We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An impeccable experience”
Review of The Cabin Langkawi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Langkawi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cabin Langkawi
Ranked #29 of 145 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An impeccable experience”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Just came back from Langkawi after more than 10 years of absence, and me mates and I stayed at The Cabin. In summary, it was a really great place to bunk in, with no complains to speak of. As mentioned in prior reviews, the room we had had an Ikea-ish / simple designer feel to it. Comfortable, clean and even has an LCD TV with cable channels. What we liked was the mere fact it is conveniently located close to the airport (Pantai Cenang), and allows easy access to amenities such as cafes, massage parlors and duty free shops.

The only thing you may want to take note of is that since the cabins are constructed of what appears to be zinc / roof awnings, on a hot day, the room will feel severely heated. So take care to turn the air conditioner at full power, leave the room for a couple minutes, and it should be alright by then.

In summary, The Cabin is a lodge that offers reasonable comfort for a reasonable asking price. Nothing more, nothing less. Will consider returning again on my next trip.

PROS:

-clean and comfortable rooms
-located strategically near the airport and lots of amenities (no surprises since it's smack in the middle of a tourist hot spot)
-located just a few minutes walk away from Cenang beach

CONS:

-a spartan establishment with just the bare necessities (but no surprises for the asking price)
-gets massively hot due to the material used to construct the rooms, unless you leave the AC on all the time

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob_Chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    57
    27
    15
    13
See reviews for
25
53
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Selangor, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We are frm Tmn Melawati. Just came back frm The Cabin. We stayed there fr only one night but it was fun! My chaildren can play without worried. The room was so neat n tidy. The toilet too. When we reached Langkawi the travelling was tired but once we reached The Cabin everything cool n very relaxing. One day fr us is not enough but we got to continue our holiday. But we will come back soon!!!!!!!! Frm Laila n family.

Room Tip: Very near to shops n find food easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lailaNfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

WE enjoyed our stay at the Cabin although there was a problem with our air conditioning during the first night. However, this was quickly resolved by the resort staff and the second night was much better. Rooms have satellite tv and wifi (something that the 5 star hotels still insist on you paying for). Well located to walk to all the major attractions in Pantai Cenang.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as it is away from the road and you will avoid the noise. If travelling i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Hi, we have just come back from Langkawi for a mini honeymoon ;). We stayed at The Cabin for 5 days and four nights and tell you what, we have had the most amazing stay in Chenang. The Cabin is simple yet ample and full of fun. The room is neat and tidy and very modern contemporary. The only setback is that the room did not have a full wardrobe to store your stuffs and luggage yet you will manage perfectly. One of the most positive note was that the staffs are very helpful and freindly. Look for Ida, she the nicest!. They room will be kept clean and the bed and pillowsheets are changed on daily basis. Theres a small fridge and the aircond's temperature can be adjusted manually from your room. The TV channels are limited but you may want to bring your astro card along (whether this is possible im not so sure) since the decoder is inside your room. The Cabin is located at the Chenang hot spots, the night walk, the markets, the eateries, the attractions just within walking distance. The beach is located nearby and accessing the same is just a breeze. The room is pretty simple with Ikea furnitures but suits your needs perfectly. You can get the connecting rooms and king size bed if you are coming with buddies or big family. The best part is that The Cabin only charge you RM150 per night on any days, peak holidays, weekends etc the rate will be the same. Make early reservation and enjoy your stay! Cheers! ;)

Room Tip: The staff, Ida, is really helpfull and friendly. A small barrier of language tho.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cooldott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We travelled as a family of 4. The room was just nice to accomodate all of us with an additional mattress. Comes with air conditioning, hot water shower and kettle. If you're looking for a basic place to sleep, comfortable beds, hot water shower and nearby to shops and restaurants, this is the place. Has cable TV as well although the channels are limited - but who'd be staying indoors when in Langkawi?

Each room has a verandah where you can also hang out your wet clothes. Has WiFi connectivity. They don't have safe deposit boxes, so do be careful of your valuables. Bedsheets and towels are replaced everyday.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MazBakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2011

The receptionist was very helpful and the room is very clean. However, the bathroom can be better and cleaner. I hope they can renovate it in the future.

Other than that, everything is excellent. Especially the location, right on the cenang beach.

Will go stay there again if I travel to langkawi in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fai933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

The room was clean but EXTREMELY small, it is bare-bone basic, for the same price 150rg/50us, we found an older hotel, possible name "Aseana", it is big and pink in color, it is approximately 5min walking toward the direction of the Underwater World, opposite from the aiport, for the same price, the room is 3 times bigger and comes with a buffet breakfast, can't beat that.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jttf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.0 mi away
Langkawi Dormitorio
Langkawi Dormitorio
#2 of 35 in Pantai Cenang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tubotel
Tubotel
#8 of 145 in Langkawi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
#1 of 23 in Pantai Cenang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Fina Fine Homes
Casa Fina Fine Homes
#18 of 145 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langgura Baron Resort
Langgura Baron Resort
#87 of 145 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Cottage Langkawi
The Cottage Langkawi
#6 of 35 in Pantai Cenang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cabin Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cabin Langkawi

Property: The Cabin Langkawi
Address: Jalan Pantai Chenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
The Cabin Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing