We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ferry to Langkawi”
Review of Langkawi Ferry

Langkawi Ferry
Ranked #38 of 93 things to do in Langkawi
Attraction details
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ferry to Langkawi”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

hey what more do you want, comfortable enough, movies played each way, no big deal

we travelled in April 2014, anyone happen to know the Asian martial arts movie they played coming back? On the way over it was 47 Ronin.

when we arrived at Kuala Perlis in the hire car we were diverted by some parking guys, presumably they didn't work for the Ferry people, they said it was rm60? for 4 nights to park, they took me to a park and walked me back to the terminal, I thought maybe I was ripped off but I checked with the terminal and their parking was exactly the same price. Ran into the same guy coming home [funny that] and he walked me to my car and checked my ticket, asked for a tip, no big deal they were pretty helpful. the town stunk of fish....:)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank bucknaked007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    124
    149
    47
    64
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Langkawi Ferry”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I travelled on this ferry in March 2014 and I will never repeat the experience. It was dreadful. Cramped accommodation - seats 4 on each side - filthy toilets, and more akin to a sardine can than a ferry. Personally,I would advise anyone to fly to Langkawi from Penang. Much safer, if less pretty.

When you arrive in Langkawi from Penang you run a gauntlet of bogus taxi drivers touting for business. Taxi rank is outside the terminal building.

The same thing happens when you arrive back in Penang. Even the official taxi drivers hike their prices. Pre-book your taxi if possible. Best way to avoid being ripped off.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Mairi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Car rent”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Here is the first stop on langkawi island. .best thing to do the minute you arrive is to rent a car on the spot..lots of choices and a chance for a good bargain

Helpful?
4 Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What's all the fuss about?”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

It's basically a ferry that takes you from A to B. You don't see anything because its not taking you to see anything? It's just simply a 3 hour ferry from one island to another at very good value. You don't get the ferry to France and complain you didn't see anything? And you wouldn't get it for RM65 either. Yes it's air conned. Take a jumper. Then you have the option to put it on/remove it as you like. Personally it was a welcome splash of cool amongst the arid heat we experienced in penang and now in langkawi.

Helpful?
9 Thank AlexCoetzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“River Boat”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We rented private boat for $116 and had nobody talking loudly or shouting. Private boat is expensive but for one hour you are the master of the boat, it takes you cave where are zillion bates sleeping, not to fear. But don't waste time with too much guide about history of plants etc. Spend more in boat and sea eagles and mangrove trees.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Khan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Langkawi Ferry also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Langkawi Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing