We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant food and relaxing atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pia's The Padi

Pia's The Padi
Ranked #4 of 422 Restaurants in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Malaysian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 13 Years old of this restaurant, moved out from pantai ceneng to Ulu melaka, just 7 minuets drive from airport and 6 minuets drive from four season resort or Tanjung rhu resort, we provide pick up and drop on your request.Beautiful Panoramic view, lavish valley and real sun set,peaceful dining experience in middle of real paddy fields.Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, specialty and recommended by chef jimmy, group booking up to 200 people. COOKING LESSON FROM 10am to 12 noon
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant food and relaxing atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Definitely worth finding, we had a fantastic meal and drinks overlooking the rice padi's. Saw the sign on the road while travelling around the island and thought we would stop. Extremely happy we did, best Beef Rendang and curries we've had. When we were thinking about a spinach curry and then decided against it as we had tried a couple recently already, Jimmy took it as a challenge and made us his version. It was beautiful and by far the best. Great place, highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BenSU748PE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    96
    27
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A relaxing lunch amidst lush padi fields”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We almost missed the turning into the tiny lane leading to Pia's the Padi but saw the signpost just in time. Driving down from Tanjong Rhu to Ulu Melaka about 5-10 min after the Gunung Raya turning, the turning to the restaurant is on the right side of the road.

On this weekday during the off-peak season, we were the only guests in the restaurant and Jimmy simply decided what dishes to cook for us after checking with us whether we had any dietary preferences (no... not really...) and how much spice the adults would like (we indicated a spice rating of 3 out of a 10 point scale). The next 20 minutes or so was spent soaking in the surroundings while waiting for the food which turned out to be: beef rendang, fish curry (a creamy kind of masala), butter chicken and vegetables, all accompanied by a generous serving of rice and crackers which my two girls (6 and 8) devoured. The food was well-done and reminded me of the curries I had in the UK. We rounded up the meal with a mango Lassi and the home-made chocolate cake and ice-cream (total cost approx. RM180). Overall, a most memorable and enjoyable meal. Those with children may want to bring insect repellent considering the location.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PMah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Food, Clean, Relaxing, and the most friendly resturant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

we read great reviews about it, so we decided to try it. It was the best meal we had, Jimmy and his family welcomed us, and looked after us so well that we came back the next night. it was a shame that was our last night, but will definitely will come back again. So a big thank you to all of you who reviewed the restaurant it was a great help.
Jimmy and Pia thank you and your lovely family for looking after us, your food Jimmy is so yummy and we were so glad that we left it to you to choose it for us.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 123nadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uki, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Indian food in lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Best Indian food I have tasted anywhere with a friendly informed chef,Jimmy.
Hard to find but worth the trip out there and very reasonable prices.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Relaxing outlook”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We had read lots of positive reviews about jimmy and his restaurant, after finally finding it (small sign and off the road) we were very happy to be greeted by jimmy and enjoyed a beautiful lunch over looking the rice paddy. The beef rendang and seafood masala were both sensational! Definitely recommend!

Helpful?
1 Thank YippeeAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pia's The Padi also viewed

Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Pia's The Padi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing