We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandy Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandy Beach Resort
Ranked #87 of 100 Hotels in Langkawi
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Terrible service from the staff in reception and restaurant. Room was dirty and noisy. Woken up staff playing radio in the corridor right outside my room. Avoid this place if you can as there much better options available.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dreamhunter2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    26
    62
    30
    62
See reviews for
35
56
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
seremban
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

1st.. I booked this resort with air asia go and fully paid.. But,very disappointed they not get the email..luckily,they still have room on that day..if not,maybe i need to find another place to stay..:-(
2nd.. I booked this resort because its look nice in the websites..but..when i was there.... I think i make a wrong choice..the area very small.. Way to room very scary.. No place for keep thing in room..no seaview..even it seaside room.. 1st night i really cant sleep.. What a terrible night..
3rd.. Not many choices for breakfast..food less taste and for the dessert it was same everyday..
Definitely not come again!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank eja87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Level Contributor
149 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We knew they did not serve beer as it was hahal as we visited it the night before. The menu attracted back us to lunch.
We both had rice and deep fried prawns with kebabs and fried egg.
The waiter was one of most surly we have met. The prawns could have been yesterday's. Egg ok
Total 40 rg...less than €10..but a waste of a good lunch!
The large bottle of water was good value at 4 rg. So disappointing!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel is placed in a good location, Just on the shores of the beach.

I would suggest, if you could afford little more, you could probably stay elsewhere.

But the rooms are not so pleasant, It is very basic one, no windows as well. Definitely not a beach view. Ofcourse, the reception is beach view. But, no internet. It is only available at the reception. And that too was not available to us, as they had some problem.
The breakfast was okay.

But, if you want a quick access to beach and you only need a room to close your eyes and sleep at a budget price. this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YuvJayk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roedermark, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

from 27 - 30 March 2014 I stayed at Sandy Beach Resort in Pangkor, Malaysia. Correct, that was 3 nights, which I had confirmed ahead of time. Nevertheless the hotel charged my credit card for 4 nights stay. When I contacted them again asking for them to return the money for the 4th night, they just didn't respond. At MYR 325 per night, wasn't the cheapest place in town, but that's not even the point. The point is they never even responded or even gave any indication they wanted to correct their mistake. Quite some business malpractice I say.
Regarding the stay: since it was a vacation week in Malaysia, the whole country seemed to have congregated on the little island. The beaches were dirty (use of rubbish bins seems to be not known) and with the ever roaring jet skis right in front of the chalet in the water, relaxation - or let alone swimming in the sea - was not possible. The last night a 40-people Indian singing group stayed at the hotel who had something like a singing contest right next to my chalet - well, needless to say, no rest for the weary. All that I would have gladly overlooked had it not been for the hotel's abuse of my credit card. If you go there - cash only, I advise you....

Room Tip: The chalets have direct access to the beach and sea view, whereas the rooms overlook the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hajo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasteras, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Pros: location

Cons:
- constantly leaking toilet and sink in bathroom
- no laundry service although they claim they do
- restaurant often closed for local private parties
- no alcohol in bar, moslim hotel
- breakfast until 10 but by 9 only toast remaining, egg and fruit eaten before that
- no toilet paper renewed
- poor wifi quality

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tveld86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

beautiful place, wonderful swimming, but not to take standard rooms are far over noisy street full of Muslims,we paid the price for superior and we got a bungalow right on the beach with great views,the meal we went to a restaurant tomatoe, excellent cuisine, the resort was uneventful breakfast

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dobraborka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.2 mi away
Easy Crystal Hotel
Easy Crystal Hotel
#55 of 100 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malibest Resort
Malibest Resort
#25 of 100 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Star Resort
Best Star Resort
#12 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Agate Beach Resort
Royal Agate Beach Resort
#24 of 100 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.6 mi away
White Lodge Motel
White Lodge Motel
#5 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#4 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Resort

Property: Sandy Beach Resort
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandy Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sandy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing