We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunset Valley Holiday Houses
Certificate of Excellence
Iver, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We recently stayed at Sunset Valley and out of all the places we stayed during out trip this was the best.

The hosts Gudrun and David were brilliant, they arranged taxis and tours for us and gave us really useful information about the island. including telling us to visit Wonderland restaurant - which was really good!

The chalet we stayed in was a good size, clean and comfortable and the grounds are beautiful. Its really well kept and all the buildings are renovated to a high standard.

Before arriving we were dubious about the location as its tucked away however once we arrived we realised it was perfect - if we were to visit again we would hire a car for our stay and use Sunset Valley as our base.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel0586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    50
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
116
110
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My husband and I spent one week with my parents over Christmas at Sunset Valley. We stayed in the Forest House and absolutely loved every minute of our stay. It was a relaxing oasis to come home to after a busy day exploring the beautiful island. Our house was clean, well-maintained, and beautifully done with comforts of home. The gardens, yard, and pool are picture perfect. David and Gudrun were the perfect hosts and such wonderful people.They gave us recommendations on great places to eat and the best things to see and do on the island. Book your stay here and you will have a fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenBeanTreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We were very much looking forward to our return here after our visit last year. After a very busy Christmas visiting family in Melbourne this was our little piece of heaven before returning home to normality.
I have mentioned all the great stuff about this place in my last visit so no need to repeat myself here.

Gudrun and David thank you for a wonderful visit again and glad the first year has been good to you both.

If you are looking to be away from all the hustle and bustle of the main tourist areas and just want a relaxing time with the glory of Malaysia around you, then this is most definitely the place to go.

Most reviews here have all the things you need to to know so read through them and get your info.

Thanks again and continued success for the future......sadly no trip back next year as the oldest has exams .............but we shall return.

Room Tip: No need David and Gudrun will put you in the right room for your family/ group size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imw3671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My Mum and I stayed in The Paddy House at Sunset Valley for 13 nights over Christmas and New Year. We loved every minute of relaxing, bird watching from our veranda, chatting to our lovely hosts Gudrun and David and sunbathing by the pool. There is lots of wildlife inside and out of the houses which we absolutely loved (especially our resident frog!). Our house was small, but had everything we needed. The supplies for sale on site were very handy (especially the cold wine!), but there are many lovely places to eat locally. You definitely need a car staying here, which our hosts advised and we were glad we had one that allowed us to explore the island. David and Gudrun are extremely friendly and helpful without being overbearing, which is the perfect balance when holidaying. This really is a beautiful place to be and I would be shocked if anyone was disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Little_Welshie1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

A little oasis in a lovely location with perfect views.
We spent 7 days here over Christmas 2013. Having checked the maps and advice we hired a car from the airport. The roads are much better than Kuala Lumpur although you have to watch out for motorbikes. They also drive on the left! The site is about 20 minutes from the airport and fairly easy to find. You enter the site via a track and gate. The site is like a small oasis and very peaceful. The gardens are kept immaculate and the traditional Malaysian houses are dotted around David and Gudrans house which is based on a typical Malaysian design. We had booked the Forest House but due to an oversight this house was double booked and the site was full. However David and Gudran accommodated us in their house for the full week moving out into the apartment downstairs.
When staying here you have to remember that there is a lot of wildlife as you are close to Gunung Raya the highest point on the island which is covered in jungle. To us it was like a dream come true! We shared the accommodation with lizards, frogs and toads, butterflies wafted through the house, We saw 2 hornbills, flying leama on site in the trees. The site is sandwiched between a rubber plantation and paddy fields. The views were glorious across the centre of the island and the paddy fields with kites and white egrets following the cattle in the paddy fields and behind up Gunung Raya and the jungle. As people previously have commented, there are 3 dogs and a cat on site. All are very friendly and roam freely. They are there for a purpose to ensure that your stay is safe and to discourage and alert the owners of unfriendly wildlife (2 and 4 legged kinds!).
In one sense the site is perfectly located for all areas of the Island being accessed by a 20 minute drive. Around the site there was no eating places that were acceptable to us. We did try supermarkets but the food were far from the usual seen in the UK and we were reluctant to buy from them especially meat. Some days we would have liked to eat in but we found ourselves travelling some distance to find a good restaurant of an evening.
We found Davis and Gudran very friendly and accommodating. This is a very peaceful oasis, a joy for the naturalist and those who want a different holiday from the stereotypical hotels.
The only consideration is the internet was down due to an area issue but when it was working it is very slow,the other the swimming pool is open so please take care if you have toddlers. .
A great place to relax and look forward to returning one day!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MW2822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Sunset valley offers a nummer of wooden houses in original malasian style. We stayed with our baby in 'the Farmers house', a large 2 person bungalow. The original wooden architecture provides a spacious and comfortable interior and, equipped with a modern bathroom and small kitchen, the farmers house was a very comfortable place to stay. We felt right at home, and so did our baby.
The resort offers a small but very nice swimming pool, with a great view over the surrounding ricefields. The owners, Gudrun and David are a very relaxed couple, that made us feel we were free to do as we pleased. They were happy to advise us on things to see and places to eat. We followed up on a number of their tips, and they paid of every time. (Thanks again)
To get around on the island we rented their motorbike. We had a great time cruising over Langkawi. The traffic is as mild as the climate.
In short: we had a great time and would book it again if we came back to Langkawi.

Room Tip: The farmers house is one of the bigger houses. The gate house for instance is smaller and doen't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teun-Atie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I ve just returned from my long journey across Asia. I saw many magnificent places and stayed at numerous hotels, but what i remember most is the fully tranquil atmosphere in Lankawi. I fell in love with beautiful Langkawi and i'm so glad i d chose Sunset Valley. This is a great place for nature lovers. My parents and me rented a car and during day time we explored the island and we were just happy to return - tired and exhausted - to the Sunset Valley.
It s situated in the centre of the island, among picturesque rice fields. All houses are genuine Malaysian traditional houses, nicely decorated and kept clean. Every detail tells you that owners try their best to create a place everybody wants to return to.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank star f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
9.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
8.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
4.0 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,341 reviews
5.9 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
1.9 mi away
The Ocean Residence Langkawi
The Ocean Residence Langkawi
#10 of 153 in Langkawi
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Valley Holiday Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Valley Holiday Houses

Property: Sunset Valley Holiday Houses
Address: Lot 2220 Jalan Makam Mahsuri | Kg Teluk, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 153 Speciality Lodging in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Valley Holiday Houses 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Valley is located in the middle of the main island of Langkawi's 99 island archipelago overlooking the beautiful rice paddies with a view to the 500 million year old geological formation and rain forest. Our resort has 6 traditional Malay houses for rent, all with inside and outside living areas, kitchen, veranda, air conditioning and western style luxury bathrooms. There is a swimming pool and pavilion with BBQ facilities in a common area. We also offer breakfast as an optional extra on request. In our little convenience store our guests can buy food and drinks for meal preparation in their own houses. This is especially convenient for late arrivals. We are happy to help and advise our guests choose the most suitable island activities for them. The most popular activities are: snorkeling or scuba diving, mangrove boat tours, luxury boat cruises, island hopping, jungle walking, kayak tours, SPA and massage treatments, and many more.Another great way to discover the island is by car or motorbike which we are happy to book for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Valley Holiday Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langkawi Holiday Houses - Sunset Valley Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing