We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Langkawi”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langkawi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sari Village Holiday Homes
Ranked #27 of 162 Speciality Lodging in Langkawi
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We are 2 couples + 2 kids who stayed at Sari Village for a weekend getaway in May 2014. The villas are constructed on a hill overlooking a bay of turquoise water, dotted with jungle-clad islands. The owners are a delightful family who make you feel as though you are invited guests. They welcomed us at the airport, gave us lots of information about where to eat and what to do, helped plan our activities (and even accompanied us for an afternoon of island-hopping), and fed us delicious breakfasts of European-style bread, Malay-style banana pancakes, and abundant tropical fruit. The landscaping around the villas is lovingly maintained to showcase the local flora and wildlife. The villas themselves are multi-storeyed, constructed mostly of wood in airy Malay style.

If you go, know that Sari Village is not a hotel. There is no restaurant or mini-bar. Breakfast is great, but it's the only meal available. Coffee and tea are make-it-yourself (nescafe, powdered creamer). The property is is some distance uphill from the nearest restaurants and shops in town. Best to prepare by bringing some food and drinks with you, and renting a car to see more of Langkawi island. Bring mosquito repellant because biting insects are a fact of life in the jungle. The owners provide AC and mosquito plug-ins for every room.

If you want a peaceful retreat in Langkawi and a vila that feels like home while you're there, Sari Village is idyllic.

Room Tip: We were able to tour three of the villas and they were equivalent in terms of amenities. All have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HeatherfromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have recently returned from Sari Villas for the fifth time....and ...we have already booked for our stay next year...this speaks for itself. We have been travelling for many years and have never found such a wonderful place as this.....it is the most wonderful setting overlooking the sea...the view is astounding....you are always guaranteed a warm welcome from the Zainol, the owner who is always happy to take you around....Island hopping with a BBQ lunch is not to be missed. Also a trip to Koh Lipe ,Thailand, an hours boat ride away...either going for the day or stay overnight...Zainol will organise this.
The accommodation is in typically Malay houses all with great views...there is an enormous deck for lazing around or eating , kitchen , 3 airconditioned bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, lounge , all very spacious . The wildlife is all around, dusky leaf monkeys, hornbills, sea eagles, large black squirrels , flying lizards....we see these daily .
There are quite a lot of steps, so not suitable for disabled guests.
The grounds and pool are immaculately kept .....Sari Villas is truly a labour of love....enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JUDELAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We chose to stay here recently after looking through lots of reviews and were very happy with our choice!

The villas are a collection of holiday homes and have a lovely atmosphere set high on the hill with beautiful views and wildlife, like monkeys and squirrels, just part of the everyday experience at the Villas!

The service from our first email enquiry to being met at the airport and dropped at the ferry on our last day was always friendly and full of advice.

This is not a hotel with daily servicing, minibar or room service on call - but that was not what we rate as important! If you are looking for an authentic, friendly, family-run business then Sari Village is a great choice.

The customer service was very personal - from Aini and daughter Aira delivering our breakfast every morning to Zainol checking how our day was and what our plans were for the next day.

Pros
- friendly, family-run service
- spacious villas with a delicious breakfast delivered to your balcony every morning and encouragement to try new foods.
- great views and wildlife
- lovely pool

Other (not cons)
- the villas have a dark interior but that is part of their character / traditional feel.
- the wifi was very patchy but this only affected us because we decided to travel without a data / travel SIM card.
- they do not serve other meals as they want to encourage you to get out and explore and experience the many different places to eat.

Suggestions
- hiring a car was easy and great for exploring the island and driving down into Cenai Beach for dinner, shopping etc. The rental company they recommend has an outlet at the airport and also one nearby the villa so very handy for collecting / returning the car.
- the island hopping tour is a must, exploring the islands with a local! Having the 'lake of the pregnant maiden' to ourselves after all the tourists had gone was a truly memorable experience.

We really enjoyed our stay and felt part of the family by the time we left.
Thank you all for a lovely, memorable stay at Langkawi.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HobartAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

when we were searching for the accommodation in langkawi we wanted to stay in a place that is more like a home instead of some luxury resort. we received the photos of the rooms and thought it looked ok. when we arrived - it was a WOW when we entered the room. :)

the sea-view 2-bedroom house are lovely, clean and spacious, it perfectly comes with a balcony where 4 of us spent some quiet afternoon/evening time drinking and chatting. it's far off from the busy area, and surrounded by lush and wild animals like birds, frogs, geckos, squirrels and monkeys, it was really cute for animal lover people like us.

the car rental, island hopping were nicely arranged, we also enjoyed the pool-side bbq dinner prepared by the owner, everything was delicious!

the room upstairs could use some curtains, though there is no house directly next to us but you know, that's still lack of a sense of security. we had a great time, and would highly recommend for family to stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathiecat969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

At the end of the holiday, we were looking forward to be back in our comfortable home. That was not a good sign of a holiday.

The place as many had described, is located off the convenient area, surrounded by wild life (squirrels, monkeys..etc), beautiful plants and flowers, not the best view of all the villas (other units get better view of the bay, ours was facing another hotel from distance). Location isn't quite a problem if you have rented a car like we did, it is only 2 minutes drive away from Pantai Tengah and a few minutes more from the happening Cenang. Do consider your options if you'd like to have a few drinks out of the house, you will have to drink and drive.

The downside of the place as below:

1. Communication wasn't exactly prompt, you have to wait between 12-36 hours for a reply. Phone number provided is the owner's number which he might be overseas or he needs to get somebody else to get back to you on your requests/questions.

2. The house hasn't been updated since.... it was built about 11-13 years ago? The interior finishing and furnishing is pretty dated. It was however, clean as in dust free, spider web free. Bathroom has small mould area in the shower stall. The place could be rented for more money if owner invests in good new furniture, new mattresses, curtains, linens, update the bathrooms...etc The shower in our bathroom was falling apart, the air-con was somewhat repaired with tape and the air-con vent was "put in place" with some paper/tissue.

3. Breakfast was VERY disappointing. The "continental" breakfast was oily looking tortilla, sweet white bread, butter and jam (refilled in jars) while the Asian breakfast was frozen "roti" prepared in the caretaker's place. Absolutely the worst breakfast I have been served.

4. Aini who came to pick us up was very friendly, but that's it. We saw her on arrival, and we saw her again before leaving.

5. Lacking comfortable cushions/sunbathing mattress. The balcony was nice and sometimes breezy. There were two (one half broken) sun bathing chair but without proper cushions to lie on. The seatings in the living room too has some left over cushions but not complete.

6. There is no proper dining table/chairs. You gotta eat at the balcony low coffee/side tables.

7. Curtains lack privacy. Not that we need to but you certainly can't walk around the house naked without being spotted from outside. Both upstair and downstair. Room curtains are so thin that if you change your clothes at night in the room with the light on, people walking pass will be able to see it clearly.

8. OH! And the weird glass panels on all the doors! There is 1-2 glass panels on each bedroom and bathroom door that makes privacy down to .... non existence.

9. VERY bad sound proofing. Floors and walls have zero sound proof in place. You hear both upstair bathrooms as the ceiling are not closed. You hear clearly what's going on in the balcony from the main bedroom directly above as they are only separated by a layer of wooden floor. Not great if you want to sleep in and others are hanging around the balcony.


IF you love wild life, do not mind a dated house, have no eyes for details and don't need comfort, this is the place for you. The house unfortunately just below the average acceptable level for us, the view was not "fantastic", the need to drive out for every meal did not make it a relaxing holiday for us. The breakfast on the last day - worst french toast of our life just kill the last brownie point they had collected.


Layout of the house (the one we stayed):

Upstair: One big master with sea view and attached bathroom, one double room (just enough space to walk around the double bed) with attached bathroom. One huge living room.

Ground floor: living space with open kitchen area. One bedroom (two single beds), shared bathroom/toilet. balcony.

Downstair: looks like unfurnished bathroom and a bedroom. another lower balcony (no view). This floor isn't exactly completed to be usable. Don't bother to lock your front door because it's not too difficult to enter the house via the lower floor if somebody really wants to. However, I did not find it unsafe in the area.

Room Tip: If you are going with a bunch of friends, go for the main master room, the other two rooms are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyTasteHisTaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Our experience at Sari Village was incredible; secluded but not isolated, quiet but not sedate, within a comfortable distance to everything without sacrificing the peace. We truly were head-over-heels in love with the place and didn't want to leave! We'll be back again for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We planned to go to Langkawi during the Christmas holidays with the risk to meet a lot of western tourists, so I spent hours looking for a quiet place in a nice location... this is how I've found Sari Village. The place you dream of when you think of Langkawi. In the middle of the nature, close to the beach and to the animated area (but not too much), with a fantastic sea view. The villa was full options and very comfortable for 5 people. But the special mention goes to the owners who were absolutely lovely. They organized a special boat trip for island hopping. Each morning they brought for the breakfast a new typical dish to test... Is is a fantastic souvenir... So I warmly recommend this place which is without doubt (after having visited the Island) the best place to enjoy Langkawi.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaudLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.0 mi away
Fuuka Villa
Fuuka Villa
#2 of 6 in Pantai Tengah
139 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Molek Langkawi
Villa Molek Langkawi
#3 of 6 in Pantai Tengah
304 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Villa Langkawi
La Villa Langkawi
#12 of 162 in Langkawi
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ambong Ambong
Ambong Ambong
#1 of 6 in Pantai Tengah
583 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Impiana, Langkawi
Villa Impiana, Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Kampung Temoyong
11 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Ocean Residence Langkawi
The Ocean Residence Langkawi
#10 of 162 in Langkawi
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sari Village Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sari Village Holiday Homes

Address: 618 Jalan Teluk Baru | Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 162 Speciality Lodging in Langkawi
Price Range: £118 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Sari Village Holiday Homes Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing