We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sari Village Holiday Homes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langkawi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sari Village Holiday Homes
Ranked #23 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Langkawi
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is the only word needed to describe our stay at Sari Villas. From the time Aini picked us up at the airport (despite missing our original flight) until we departed everyone treated us as if we were personal friends. From Zainol to Aini to Zainol's son everyone was so hospitable and everything was done to make their guests feel at home. You would never get this service in a hotel. The houses are set in a beautiful quiet area which is on a hillside surrounded by nature. The views are to die for with some of Langkawi's other islands in the distance. The houses were beautiful and extremely comfortable with air conditioning in the bedrooms. Each morning Aini would deliver breakfast to our villa which allowed us to gather on the balcony to have a totally relaxing time without having to fight with the crowds normally jostling around in a hotel environment. You should rent a car as this will provide you the convenience of getting in and out of the villas but also to explore the rest of Langkawi island. There was no wi-fi in the houses but there were areas near the main house that would provide a signal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaiKung2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    37
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
80
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

nice view of the sea from the bungalow,quite and private place with seperate bungalow on a hill at the sea side,multi pul choice and dilicious breakfast,hostibility and friendly service。the only thing you should consider is to rent a car to access the place,and get ready to do some exercise of climbing the steps to access the bungalow。

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smittywx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Our stay at Sari Villages was just amazing. We totally grew into the holiday and did not want to leave. This is place is a real experience. Don’t go into it expecting to be just a number in a bustling hotel with a typical buffet breakfast, because that is not what it is. It is a family run business and you literally do feel (although this was true in our case) that you are the only visitors. The owners are not about maxing out the accommodation to make money, they want to make their guests feel welcome and looked after. Zaino, the owner, took us out on a boat trip to a few islands where despite the weather we had a lovely time sitting outside his beach house hearing his stories. He even took a hammock so my son could have a nap on one of the beaches!

The setting is phenomenal with a view to die for. The accommodation is a traditional and beautiful large wooden Malay house (so it is very dark). It is not a shiny five star accommodation with marble baths and towel swans but none of that is needed. It has a simple kitchen and very functional air-conditioners in the bedrooms.

You are literally set in the jungle so bring some serious mozzy repellent. We were woken 3 of the days we stayed by beautiful bespectacled monkeys running over the roof and wrestling on our balcony. We saw hornbills and many ghekos and lots of other amazing wildlife.

Aini (Zaino's daughter-in-law) and her daughter were just charming, bringing us an OUTSTANDING breakfast daily at a time that worked for us and Aira (Aini’s daughter) very kindly shared her toys with my son. Communication before and after the visit was easy, quick and helpful, Farina was extremely quick to respond. This is a memorable and peaceful trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emyj347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I have stayed at different hotels every time I've visited Langkawi including the Fragapani and the Four Season and by far Sari Village is my favourite place to stay. The hosts are extremely accommodating and kind, they really couldn't have been more helpful or generous. As it was my 30th birthday they upgraded me to a premium Villa. The others were equally charming and it felt very much like a Malaysian experience to stay in these traditional houses. The view from the balcony is incredible and the bed and showers were excellent.
My only hesitancy is the fact really you need to hire a car as taxi's are not too keen on driving the 5 minutes out of town and up the long country lane to pick you up or drop you off. However, as cars are cheap to rent in Langkawi I wouldn't let it discourage you from staying here.

All villas come with their own kitchen and dining table on the balcony and a lovely fresh breakfast is provided in extravagant amounts!

Highly recommend - will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank superlola7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

I had a wonderful time at Sari Village, having just got back my friends and I had hired out the villas to celebrate my friends 30th birthday. The family who run the villas could not have been more warm and welcoming. The villas were very clean and spacious and amongst beautiful grounds (there is a lovely little pond with bull frogs) and a lovely pool.

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay in wonderful surroundings.

The only thing I will say is that if you plan to stay here it might be helpful to rent a car as it is a 5-10 minute drive to the main Cenang beach but we were able to easily rent a car from the owners.

I would thoroughly recommend this place :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We had an excellent time during our stay at Sari Village. The place is peaceful, quiet and wildlife quite impressive with several hornbill sightings, monkeys (black ones, not the common grey, and their small ones are orange until 3 months old) and more. The houses are large and comfortable, no luxury but good standard and views were lovely from our terrace.

The family who runs the place is genuinly nice and we felt at home from the start. Zainol is a very warmharted and interesting caracter :)

We will return!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 676HB676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T_diddy
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

The emails and communication beforehand (with one of the daughters I think) were great and very helpful to arrange our booking.

The location of the villas is amazing, hidden away on the hillside amongst the trees. We didn't need to rent a car... If you walk out of the grounds to the road, a right turn and 5 minute walk gets you to some restaurants and awaiting taxis etc. The villas are great - large, grand, and spacious. The views from the master bedroom and the balcony lounge area are truly spectacular.

The pool is nice, although there were only a handful of loungers, including a broken one; because the wood was so old and worn. The wood was snapped and splintered, which was a little dangerous.

We asked for the included breakfast to be mixed, but each day we got what was surely a western continental serving (pancakes, fruit & bread). The view whilst eating breakfast made up for any doubts as we ate however.

We opted to go on the island hopping tour, which turned out not to be that great to be honest. One of our group had recently gone on the same kind of tour - admittedly not private like this one - and she paid around 10MYR, and it was almost exactly the same. Whereas we paid 300MYR for the boat and then 50MYR each for lunch. This certainly wasn't cheap. The 'private' island and lunch turned out not to be all that private as there were hundreds of tourists on the beach too. Our private area consisted of being behind a rope where we ate. The beach was noisy, and curious tourists frequently came into the private area anyway, before being told to leave. This isn't the fault of Sari Village, as the beach area has to remain public by law, but it shouldn't be advertised the way it was, as it just resulted in disappointment.

Overall we were very happy with the villas. We couldn't recommend the island hopping tour, based on both price and experience, but the villas themselves, including the whole property grounds, were amazing.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T_Killeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.3 mi away
Ambong Ambong
Ambong Ambong
#1 of 128 in Langkawi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fuuka Villa
Fuuka Villa
#1 of 5 in Pantai Tengah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Impiana
Villa Impiana
#1 of 1 in Kampung Temoyong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cactus Inn
Cactus Inn
#3 of 5 in Pantai Tengah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ocean Lodge Langkawi
Ocean Lodge Langkawi
#15 of 128 in Langkawi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Molek
Villa Molek
#2 of 5 in Pantai Tengah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sari Village Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sari Village Holiday Homes

Property: Sari Village Holiday Homes
Address: 618 Jalan Teluk Baru | Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Sari Village Holiday Homes Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing