We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandy Beach Resort Langkawi”
Review of Sandy Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandy Beach Resort
Ranked #91 of 104 Hotels in Langkawi
Reviewed 15 February 2014

beautiful place, wonderful swimming, but not to take standard rooms are far over noisy street full of Muslims,we paid the price for superior and we got a bungalow right on the beach with great views,the meal we went to a restaurant tomatoe, excellent cuisine, the resort was uneventful breakfast

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dobraborka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

I'm backpacking around Asia at the moment and have stayed in better places for half the price. Dirty bed sheets,unhelpful staff,holes in doors,live wiring,locks on doors don't work,dirty bathroom. Luckily I was only staying two nights,but if It's your only holiday for the year go somewhere else. The apartments in the 'New building' are unfinished. Terrible. I should have stuck to my £10 max for a room rule,but thought I'd treat myself. Oh well. Save yourselves and listen to this review!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank screennameavailability
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Location is the big plus in this moderately priced offering: sunset views from the beach and proximity to lots of restaurants and shops. Sandy Beach attracts mainland Malay families and assorted others, lots of families. We had a beach side "superior room," which was basic, clean, and well-cleaned ever day. No beach view. No shower stall so you flooded the bathroom with each shower. AC worked well but the very hard foam billows were sleep-defeating (for me). Lunch and dinner at the attached restaurant were excellent with many kinds of delicious grill. However the staff was perfunctory and couldn't or didn't keep up with beach and patron litter: once we came down for breakfast to tables uncleared from the night before. Breakfast offerings unappetizing. On the other hand, the associated tour agency booked us for a variety of activities at great prices with wonderful drivers and guides who couldn't have been more delightful and informed. There's wi-fi in the dining area, not the rooms. The "chalets" looked cute and had small porches. They might be a good option.

Room Tip: Definitely stay on the beach side. Get a chalet if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IrmaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I stayed here only for one night. This also caused the resort that I booked had clash booking. Due to that resort full so i have to stayed here. Aircond was not working at first. We call the reception and ask technician came to repair but unfortunately after more then one hour, then there comes the technician. The room was very big and suspicious. But spring mattress so a bit hard when sleeping on it. The bathroom was clean and the water pressure is very rate. Sinks have little impact burst that can harm people. Especially a child. Standard room is not located next to the beach. You have to walked a few minutes to reach the beach. Standard room close to the road. This is not what i'm expect. So a little bit frustrating.

Room Tip: Beach side superior / chalet is the best. Near the beach. Dont have to cross road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keihahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Don't, just don't. Unless you like going number 2 and showering at the same time with a leaky faucet and a door that's too small for the frame, don't stay here.
Also, WIFI only at the reception office and a bed that has springs that leave marks on your back.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Rolando O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Amazing beach side, and that's the only good thing about it!!! You have direct access to the beach
The rooms are not so good and breakfast is terrible....
Bathroom is not so clean and there was a lizard or something living in the bathrooms ceiling.
The food was too spicy and not so tasty

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank wajihb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

It is quite cheap because the location its not too far from the beach, five mins walking. But the breakfast doesn't taste good at all. The receptionist is kinda rude for not taking note what my friend asked, and there is not even an eye contact at all.. They do the room service every morning, and somehow disturbing me who are still sleeping at 8am.

Room Tip: Pick a resort right in front of the beach months before your actual date because it is limited and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CikRasyiqah12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
1.5 mi away
Lavigo Resort
Lavigo Resort
#32 of 104 in Langkawi
30 reviews
1.5 mi away
Federal Villa Beach Resort Langkawi
6.8 mi away
Panorama Langkawi Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Alia Residence Business Resort
0.1 mi away
Malibest Resort
Malibest Resort
#30 of 104 in Langkawi
853 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Agate Beach Resort
Royal Agate Beach Resort
#24 of 104 in Langkawi
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Resort

Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: £22 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandy Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Sandy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing