly for you. I enjoyed that meal, but there are plenty of other good – and much more inexpensive - establishments within a short walk of the resort (we went to Sheela’s, which was great and so cheap).
We also went across the road to the Yuan Spa, for a 4 hour “Honeymoon” package. It was exquisite and very cheap compared to the prices you pay at other spas in resorts or generally in Australia. Langkawi is worth a visit just for the Yuan Spa!
As an overall experience, our whole time at the Holiday Villa Beach Resort was fabulous, and if the opportunity arose, we’d do it again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seagullrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
7.9 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
0.5 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#2 of 4 in Pantai Tengah
439 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Smith House
The Smith House
#1 of 1 in Padang Mat Sirat
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
0.9 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#24 of 105 in Langkawi
978 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ombak Villa Langkawi
Ombak Villa Langkawi
#27 of 105 in Langkawi
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi

Address: Lot 1698 Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Daerah Langkawi, Langkawi 507000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#16 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: £69 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting 4-star picturesque resort is sprawled over 13 acres of land, fronting on one of Langkawi island's finest beach, Pantai Tengah. Here, our 258 guest rooms and suites range from the simple elegance to the truly extravagant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
Holiday Villa Beach Resort And Spa Langkawi
Holiday Hotel Beach Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing