We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great to see it back”

Champor-Champor Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Malaysian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great to see it back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

1st visited this place 13 years ago when it was across the road and a few times since, disappointed not to find it 18 months ago but delighted this time around to find it open again, Uma and co have a great menu and food, really good atmosphere although fairly quiet but it is low season. Uma invited us to stay after our meal for a few drinks which is great hospitality, will be back for sure next time in Langkawi.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rich14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    41
    19
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maida Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is the best restaurant I have enjoyed in Langkawi. The food is simple but so amazing. We ate here 3 times in our 10 day visit. I had the noodles twice and the mutton curry once, my husband had fish curry, and 2 different chicken curries but the favourites were the pumpkin and lemongrass soup and the parfait. It was like no parfait I have had, a small serve which was all you could possibly eat as it is rich but delicious. A MUST try for every visitor to langkawi who enjoys fantastic food served by lovely staff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tresna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“watch out there is a serious new contender”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Wow, wandering along the pentai cenang strip one night in search of something to eat, Champor Champor was quiet with just a couple of tables taken with couples, well presented with plenty of fans, no airconditioning, but cool enough for us.The menus for starters where clean... good start as so often in parts of Malayasia and Asia its never a good start when you are handed a grubby menu. The restaurant name means , Mix, Mix... and thats what you get a great fusion of different dishes, something for everyone out of our group of 4. The food was well presented comparable to that of 4 or 5 star establishments that I have eaten at on Langkawi, they were good sized servings, and like everything the proof is in the taste and freshness, dont take my word for it, go on, check Champor Champor out for yourself, you will not be disappointed. Our group of 4 had a variety of dishes including entrée, s mains andd deserts, all of us raved about each dish.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bartonhperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HÖNÖ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

It its you before you even enter the restaurant, the rthtm from the music inside makes me want to do a little dance. As you enter you can feel a serenity and you feel like sitting outside and not inside with the flowers.Guests from many countries have been here and some donated their flags and it makes it colorful with a global meaning.
The food is special and you can certainly feel it is cooked with alot of passion and love. Try Umas famous chicken and don¨t forget the sate for an apetizer!
Hang out with Theo in the bar after you finished eating and just enjoy this friendly and very welcoming place. The best place I have eaten in Langkawi!
Don¨t do as many does and go here the last night, go here the first night and you will want to come all the other nights of your vacation too!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ulliplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Umas chicken curry the bomb”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We happened on this place while stumbling along the footpath. cuisine is Thai and Indian. The dishes are sublime with incredible aromatic spices - unique for each dish we ordered. I can't go past Umas chicken curry and the Thai dory was also superb

Only strange thing given the cuisine was the Latin music - but what the heck it was great anyway

Don't go to casang beach without a visit

Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Champor-Champor Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Pantai Cenang, Langkawi
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing