We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite places to eat on Langkawi”
Review of Harum Aroma

Harum Aroma
Ranked #279 of 433 Restaurants in Langkawi
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Malaysian
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places to eat on Langkawi”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We've been to Langkawi 3 times, having just returned from our most recent trip. Each time we've eaten here, I love it.
I have to be very careful where I eat when I'm in South-East Asia as I have a severe peanut allergy. The staff here are really helpful and will point out what I can and can't eat, luckily most of the time I can eat everything on offer.
The buffet spread contains some delicious food, the squid in sambal, stingray curry, fried chicken and red chicken curry are all great, as are the sweet and sour fried eggs. I've never had a bad meal here and would recommend the place to everyone.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whats_for_tea_today
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    9
    2
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
The Hague
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“nice fresh local grilled seafood fix”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

this is a very good place to get a real local food fix. especially grilled fish and seafood, served with a nice 'air assam' condiment. their trick is to put a huge fan next to the grill that sends out the nice smell of grilled fish onto the main street, thats how i found this place! btw the restaurant name translates to sweet aroma, sounds about right. price wise is cheap by any tourist standards.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank eezie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alor Setar, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nightmare”
Reviewed 20 December 2012

The service was bad and the most dissapointment is the attitude of the owner and the satff. They are simply very rude. Shouting and yelling at customer to take their food to the cashier to calculate the price. Very dissapointed! I will never set my foot there again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank naz_jtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Great local delicacies available here”
Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

This restaurant serves typical Malay dishes with great varieties to choose from:- prawns, grilled fishes, barbecued chickens, salads with spicy sauces to whet the appetite. The restaurant is spacy enough for the lunch crowd and services are good. A great place to refill before or after doing shopping at the duty-free shops and visiting the Underwater World nearby.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent kampong food”
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

a must everytime we are in chenang. Food is tasty W with wide selection. reasonable price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellieshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harum Aroma also viewed

 
Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Harum Aroma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing