We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unwelcoming, ill-equipped, and poor service overall”
Review of Langkawi Coral

Langkawi Coral
Ranked #58 of 91 things to do in Langkawi
Attraction details
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Unwelcoming, ill-equipped, and poor service overall”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Straight to the point, the actual snorkeling itself is ok... there were lots of fishes to see though the reef itself wasn't too healthy. The water is clear enough and the equipment was functional, though really seasoned. So on that saving grace, it didn't get the terrible score.

On everything else, it's really poorly managed. It's as if the staff and crew were forced to take the group. Boy was everyone grumpy. Instructions were shouted out as if we were little kids, there were little disregard for our native language with all orientals assumed to be Mandarin speaking, and everyone was simply herded from place to place with no clear directions and handed off in succession to different staff members who were not easily identified.

Depending on what you paid and where you booked from, you are either picked up from your hotel (my bus came 30 minutes late) or make your own way to the jetty. You're then tagged with a wristband and then herded to a rickety ferry with inconsistent air-conditioning. After an hour, your arrive at this anchored platform and instructions are shouted at. An ok lunch is provided and there are fresh water showers so everything was functional. You get just over 3 hours to snorkel at your leisure and at certain times boats to shore and glass bottom boat rides take off.

What to expect? Poor service, grumpy staff, hardly any smiles, and nothing is on time except departure. You will get a chance to snorkel (and dive if you pay extra) which really is the saving grace. Do wish the reef was healthier but it is a tourist trap with an anchored platform so how healthy can it really be anyways. Explore different sites before booking as prices for the same experience varies widely.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank danjumbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    29
    20
    14
    36
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“simply fantastic”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

if you are visiting malaysia your trip is incomplete without langkawi.
superb views, calm, serene the best place to wind off. best of all you get all the possible varities of indian food. winter is the best time to go.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AShah34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It was an experience!”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

One of the most disorganized trips I have ever been on. Of the two couples and single who did the two dives from the platform like I did, we each paid a different amount for the same trip. We were herded like cattle before boarding. The scuba equipment was used, and none of us felt that secure, safetywise. One of the group was unable to breathe near the end of her dive, even though the gauge read 60 bars. Coming back to the platform for lunch was an experience, as well, as I have never seen so many rude people eating like it was their last meal. That being said, management did agree to lower the price I paid so that it was in line with what the others paid, and the diving was fun. It was cloudy so not the best visibi

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank frnklw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Oh dear what a let down”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I'm on Langkawi staying at the wonderful Andaman Resort. I booked to go to one of the top local attractions, Langkawi Coral. It's quite popular and about 1 hr boat trip from the local harbour. Beware, I had to get up at 7am in order to finally get to the island that has the coral by 11am, remember Langkawi is a small island itself.

The tour operator has a permanent platform at the island from which we were able to snorkel. The platform is old (at least 20 years) and is quite rank with the smell of diesel and human effluent. The coral is virtually non existent and mostly dead, the fish are abundant and feed by the operator to keep them around. The island has several beautiful looking beaches just a small swim away from the platform. Upon landing on these beaches you will discover them to polluted with empty bottles, wrappers, rubbish of every description including butts, broken furniture, builders waste etc etc.

Malaysia truly Asia, I hope not!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank HugoandFreddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langkawi, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Langkawi coral - avoid like the plague!”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I think in the whole of my life I have only ever written one complaint letter, and that was to the council about a parking ticket I shouldn't a have been given... So it's with frustration and complete sensation of a wasted day of my holiday that I'm hoping others won't fall into the same trap.

If your planning on diving in Malaysia then I strongly recommend that you do your research and find a good dive school. Our trip to the 'reef platform' at Palau payer marine park was awful and ill list below why and hopefully in order of severity:-

The platform hosts between 300-500 people. - with a mixture of snorkelling and diving. You will be driven there in one of three very large boats that use the platform( I'll explain more later)

The area to dive in is tiny and your constantly bumping into swimmers. (not the best start if this is your first experience)

The staff and equipment are very geared up for MASS tourism and the equipment is old and dated. - I fear for the safety of the whole operation.

The instructor that was explaining how to put on your kit, did so in such a manner that instead of reassuring my wife (who had never done it) he scared her so much she was on the verge of tears. - super stuff for a honeymoon!

From arriving on the platform to being submerged in the water took a grand total of 10 minutes. No safety briefing, explanation on pressure, no kit check, - you where told verbally however - how to clear your mask, that your regulator went in your mouth and should stay there ( but not how to retrieve it should you loose it). You needed to equalise the pressure(but not what this does to you, or how often you need to blow your nose), and that you needed the OK or not sure sign to correspond with the instructor. - great, then off you went.

The instructor then takes 2 of you out at a time from your group ( about 16 in our group) - Sarah was scared as I think everyone would be with a completely alien environment and only a 10 minute prep before hand. The instructor was patient to begin with but got frustrated after a little time and wanted to get back to the group as he had another 8 couples to take out. This meant that for our £180- yes, £180 we got a grand total of 15minutes in the water with him... Possibly the most expensive dive I have ever done!

The dive should not have been allowed to take place the day we went as the seas where far to rough. Visibility was down to about one meter, this was only compounded by the fact that you have three very big boats that kicked up a load of sediment on arriving at the platform.

All the coral are brown so if your looking for a beautiful reef this is not one of them

Consequently the waters are not teaming with fish, there are some - but they are mainly attracted by the fact that tourists are allowed to throw their lunch in the water to watch the fish swarm! I know and they call this ecotourism!

In addition to this three big boats plus numerous other smaller boats all in a very small area. Huge clouds of diesel smoke bellow from the engines when they start. There are plastic bags and bottles floating in the water. Probably due to staff not cleaning up after lunch but letting the waste blow off the rig into the sea. - again is this really ecotourism? No wonder there are limited fish and brown coral.

Now let's get to the rig/ platform - this is old! There is an area / chamber that you can walk into that acts like a glass bottom boat. But it's easy to cut yourself on the rust around the door ways/hatches as you climb down - the glass panels are rusty and smashed in several cases,

Back on deck if you need the bathroom then you have the choice of two very smelly and old toilets that I imagine deposit the waste directly onto the coral below.

Lastly - the platform is about 1.2 hours from dry land. On a still, flat day that might be fine- but they keep to boat running even in bad conditions - (I imaging as they make a shed load of money out of us -£180 for the two of us - jan 2014). But nearly three hours of boat ride, plus your then stuck on the rig when you get there for a further 3-4 hours... They handed out a lot of sick bags for our return journey.

All in all do your research. Langkawi coral, saga travel and tours sdn. Should hold your heads in shame... This is not diving... This is mass tourism to line your pockets. There is nothing of value- it's a complete rip off. Further more it's destroying / destroyed the environment. People don't relax or have a good time they are too busy trying to avoid all the other bodies in the water.

As I say avoid like the plague!!

Ben Lilly

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
13 Thank Benlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Langkawi Coral also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Langkawi Coral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing