We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms, so authentic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Temple Tree at Bon Ton
Ranked #6 of 150 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms, so authentic”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is a really unusual hotel, with amazing traditional chinese houses as accomodation. Everything was perfect for us and the dining was also a superlative experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigfannypack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    112
    26
    6
    12
See reviews for
102
246
30
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This place is so unique. I have just returned from holiday and spent four nights here, how luck was I!!! Its a collection of colonial style buildings refurbished with so much detail and style. This is unusual for Langkawi which i didn't like as an island so much but would recommend going just to stay here and at there other property Bon Ton which i also stayed at. Just perfect! The photos don't give it any justice it has to been seen!!! The only downside is the food at temple tree is not so good but lucky for them they have Bon Ton next where the food is exceptional.
If you are going to Langkawi there is only one option!!!!!

Room Tip: The estate house rooms are great value, a real find!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDGCHEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langkawi, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Another year of our now annual visit to Temple Tree and yet again the whole exceeds the sum of the parts and our time relaxing either by the pool, the Straits or in Black and White house pays dividends on our health. We already miss JJ and our house cat but the whole team at TT & Bon Ton are magicians in helping you put cares away for just a while. See you next year I hope

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EH121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
794 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Collection of old wooden houses in a quiet, rustic (not manicured) setting (apart from the odd plane from the nearby airport). Lovingly restored with lots of interesting features. Houses have some aircon in the critical rooms (bedrooms) and fans etc. Comfortable but not luxurious like the plasticised big name resort hotels. However, when you stay here you get half a house...so space is large. (ours was 40 sq meters?)See below... Main house - also old and wooden, has a restaurant, bar, pool table. Next door - a 2 minute walk - is the Bon Ton restaurant - again lovely setting with some smaller, cheaper accommodation available. (Same owners). There are 3 swimming pools between the properties and the owner runs a cat/dog rescue center, so cats and dogs as well! (Although not many!)
The Temple Tree is full of character and personality... the owners, staff, rooms etc are all delightful - the staff treat you like "family" almost and the whole place is extremely laid back, informal and fun. Excellent kitchens in Temple Tree and Bon Ton (Nam restaurant) - as good as any other on the island. Breakfast delivered to the rooms the evening before could be better..... My only criticism really.
The Temple Tree is not cheap for the better rooms - you could probably stay at one of the big resorts - The Andaman; Sheraton or Datai for similar money but the experience would just not be the same characterful experience. A number of the famous have stayed here as well. Highly recommend this place unless you want the big resort experience in which case there are plenty of alternatives on the island...But you'd miss out!

Room Tip: Chinese house has best position. Chinese 2 has a huge veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I cannot recommend Temple Tree highly enough. Our accommodation in Estate 2 was lovely, the grounds were beautiful, but the service was what really set this place apart. Anything we could possibly have wanted was pre-empted and we were truly pampered. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizSwanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Very friendly and welcoming staff from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. The rooms are excellent, clean and very good privacy. Bathroom had a double shower. The resturant has excellent food and breakfast is brought to your room the night before, placed in the fridge and will be taken away for you the next day. Rooms have a large flat screen with a DVD player for those bad weather days and there are DVDs and books to borrow if needed.

Taxis into the local town can be arranged and will arrive within 5-10 minutes. We rented a car for a day and was all organised through Temple Tree and payment was sorted through the final bill keeping everything easy. 10 minutes from the airport and although the planes are in close-ish proximity when landing/taking off, its so irregular that its almost a novelty.

Wi-fi is available but can weaken at the distanced rooms. The pools are fanstatic for doing lengths in with seating and sun lounges already in place. I wouldn't recommend for a young family but for couples or a group of friends, its ideal. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Templetree, sister property to the gorgeous bonton resort, back for about my 15th stay in these 2 resorts, this time stayed in Penang house 1 in temple tree, absolutely stunning and the resort is starting to grow in now with the foliage starting to grow and soften he resort somewhat, the restaurant on site at the straits club is fabulous and the cocktails in the bar are superb, as ever we ate next door at onion a lot which in my opinion is still the best restaurant on the island and we had a special new years eve dinner here, a 6 course affair that was exceptional, both resorts continue to offer amazing personal service and I would to consider staying elsewhere on langkawi, you should get a car wilts staying here and explore the island, it's incredibly easy and cheap and this time we also opped over to Penang for the day which was so easy and we did a walking tour of Georgetown recommended to us by the staff at bonton, a great day and really recommend seeing the new China House in George Town, has to be seen to be believed. Anyway back to temple tree and as ever can't recommend highly enough, love this place and can't wait to go back

Room Tip: Chinese house is very atmospheric and dark and my favourite however Penang is lighter and a bit more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AsiaSteve72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
12.3 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,340 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
2.1 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Tree at Bon Ton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Tree at Bon Ton

Property: Temple Tree at Bon Ton
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Tree at Bon Ton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though classified as B&B/Inn, Temple Tree is actually more of a boutique resort of many cultures, an eclectic mix of heritage chic...Antique buildings of Chinese, Malay, Indian and Eurasian origin, make up this 8 villa hotel, with 8 rooms & 6 suites now open. Each building has, over its 70-110 year old history, created its own heart and soul. Hopefully we have given due respect to each of these family homes with the restoration process. These houses are now the continuing the story of people who live in them, our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Temple Tree at Bon Ton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Tree At Bon Ton Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing