We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget accommodation with lots of heart!”
Review of Senari Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Senari Bay Resort
Ranked #15 of 145 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Budget accommodation with lots of heart!”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I stayed here in August for a week as part of a 1 week Yoga retreat. The rooms were perfectly adequate and really spacious. The family are just lovely and very welcoming and will answer any questions you have. I found the setting lovely and took the opportunity to watch lots of sunsets. Like others on here I enjoyed being away from the major strip ($3 in a cab) There is a hotel a 3 min walk away that serves food (as these guys don't)

The only room for improvements is the beach (which I'm told there is a master plan for!) its looks so very inviting but while I was there, there was lots of rubbish which meant you couldn't swim - but I just packed my stuff and headed to the main beach, so it wasn't a "biggy" and the outside loungers look comfortable but I didn't find them to be! The Hammocks look very tempting but are a little tired. Apart from that I think it's the best budget accommodation I have ever stayed in!!

Would I go back - absolutely!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetraMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    61
    15
    2
    6
See reviews for
20
73
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We went here back in May this year for a 4 night stay. We were collected from the airport by the owner, which we thought was brilliant. The rooms had everything we needed and had the charm that is often lacking in chain hotels. The hospitality was also amazing, anything we needed, from washing to hairdryers and day trips was taken care of by the owners. Senari Bay is walkable to the main resort of Pantai Cenang where you can find lots of bars and restaurants and a lovely beach. My only advice would be to take a torch for the walk home. Or you can jump in many of the cheap taxis available nearby. Really enjoyed my stay here and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Els403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

It was a last minute plan and we didn’t want to splurge a lot so chose to stay at Senari bay resort for few nights. We didn’t go with a lot of expectation because mostly the budget places are mediocre in terms of their location and hospitality, but we were happily surprised when we reached the beautiful location of this resort! It is a lovely family run place mostly managed by the mother and daughter who are very cordial and nice people to interact with. The place is on the Senari beach and is a budget resort so things like swimming pool and good food should not be expected from it, considering the rock bottom price for such a great location which you will be paying. There is a free wifi given. The rooms are good and well kept with most of the modern amenities.

Positive –
1) Location - Away from the madness of the over touristy Pantai Cenang (some 20-30 min on foot) but the same can be easily approached by the motorbike which is given at a real good rate at this resort
2) On the beach property and due to the size of the bay there is only Senari bay resort thus the beach seems like your private one.
3) Lovely view of the sea and beach from the rooms
4) Quite and homely stay with warm hospitality

I would definitely recommend this place and would love to stay there again whenever I am in Langkawi next!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shuchi_srivastava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed with a group of 5 in two rooms for 3 nights.

+ Rooms were quite spacious, you can rent motorbikes through the resort (which I highly recommend as it is a bit far to walk to the nearest restaurants).
+ Pick-up service from the airport.
+ They only charged 3 days for the motorbike (RM 30/ day) even though we used them 3,5 days.
Maybe they did because we complaint that the rooms have not been cleaned.
+ Room rates are reasonable, they did not charge for the extra mattress

- We wonder why the rooms have not been cleaned and thought this service is just not included. Afterwards the staff told us that they only clean the room, exchange towels and provide new toilet paper if you ask them to do.
I expect a hotel to clean the rooms every day or at least to inform upon check in that cleaning is only upon request.
However the staff expect you to know by reading reviews before you stay there.
We advised them to better inform the guests beforehand but instead of taking this as an advise in order to improve service they repeated that all guests before always new they had to ask for cleaning or asked them on the next day. Pretty poor!

- We had two rooms, fridge was not working in one room.

- The bay at the hotel is not for swimming.
So the hotel is just nice to spend the night there (no breakfast is provided). It is reasonable priced though.
If you do not have your own transportation rather stay at a hotel in the centre.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jufu007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

If you're on a tight budget but want to enjoy a tranquil, relaxing sea-side experience at a gorgeously-landscaped resort, you'll want to visit the Senari Bay Resort. The hotel offers no-frills, basic budget accomodation: no swimming pool, no room service, no beach bar - you get the idea. But what it does offer: immaculately clean and spacious rooms with hot water and free wifi. Wonderful family warmth, thoughtful service and kind hospitality. Traditional chalets in a beautiful, lovely and intimately-quiet environment with swaying palms, scenic ocean and bay views.

Yes it's a tad far from the touristy Pantai Cenang area: about 20 minutes on foot to get to the far end of Pantai Cenang, but you can rent a motorbike or car and there's ample free parking space on the resort grounds. My only peeve about this place was the bed: it was literally as hard as wooden plank. But all in all, I loved my stay at the Senari Bay Resort - I felt like I was completely in a different world even though the crowded beaches of Pantai Cenang were just minutes away, and for the significantly lower price of accomodation (versus average resort prices in Langkawi) was real value-for-money in exchange for a wonderfully relaxing experience. You'd pay more to get crammed, dirty rooms with no hot water and non-existent service at majority of the budget hotels along Pantai Cenang!!

More photos and details about this hidden gem of a hideaway on my blog: http://thechubbybunny.weebly.com/1/post/2012/07/lovely-hidden-little-beach-sanctuary-at-unbeatable-prices-senari-bay-resort-langkawi.html

Room Tip: While the hotel grounds are really lovely and beautiful, the bed is quite literally as hard as a woo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hellochubbybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Senari Bay is quiet, away from the 'madness' of the overcrowded, over-hotelled, over-parachuted, over-bananaboated, over jetskied, beaches. Those things are only a 10 minute walk away if you want them, if you want to do shopping, or get a meal. The small cafe/eatery just 2 minutes away does just as good food though, and is even cheaper.
The family goes out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
One day we had found some coconuts on our walk back to the resort, but we were told those were no good for eating/drinking. Fancy when the next morning we woke up to find a tray with 4 freshly chopped coconuts waiting on a tray on our doorstep, straws sticking out :) !

The only drawback is the beach, which is not much of a swimming beach and with the row of concrete pillars with rusty wires sticking out, quite plainly unattractive. The beach can also be quite littered, but this may have been because of the season, direction of the wind, etc.
This eyesore, in total contrast to the rest of the resort, takes away a little bit (but not much!) of the experience. And, in my humble view, it could be fixed/landscaped quite easily and result in a truly magnificent beach-front. Just cutting off the pillars to the same level (no more wires sticking out); a bit of concrete over the top and the front; some paint and some decorative lights; a few sculpted steps leading down to the beach; and a daily (morning) clean-up of any rubbish that may have washed ashore, and this place would rate with the best on the island.
I would have given 5 stars (and more if I could) if the beach was like I have in mind it could be....

Needless to say: the rooms are comfortable, CLEAN, airconed, good shower/bath/toilet.
And, if there is anything you can think of to make life even better, just ask any of the family members and they will do anything within their power to get you sorted.

Last but not least, the only other places you will find for the same (or similar) price, are in the middle of the bussy bussy places, with rooms up on the x-th floor and/or not beach-front at all.

Senari Bay is highly recommended. Would definitely go back there if I'm back at Langkawi :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

senari bay hotel has been build up from scratch by the owner. Very lovely small family run resort. The location is just super, we loved the privacy. We rented a motorbike at the resort, in 2 min you can drive to the busy Cenang beach. The people running this place are super! The rooms were very clean and the garden well maintained

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michaelvdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.7 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
9.0 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
0.5 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
1.8 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
#1 of 23 in Pantai Cenang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Senari Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senari Bay Resort

Property: Senari Bay Resort
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang | Mk. Kedawang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Senari Bay Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Senari Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Senari Bay Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing