We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Stay !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langkawi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lagenda Permai Chalet
Ranked #80 of 151 Speciality Lodging in Langkawi
Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible Stay !”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I personally came over Langkawi a few weeks early to survey for the chalet after make online survey. It was a short trip and I fell in love in the environment, wooden chalet ,near shops and it's quite cheap compare to others chalet which look exclusive and expensive. I walked in and ask for more detailed info.

I also asked to walk around and look at the room myself. I wanted a family room. Most of the room was very basic and a bit worn down. Eventually, I found 1 room which slightly better among the rest and I booked the room with full payment for 2 days.

I reminded the lady at the counter during make the full payment not to give away the room that I wanted as she recommended the room is better than other. She said ok and I left.

After 2 weeks, my family and I arrived and checked-in at the chalet and found out that my room was taken. I was so surprised ! the phone number written on the receipt was useless and can't be contacted. I want to ask why the room was taken away. Calls and SMS was never replied as the phone was off. Nobody at the counter except the helper who know nothing.

During the stay, the aircond was not functioning, the room was dark as there was only 1 ceiling light and the room was very dusty ! we went out for sight seeing and I informed the helper. Hopefully after come back from sight seeing everything will be fine.

In the end, nothing happened ! we were so frustrated and wish to contact owner next time. those who planned to stay in Langkawi. Don't ever stay in this chalet as your stay will be miserable !

Room Tip: have a deal first and never pay in full payment. if you don't feel good about the chalet or hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ferdaus86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    2
    3
    1
    6
See reviews for
2
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Arrived at Langkawi with no booking. Tried a few places but most were full. I found this place, which is located towards the far end of the beach and stayed for 2 nights.

The bed was clean (ish) but nothing else was. The rooms were just completely run down and in need of a re-vamp. The grounds are nice, gardens, a grassy field, but you will honestly feel let down when you get into your room. Also the locks were terrible.

Rock bottom place to crash - YES and for me this place would be a last resort.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We left our booked accommodation due to a bad experience. We walked several kms around Pantai Cenang looking for alternative accommodation - in the end we would have paid anything, but all rooms seemed to be booked (Saturday night). We eventually arrived at Lagenda Permai Chalets very late at night. The owners had a spare chalet but said they couldn't let it as it hadn't been cleaned. We said we'd take it anyway, but the male owner insisted on cleaning it while his wife drove us back to get our bags. Such wonderful people! We stayed for two nights at very reasonable cost and it felt like the calm after the storm. From outside the chalets looked fine, and the garden area was very well maintained. Inside was a different story - very run down, but included aircon, TV and fridge. We stayed in two different rooms. Twin beds in the first, a double in the second one (described as "more deluxe"), it was actually worse than the first - nearly went through the floor, and bathroom was so full of insects and other "wildlife" that we didn't have a shower on the second day. It's a pity as a bit of maintenance would make these chalets more than adequate. Nevertheless, we were so grateful to the owners for taking us in and going that extra mile for us, that our stay is remembered fondly as an oasis after our previous bad experience at some accommodation we didn't feel safe in. We bought some chocolates for the owners as a small token of our thanks - they were truly helpful people and helped to change our initial bad impression of Langkawi.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorrainePAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

The review earlier was quite a shock when we experienced ourself.
We've stayed 3 nights at this budgeted chalet.
The hospitality given was fine.
We had very quite nights during our stay. When it comes to the room, it was reasonably ok with the price paid.
Facilities seems fine with us with
- Water heater
- Air condition
- Mini bar
- TV
- King size bed
Able to enjoy sunny beach by walking 150 meters to Pantai Cenang and beautiful sunset scenery.
Serounding with local food stalls.

Hey what else you could expect with the cheapest place in town. Overall it was an enjoyable and fun time there

We would recommend this adorable chalet to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gill4053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Our experience was awful:
- insects: mosquitos, cockroaches. Note that mosquitos were more numerous inside the chalet than outside, a really great time! (Fortunately, we had our "Fumakilla" to protect us against the mosquito)
- state: dirty
- tapessery that comes off
- chinks between the door / windows and the wall of the chalet.
The following day, we have been to the AB Motel, which has been a much greater experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bilbaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
Level 6 Contributor
1,482 reviews
355 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,267 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2009

Legenda Permai Chalets are located at the southern end of Pantai Cenang. The complex is located across the road from the beach. All of the accomodation is in small chalets , which vary in the facilities they offer.

Our chalet had, air conditioning, a mini bar and hot water. It was not fancy but about what you would expect for the price of rm 75 for 3 people. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

Overall, if you are travelling on a budget but still want some basic facilities, this hotel is worth considering.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2008

This hotel is a budget hotel at midrange prices. The first room they took us to was in real need of renovation, the toilet leaked and and it had a real musky smell. We asked to be moved and was promptly taken to another room which was just as bad, the lino on the walls (very strange) was peeling off and the toilet and shower looked like they should have been condemned years ago. We went to look for another hotel and managed to find a much better place on the beach front for 20 RM more. The staff are very friendly and gave us the money back for four of the six nights we had paid for which was fair enough. We certainly would not book there again.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank milkbottletravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
6.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
9.0 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
0.0 mi away
Rasa Senang Chalet
Rasa Senang Chalet
#91 of 151 in Langkawi
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Malibest Resort
Malibest Resort
#26 of 104 in Langkawi
820 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Agate Beach Resort
Royal Agate Beach Resort
#25 of 104 in Langkawi
163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pondok Muara Chalet
Pondok Muara Chalet
#14 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagenda Permai Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagenda Permai Chalet

Property: Lagenda Permai Chalet
Address: Lot 2014, Jalan Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 151 Speciality Lodging in Langkawi
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a beautiful tourist area by the seaside, with a peaceful and tranquil environment. You will be promised with a most comfortable and economic stay and provided with the required ammenities. Lagenda Permai Chalet provides tourist with aircond rooms and non aircond rooms, dormetories with special rates and it is most suitable not only for single but for families group occupancy as well. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lagenda Permai Chalet Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing