We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's a pity...very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Temple Tree at Bon Ton
Ranked #6 of 163 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I was very excited to have booked this amazing place see on the website and after read the comments...but..I immagined a fairy place....and...
I have to confess that the location is very unique,the room are very well decorated,the reception,the restaurant,the swimming pool is very relaxing an pacefull,but for the price we paid I expected more attention to the details and more care about the guest.
room n.4.:the floor was dirty,also the towels (they were very super-used).
the breakfast was very poor and no practical (there's no tablecloth)so the table became dirty with no possibility to clean,it was difficult to prepare a coffee.
concerning the staff someone was kind someone was bizarre.we asked to have a drop off to pantai cenangh((about 25 min by foot) and even if was included in the hotel services they aswer that they could call a taxi.
when we stay in the swimming pool none take care of us bringing something under the sun(just once 1 glass of water whit ice)
anyway the beach is very far,there's no acces to.and to move you have asbolutely to rent a motocycle or car.
my general conclusion is...I don't know...the place is beautiful but you have to consider every options or what do you need for your vacation...it's up to you...I was very disappointed....it's a pity because the resort can be the best in langkawi

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinnychan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 354 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2011

The Temple Tree was amazing! From the food, to the accommodation and staff - it made our stay in Langkawi so pleasurable. Thanks to Jason who was so helpful and also the rest of the attentive and polite staff.

This is a perfect place to getaway and have some private time away from it all. It's quiet, unassuming and peaceful. Our room was simple, clean and smelled so fresh after they cleaned it.

We had a late flight on a sunday night at 10.40pm. The one thing that blew us away was how cool the staff was about a late checkout. They told us we could check out at 9PM! I've stayed in hotels and resorts across the world and have never been given this late a checkout without being charged for it!

Room Tip: We loved our room in Colonial 2 - It had a queen bed, a dining table, 2 chairs, a flat screen TV, dv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Our last-day cruise in Langkawi was cancelled due to bad weather, so we decided to splurge on accommodation for our last night. A friend suggested Bon Ton. We arrived via scooter very wet and bedraggled. Found the two ladies on duty at Bon Ton to be a bit "snooty", so we were relieved to be told that Bon Ton was full, and were referred to Temple Tree, the sister property next door. What a fantastic place this is, and we had a genuinely friendly welcome. Relocated traditional Malay Houses, and villas built in Malay/Colonial style. Huge rooms with everything you could ask for, and such a luxurious calming environment. The bar and restaurant staff were very attentive and helpful (special thanks to Lee). Enjoyed a game of pool at the reception/restaurant/guest lounge area. Can't fault Temple Tree - except that we could only stay one night. We'll be back, and for much longer next time! Superb, the nicest place we've ever stayed.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorrainePAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Having read all of the very good to excellent reviews and having never been to Langkawi. I thought i would take my chances. The experience was outstanding. So much so i barely left to look around the island! Service throughout was excellent, room was spacious and nicely decorated, gorgeous views... oh and compliments to the chef! Ate delicious and well cooked dinners every night of my stay. Really well done all around and can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajhlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The Temple tree is really an outstanding place! The owner has brought together authentic traditional houses from different places in Malaysia and has renovated them with a mix of modern and traditional furniture with an exquisite taste! Be informed that there are many cats hanging around the houses so it is better if you like them...Staying at Temple Tree is the best choice for a trip to Langkawi!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mclo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

This resort would have to be one of the most perfect and wondrous places we have ever stayed. The Chinese House, which was our home for 4 nights, was dismantled in its original location in Batu Pahat, Johor, moved to Langkawi, and reassembled by Narelle and her team who have been running Bon Ton Resort for nearly 20 years. Of all the houses at Temple Tree, it was relocated from the furthest distance, and was originally a farmhouse built approximately 100 years ago. We were lodged upstairs in ‘Chinese 2’ with exceptional views of the pool, the marshlands beyond with their water buffalos, and the mist covered mountains in the distance. The food at Bon Ton and Temple Tree was DEFINITELY something to write home about – inventive, exciting and so very, very tasty – each dish flirting with the many culinary influences of Malaysia. Absolutely loved every moment of our stay.

Needless to say we ate many, many meals and indulged in much, much relaxation – BLISS! Of all the meals we ate (sharing ourselves between the Straits Club and Nam Restaurant at Bon Ton, 2 minutes walk from Temple Tree), a particularly memorable dish was the Seafood platter at Nam – grilled rock lobster with chermoula butter, snapper fillet, peppered prawns and calamari with lemon harissa aioli. Perfect! For the true vegetarians, other hits included: vegetable platter of yellow rice, chermoula, spinach, herb yoghurt, eggplant with tomato jam, green beans with chermoula and harissa dressing, tomato sambal, mango and cashew nut salad and roast pumpkin; and a favourite was pepper leaf green salad with roasted cherry tomatoes, avocado, pine nuts with soy and lime dressing. And this list of delights appears endless. Oh, I forgot to mention the joy of the ginger and lemongrass ice cream – divine!

To be honest, apart from a walk into town and another to the jetty, our time at Temple Tree was pretty much spent by the pool, having drinks and snacks brought to us by incredibly intuitive staff who catered to every whim, and on the sweeping verandah of the Chinese House watching the storms approaching from afar. It was one of the most relaxing and peaceful holidays in memory, and we would not hesitate to return – the sooner the better!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bontaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the original Bon Ton (next door to Temple Tree) in June 2010 and it was so amazing, I can't believe I forgot to add a review straight away!

Langkawi is a pretty island off the west coast of penisular Malaysia but It has to be said that it is also a bit touristy, tacky these day. Not so, the delightful Bon Ton resort, which consists of a pretty garden adjacent to bulrush and lotus packed marshes which eventually give onto the sea. The feel is rural rather than beachside. Its claim to fame is that each of the seven guest rooms scattered around the garden are old Malaysian timber houses saved from ruin on the mainland and lovingly restored. Raised on wooden stilts, with thatched roof, timber shutters and beautifully crafted fretwork, the structures may be traditional, but the interiors are contemporary classic, and would grace the pages of a glossy magazine. We even have a bath made from teak on our private terrace.

A long, thin, rectangular blue swimming pool – its chlorine-free water the perfect temperature for lazy laps – forms a centrepiece to the garden, with enough teak loungers shaded by white parasols for every guest, and attentive waiters on tap with chilled water and refreshing fruit. Bon Ton also has the best restaurant on the island – serving the best mashed potato in the world. You don’t have to take my word there are restaurant reviews to prove it. With all this on hand, who needs to venture out to the touristy part of the island?

Some of the hotels’ profits support a dog and a cat sanctuary. The dogs are in kennels somewhere but there are a dozen or more lucky rescue cats wandering round the grounds thinking "this is the life". If you don't like cats, that's something to bear in mind, but as I have two of my own, we were more than happy to watch the sun go down, sip a cocktail and be entertained by the resident cats chasing lizards up trees.

Room Tip: All the rooms are individual and fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aplondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,330 reviews
9 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#9 of 107 in Langkawi
1,413 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
2.1 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Tree at Bon Ton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Tree at Bon Ton

Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range: £68 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Tree at Bon Ton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though classified as B&B/Inn, Temple Tree is actually more of a boutique resort of many cultures, an eclectic mix of heritage chic...Antique buildings of Chinese, Malay, Indian and Eurasian origin, make up this 8 villa hotel, with 8 rooms & 6 suites now open. Each building has, over its 70-110 year old history, created its own heart and soul. Hopefully we have given due respect to each of these family homes with the restoration process. These houses are now the continuing the story of people who live in them, our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Temple Tree at Bon Ton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Tree At Bon Ton Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing