We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I cannot fault it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Temple Tree at Bon Ton
Ranked #6 of 148 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I cannot fault it.”
Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

Temple Tree has been our home for the past five nights. I stress the word 'home' rather than 'hotel' etc. It has a wonderful feel to it and the staff are second to none.

This is a fantastic resort. As is Bon Ton next door. I will not hesitate to stay again and will plan to return web able to do so.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ollytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    112
    26
    6
    12
See reviews for
101
245
30
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed two nights in Penang 1 - half of a beautiful big wooden house. It was decorated impeccably and had two rooms and two bathrooms.
The staff were fantastic and we were overjoyed to be greeted not only by three friendly cats, but also two large glasses of chardonnay on arrival.

The resort is truly different and special. We loved it. But we do both love cats - so hopefully do all the other guests as you would not be thrilled if you didn't.

The Temple Tree restaurant was lovely and the Bon Ton restaurant was fabulous. Try the Nyonya Laksa - delicious!!

Pool is pretty and quiet and we often felt like we had the place to ourselves. But that didn't mean staff ignored us - we were brought plates of fruit and snacks and iced water while lying by the pool. Really makes all the difference - we also stayed at The Westin where there were hundreds of staff, but nothing made us feel pampered or special quite like the staff at Temple Tree.

Only small complaint - Penang 1 is divided into two residences. The walls are thin. We had a one year old baby next door and her cries were completely audible which disturbed our rest.

Other than that - we loved our stay here. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Penang One is beautiful but just check that whoever is in Penang 2 is quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuzzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Stayed 2 nights at Black and White Colonial House

Resort Facilities: Decent, with a small pool and dining facilities. Extremely interesting setting as resort is made up of many different types of accoms from various part of malaysia

Room: Very big and well designed or rather renovated house. Very interesting experience. See pictures for more details

Service: Good service from staff (from hotel reservation to checkout).

Room Tip: For returning customers, they provide special rates for the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CepheusC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I spent two great nights at Temple Tree. A truly beautiful and relaxing place. Despite booking into the cheapest category of rooms (Estate room) the room was spacious and had character. I looked at some of the other rooms and there are some truly beautiful options. Currently they are running some great promotions so it is great value. Staff were exceptionally friendly. Breakfast was slightly strange as was placed in the fridge in the rooms the night before. I did eat a meal at the sister hotel (Bon Ton) next door which was average. It is located about 20 minutes walk from the main town area but easy to walk or get taxi. Finally if you love cats then you will love this place as they are all over the grounds - and all friendly! Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Look at their website carefully to decide on the room - each style has unique character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Takalansi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We had a lovely break in Langkawi at the Temple Tree. We decided to try it out after also having stayed at the Straits Collection in Penang which belongs to the same owner. Would truly recommend both to all travellers to Malaysia who are looking for a 'local' experience as all the accommodations are very tastefully done, right in the heart of the islands, and truly unique. Beats all the 5 star hotels! Also the food available at the restaurants belonging to the properties are of really hig quality and at the same time very Malaysian!

Room Tip: We stayed at the 'Estate house' at the Temple Tree...very quiet and nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank febe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Pleasant setting but overrun with cats that sneak into your room at any opportunity. The rooms are large and spacious. Pool is nice. No access to the beach and a bit far to walk into the Pantai Cenang district. No TV in room, only for DVD. Internet did work and was free. Pleasant staff. Next time I would stay closer to the beach.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob_Preston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Temple Tree simply is paradise on earth. An incredible resort that has your well-being and comfort in mind at all times! Lovely grounds, beautifully restored and decorated rooms, Strait Cafe and adjoining Bon Ton Resort serves up delicious Malay-inspired cuisine, and the animals of the LASSie Foundation add even more charm to Temple Tree. I would return to Langkawi if only to stay at Temple Tree!

Full hotel review on my website!

Room Tip: Honeymooners and couples, book the Colonial 3 for the double Japanese wooden baths!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conniehum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
12.3 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
1,317 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
2.1 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Tree at Bon Ton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Tree at Bon Ton

Property: Temple Tree at Bon Ton
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Tree at Bon Ton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though classified as B&B/Inn, Temple Tree is actually more of a boutique resort of many cultures, an eclectic mix of heritage chic...Antique buildings of Chinese, Malay, Indian and Eurasian origin, make up this 8 villa hotel, with 8 rooms & 6 suites now open. Each building has, over its 70-110 year old history, created its own heart and soul. Hopefully we have given due respect to each of these family homes with the restoration process. These houses are now the continuing the story of people who live in them, our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Temple Tree at Bon Ton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Tree At Bon Ton Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing