We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, relaxed, friendly but not much going on.”
Review of Senari Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Senari Bay Resort
Ranked #15 of 159 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Stayed for one night and the staff were lovey and sweet. Only charging half the fee for renting a motorbike. The price was reasonable but the private beach was littered with rubbish and dangerous rusty metal beams. The location is lovely, down off the road, about 20 min walk from the main area of shops, restaurants and chenang beach. Located beside a pretty lagoon and an inlet of local fishing boats though it didn't seem possible to enjoy the lagoon, eat or drink or do much else. The room was basic but large with a good shower and airconditiong, a really hard bed but god for the price. Effort was clearly going into keeping the grounds clean and tidy, it's just a shame that the beach area was so neglected.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Senari Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed in this accommodation for 2 days. This private complex consists out of 12 rooms. The place has a private beach and everything is very well maintained. As we understood the owner and his wife have built the place themselves out of recycled matierail. Very impressive to hear about that. The rooms are basic but fit our needs. They even had airconditioning and were very clean. It is true that the bed sleeps like a rock but... we survived the 2 days. Upon arrival they arranged scooters for us which was a great way to explore the island. Breakfast possibilities within a few kilometres, on our scooter it took us some 5 minutes to get to a busy area full of restaurants and shops. Very nice! If you like privacy but with all amenities within walking or scooter distance then this is the place to be. They even have free WIFI.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happyhollllliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Very clean and quiet place.
The owners were very friendly and helpful - I rented a scooter from them for the duration of my stay and they didn't even ask for a license/ID!
The place is out of the main township - it's walking distance (albeit a decent walk) if walking down the beach, but a bit dark if walking back that way. Which didn't phase me as a guy, and I felt safe the whole time there, but might not feel the same if you're a single girl.
It's a bit far to walk following the main road, hence the scooter, which is the ideal way to travel - cheap and easy. Drivers in Langkawi are in general very considerate and quite slow, so riding a scoot is easy and pretty safe, and a good way to see the town and country. Watch out for the bugs though - at 80km/h and no windscreen they hit with quite a splat!
When I stayed the place was mostly empty so felt like i had it nearly to myself. Ideal for reading a book and relaxing.. it might be too quiet for those wanting to meet lots of people or socialise a lot, but it's easy enough to go into town to one of the friendly bars if you want to socialise.
Several of the people staying there were doing the yoga retreat with Mark and Meg Foong (as I was), which meant they were very relaxed and down to earth types.

All up, a highly recommended spot.. if/when I get back to Langkawi, I'd go back for sure.

One thing - I arrived Friday night and there wasn't much available by way of food close by, so i ate at the local stall across the road which was OK (genuine and cheap). Next time I'd just walk the beach to one of the restaurants in the Langkawi township and get a taxi back, but that's not evident at night when you've just arrived.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

The owner and his family are flawless, Mangsor is a legend. Sooo accommodating. When i go back to Langkawi I will definitely be staying here aging. A little far out from town but it's a blessing.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pipped_up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

This is a place we want to come back to!!
Very nice rooms and bathrooms and sparkling clean! Quiet surroundings and a nice view of the ocean form the porch outside the rooms.

The owners are so welcoming, helpful and caring, so the contrast from touristy Thailand was immense!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank haarstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Mangsor, his wife and his staff went out of their way to make our holiday very enjoyable starting from the complimentary pick up from the airport, to being taken out to lunch on our last day to our complimentary drop off back to the airport.

You can watch the sunset from the private beach and are very close to all Langkawi attractions.

The one and only downfall was the bed which was quite literally like sleeping on a rock. but still well worth staying regardless.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LauraRay69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

I have in the main to agree with the other reviews, particularly as to the friendliness of the owner.

However one needs to be aware that a new restaurant has just opened adjacent to the site and plays load music, OK not constantly, but at times during both the day and evening. It remains to be seen if this will continue as it had only just opened when we arrived and looked very short of trade! Even so clearly location is immeasurably quieter than Cenang Beach but some of the tranquillity others mention has currently disappeared.

On this subject if quiet is your thing you might just be surprised that other reviews do not mention just how close the site is to the Airport and flight path, although personally this did not distract me at all from this peaceful and restful place. I also thought the cost was just a little high compared to Langkawi accommodation prices.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.7 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
9.0 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
5.1 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
1.4 mi away
White Lodge Motel
White Lodge Motel
#6 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senari Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senari Bay Resort

Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang | Mk. Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range: £26 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Senari Bay Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Senari Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senari Bay Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing