We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A resort with soul and character” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temple Tree at Bon Ton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Temple Tree at Bon Ton
Ranked #6 of 141 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
kota kinabalu
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A resort with soul and character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

This place is not a your typical hotel. It is more of a villa/boutique resort that offers unique, quirky and luxurious experience at the same time. I stayed at Penang house 1 for 3D2N and I must say, it was one of the best experience ever! I got it cheap from last minute deal through Agoda.com. Our villa (Penang house1) consist of 2 rooms (1 king sized bed + 1 single bed), living room, 2 bathrooms (1 with shower area + another with wooden bathtub).

Location : walking distance (15min walk) to the hot-spots area of Pantai Cenang. Gotta try these 2 amazing restaurants - Red Tomato (fantastic breakfast!) and Yellow Cafe.

The villa is very spacious. I had good night sleep thanks to the comfortable bed and functional a/c (Langkawi is extremely hot and humid!). Our breakfast was prepared the night before and it was put in our fridge (bread, yogurt, tropical fruit, cakes, fruit juice etc). Fridge, toaster, kettle, coffee, tea, flat screen tv, DVD player, pool, towels, sarong, toiletries can be found in this villa. Wifi speed was OK. The villa is an old, rustic house but the stylish interior decor put a luxurious feeling to it. I've found our 'tropical survival kit' on our shelves (consisted of insect repellent, flashlight, sarong etc)

But what makes this villa an amazing place is the top notch services received from the staffs. The moment we stepped our foot into this villa, we immediately felt like we were at home. Friendly smiles can be seen everywhere, from the staffs to their guests. It was just so lovely. This place is suitable for everyone except those who allergic to cats/dogs as they run a small animal shelter nearby. Cats can be seen roaming freely. Do not worry, they are all well behaved, clean and extremely cute!

We had a surprise birthday party at the villa, and things got a bit messy. However, the staffs handled the situation really well. Everyone did have a blast that night.

Cons: not suitable for those who allergic to animals. The food are a bit expensive. Walls are thin. Wi fi speed can be improved.

In conclusion, I had a fantaboulous stay in Temple Tree. I will definitely come back again. But next time will choose a different type of house. I heard a new "Ipoh" house will be built soon. Yeayyy,..

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aiesha_radar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    109
    26
    5
    12
See reviews for
97
242
30
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

I booked this hotel as a treat for my boyfriends birthday and it certainly was a treat! We stayed in an estate room which was fabulous- super comfortable and incredibly stylish. The staff are wonderful and can't o enough for you and the food is out of this world! I'd definitely recommend Temple Tree to anyone who wants relaxed decadence and style without any hint of pretentiousness. It also houses an animal shelter so you can walk dogs or pet cats if you like or not if you don'! The cats wandering the grounds add great character to the place!

Room Tip: all the rooms are amazing- the bigger rooms which are more like houses would suit a family- couples...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

A simply beautiful resort that provides a unique and individual experience. Every accomodation is different, each with it's own story. It is just a short walk to the beach and restaurants however the restaurant onsite is a must try. Our breakfast each morning was absolutely delicious, a great way to start the day. Service was faultless and every member of staff really go out of their way to make your holiday an easy and enjoyable experience. I really felt at home here and cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlyM81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Where do I start?

Temple Tree is an incredible place.

It's about 15min walk from the beach (and its host of restaurants/bars/spas/watersports centres). In a taxi (and there are lots of them), it takes about 3 minutes and it's really cheap (about 6-8RM). The hotel is located near the mangrove (it's beautiful) and is only a short drive away from the airport (about 15min, and it costs under 20RM). It's literally next door to the Bon Ton (you can go freely from one to the other), which has got a good restaurant too, so you can try that for a change if you fancy (try the fried rice, it's magical).

That's for the location.

The resort has a beautiful, really long swimming pool (about 25m, perfect for laps), and the overall grounds are very nice. A number of traditional Malay houses host the rooms. Each has a different decor, but they're all equally pretty. A sense of tradition in the furnitures blends with modern facilities (flat screen TVs, DVD players, air con, wifi...). The communal lounge is magnificient, the bar very cool (beats a lot of supposedly cools bars in NYC or London), and there's a computer room + pool table should you ever get bored. The bar also runs happy hour prices between 5 and 7 pm. The restaurant is very good, if a little pricy, but the cuisine is amazing and really thought through. The hotel also runs a small animal shelters, so there are a few cats and dogs in the resort. They're all very cute and well behaved, so nothing to worry about. It's actually a little peculiar and hence makes it a bit more cool.

But what really sets Temple Tree apart is its staff. They are admirable. Friendly. Fun. Polite. Helpful. Just amazing. Staying at Temple Tree is like staying with friends or family. There's always someone to offer you a drink, top up your iced water, give you a dry towel, or even bring you a little (free) snack round the pool in the afternoon. They offered advice, even a few drinks on the house. They even encouraged us to go the the market, pick up as much food as we want (which is just delightful and ridiculously cheap), and offered to serve it to us. Which we did, and it was one of our most amazing evening. They are amazing, and that's tribute to all of them and the manager who does an outstanding job there.

A small watchout. The rooms aren't 100% sound proofed. At least not the ones called Estate. In the morning, expect a lot of bird noises (making it hard to sleep past a certain time), and if your neighbour so much as watches a DVD in his room, well, it's like you're watching it with him. Walls are paper thin. Not a huge issue, but it sometimes affected our sleep.

But I would go back to Temple Tree in a heartbeat. I stayed in many, many hotels, some of them hugely high end. None of them compares to the Temple Tree. Try it once. You'll love it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mehdi_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

My husband and I got married at another resort in Langkawi, but wanted a few days with our friends at another resort. We decided on staying at the Temple Tree Bon Ton. It was a great decision!! There was 30 of us checking in all at once and Pia was wonderful. She helped us with everything... from jet skiing tours, massages and dinner reservations. It's hard to organize such a large group of people and it was amazing to have her there help us out. Thank you so much for a lovely time!

The grounds are beautiful, rustic traditional Malay wooden houses. If you don't need a beach but just a relaxing place to spend a few days, this is it! We were originally worried about the a/c being strong enough but it was more than enough. I think the first night we all ended up turning off the a/c because it was cold! Don't forget this is a tropical paradise so there will be insects and animals around. But if you're not worried about it... then I would recommend this place to you! The cats and dogs are all super friendly. The cats don't normally come into the rooms to bother throughout the night, unless you invite them in. We loved having the cats around, they made the trip even more fun!

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique to themselves in style and decor. Look online to see which one you like the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gold coast, australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Temple Tree twice, and plan to return. The resort itself is beautiful and absolutely unique, the staff are great, and the food is DIVINE! I would recommend the Temple Tree to just about anyone.

Room Tip: Any of the houses. We stayed in Colonial 3 and loved it. Having had a look around at the various r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azzabazza18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

I just loved this place. The buildings were all gorgeous, especially the Chinese House, where I stayed. The staff went beyond the standard, and where so friendly, helpful, and professional.
The restaurants at both Temple Tree, and Bon Ton, were amongst the best we have experienced in a long stay in Malaysia. Would definitely go again

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
0.8 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
12.3 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#7 of 106 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Tree at Bon Ton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Tree at Bon Ton

Property: Temple Tree at Bon Ton
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Tree at Bon Ton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though classified as B&B/Inn, Temple Tree is actually more of a boutique resort of many cultures, an eclectic mix of heritage chic...Antique buildings of Chinese, Malay, Indian and Eurasian origin, make up this 8 villa hotel, with 8 rooms & 6 suites now open. Each building has, over its 70-110 year old history, created its own heart and soul. Hopefully we have given due respect to each of these family homes with the restoration process. These houses are now the continuing the story of people who live in them, our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Temple Tree at Bon Ton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Tree At Bon Ton Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing