We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wont be staying again...”
Review of The Cabin Langkawi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cabin Langkawi
Ranked #28 of 162 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The best thing is the location. Rooms are ok, but ageing-holes in the floor, shabby blankets. Clean though.

The problems:

1. On arrival, no-one in reception at 7pm. Forced to wait 30 mins in the driving rain as the two attendants decided to go to McDonald's together, rather than one stay put. No response on the emergency phone number.

2. Worse than this, a party of about 10 people were staying in the room next door. They were up all night and played loud music from 3-7am. When confronted they didnt care. They looked like long stayers, there were empty alcohol bottles everywhere, so management must know. No overnight staff to deal with these problems.

Cheap, yes, but I'd pay a little more and get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LA8818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2013

This hotel may have been very nice when it started up a few years ago. The problem is the complete lack of maintenance. Our room had holes in the walls and holes in the floor. Because of a backfall on the showerfloor, all the water poured out into the room with rotting floors as a consequense. It felt like the room had been cleaned by a five year old and the bed blanket had stains on it and smelled funny. The noise from the street was disturbing. We had booked 6 nights here. We left after one night and will never come back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quanten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

The cabins is in a great position. Right on the Main Street of pantai cenang. Close to the beach. Great value for money, inexpensive. Don't expect any frills or additional extras. It is what it is. As you won't be spending much time in your room it is perfect. I would recommend staying here if you are low maintenance travelers.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ExpatNZers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and would have stayed longer if they had accomadation for us. The rooms are very spacious and bedding comfortable. Bar fridge in rooms and gas hot water in bathroom which heats up straight away. Nice staff and very helpful. Not to far to the beach, just a couple of minutes walk. We hired scooter bikes and travelled around the island. It's a must

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robandray59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Bungalows are well-equiped, big and CLEAN. Close to the beach! The stuff are friendly and helpful. The rooms have WiFi although the signal is poor sometimes. Overall a good place to stay at a reasonable price!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boryana_Trifonova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Room - bed is great, ample space to move around n to put your bags, shopping bag, clean..toilet big enough..internet us slow like a snail.
A very big problem with mosquito..there are alot of them..make sure u ask the receptionist for extra mosquito repellant, it will be next to the tv..replace it everyday like i did n it would be abit bearable, they change the towel everyday.
Location - not exactly infront of the beach, location is in the middle of cenang, quite happening.
Food tip- for cheap nice malay seafood,go to restaurant asiah few minutes of walking frm the cabin, directly beside the beach.
Orkid ria is overprice, but the food is great..
No point in going to kuah town for chocolate, do your shopping at the shop beside underwater world..not much price different, please do a proper mangrove tour with a guide very nice experience.

You pay the extra to get daily towel, quite big room, astro with good tv, a small fridge to put chocolate, juice..i think the hotel is value for money..just be prepared to wage war with the mosquitoes..

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KapishKebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

The hotel is located right by the Cenang Beach (no, its not a beachfront hotel, but separated from the beach by another property). Cenang Beach is accesible within 2 mins walk.
The Zon (duty free shopping), many eateries & drinking places including Cenang Mall are all within walking distance.

The room itself is a self contained 20ft shipping container. It isn't roomy but not tiny and sufficient for 2 persons. A friend of mine managed to cramp up to 6 persons into that 1 container for 3 days & 2 nights.

The room is well kept and clean and the items are functioning - hot shower (with good water pressure), TV with limited satelite channel, refrigerator, water kettles with cups and air conditioner. It is a functional room as 2 racks are provided for hanging towels/clothes (its an island, lots of clothes need to be dried) in the room including clothes hanger. No cupboard/cabinet though.

We liked that it has a little balcony/verandah right outside of the room with a small table and 2 chairs where people can hang out for a drink/chat. Even a railing is provided for you to hang your towels/bathing suits for drying!!!

The staffs are very friendly and helpful.
There is a nice and well kept garden where the cabins are located and a bunch of us sat outside on the garden chair to drink and chat late into the night. The staffs came out and gave us mosquito repellant coils. When we told them we don't have any lighter to light the coils up, they went and look for one.
The next day, a friend of ours wanted to have cup noodles and since we have checked out, she asked for hot water from the reception. The receptionist boiled the water for her to use. Talk about good services.
Luggage can be stored in the reception area.

It did rain while we were there and thankfully no water dripping into our containers nor was it loud. It wasn't a very heavy rain to be fair.

RM150 is not very cheap for Malaysia standard however it is a fair value considering the rates in Langkawi during peak period.

The cabin is about 10mins away by car from the airport, and about 20 - 30mins by car to Kuah Town/Jetty.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TinTinTin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Fina Fine Homes
Casa Fina Fine Homes
#20 of 162 in Langkawi
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
#2 of 25 in Pantai Cenang
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Lodge Motel
White Lodge Motel
#5 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Langkawi Dormitorio
Langkawi Dormitorio
#2 of 43 in Pantai Cenang
87 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Pari-Pari Langkawi
La Pari-Pari Langkawi
#1 of 7 in Pantai Tengah
422 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tubotel
Tubotel
#8 of 162 in Langkawi
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cabin Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cabin Langkawi

Address: Jalan Pantai Chenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range: £28 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cabin Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cabin Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing