We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When i woke up. Cockroaches cockroaches EVERYWHERE!”
Review of Hotel Langkasuka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Langkasuka
Ranked #60 of 108 Hotels in Langkawi
Reviewed 29 June 2011

A business meeting brought us to Langkasuka hotel in Langkawi (Kuah)

Room is spacious but worn out. Bed was ok. Pillow was ok. Bed cover was worn and old.

TV is an old JVC, Limited channels. No International news channels like CNN or CNA.

Minibar fridge was empty and only operates when you slot in your key card. Room 8014's key card does not work so was given a key to open the door.

Carpet was clean. Toilet was clean. Curtains doesn't close 100% and it is the left and right side that is "exposed". Window view was a massive multi-storey carpark. Carpark was for new cars used by car dealer.

When i woke up after the first night. I turned on the toilet lights only to discover 6 to 7 baby cockroaches running around the wash basin. My toiletries were all on the basin table. I threw my toothbrush away and bought a new one from the supermarket in the building's basement.

I asked the chambermaid for a can of shelltox and was given one. I sprayed the toilet and hoped for the best.

The next morning. There were still cockroaches in the toilet and this time, lesser BUT they were now found in the room with my things.

I spent a good 30 minutes looking thru my toiletries pouch and luggage and clothes to make sure i am not bringing home any cockroaches before leaving for the airport to catch a 9am to Penang.

The alarming thing is. Our team will have to return to this hotel again next month for another business meeting in the same building. I will bring my own insecticide to fumigate the room once i check in.

Hope the hotel management sees this and does something about this! Please!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m36705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2011

Nice Hotel comparing with price... but if i will go langkawi again I won't go there
Rooms are not this comfortable , restaurant is average but beach is OK
No night life there as hotel at night became scary
Staff is friendly and provide good touring packages like sea trips lap lap lap

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hshalaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed for 3 days in Hotel Lankasuka. Room is spacious. The carpets could have been cleaner. The hotel staff told us that the free internet is available in lobby only. However we have found that even in our rooms we got coverage. All the rooms are facing the sea. The food quality is avearge for Indians like me.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotels2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

This place is very close to the airport and smack on a private beach. I did a net booking and got a great offer with one day free car to drive around myself. We loved the beach and the pool. Though we didn't go swimming. The room had a spacious balcony and that was such a treat for early mornings. The property is spacious and has lots of wooden architecture.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irfankhanlives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

I stayed for 3 nights during the Eid or Hari Raya season. The piped-in music was very loud as i could hear it when i was inside the toilet. The room was big but everything needs upgrading. No internet in the room so I had to go down to the lobby. Restaurant is right in front of the lobby hence it has a funny smell. The housekeeping were excellent and accommodating and also the maintenance guy came immediately after my call when in the first 30 mins i checked in, the lights in the toilet blew; the water pipe in the toilet burst, no side table beside the bed. This hotel is for tour groups; if you want peace and privacy, this is not the hotel to be in. Food was insufficient as they had to cook again coz of the tour groups that stayed in the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NikkiAvidTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 25 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 10 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.5 mi away
Langkawi Seaview Hotel
Langkawi Seaview Hotel
#37 of 108 in Langkawi
274 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Asia Langkawi
Hotel Asia Langkawi
#3 of 17 in Kuah
316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bahagia
Hotel Bahagia
#63 of 108 in Langkawi
162 reviews
8 mi away
Bella Vista Express Langkawi
Bella Vista Express Langkawi
#47 of 108 in Langkawi
142 reviews
7.9 mi away
Lavigo Resort
Lavigo Resort
#34 of 108 in Langkawi
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Langkasuka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Langkasuka

Address: 14-15 Batu 3/4 A, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 108 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range: £19 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Langkasuka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Langkasuka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing