We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great concept, unique houses but thin walls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Temple Tree at Bon Ton
Ranked #6 of 161 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2013

we stayed at the colonial 1, well furnished with vintage pieces around the room, 2 shower heads and a cute outdoors bathtub. good sized room and bathroom. The property is very charming, quaint vintage houses with a small pool and cats wandering around plus the resident dog.
The service was amazing!!

the only downside was our neighbours upstairs who kept us from sleeping. the walls are really thin! we were woken up by what sounded like a water pipe bursting in our room and which can only be the toilet flushing upstairs, followed by running feet, and conversations and what sounded like a bathtub being filled at....3 am in the morning? we laid awake in bed listening to a lady going on about her failed relationship (lol), burps and what not, until well past 4 am.

Room Tip: Colonial 1 is very pretty but watch out for your neighbours upstairs! walls are paper thin, you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cortecera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 256 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

When we booked this hotel we had no idea how wonderful it would wind up being. We were welcomed with refreshing pineapple mint tea and a friendly smile. The resort has so much character we couldn't stop talking about how much creative effort had to be put into producing the innately tranquil atmosphere. All of the homes were beautifully decorated with oriental antiques with an at home feeling bc of all the attention paid to the little details in every corner. They have cats roaming around the whole property and we felt like we had our own pets away from home. I actually have an allergy to cats, but in this setting, I guess I didn't have a problem bc they weren't confined to the rooms but free to roam so my allergies didn't act up at all. The staff was helpful and attentive and the resort even offered yoga sessions on request. The main pool was like no other, and although Langkawi is known for its beaches, laying by this pool made you somehow feel like you were in the middle of the bush lands in South Africa despite all of the colorful Chinese homes surrounding you....difficult to describe.
After just a short overnight stay here, we seriously considered modifying the second leg of our itinerary to try and squeeze another couple days of temple tree in if that tells you anything.
We were also lucky enough to have the migrating night food market nearby the night we were staying and definitely suggest it if it happens to be close to you that night. We had one meal at straits, the resort restaurant it and it was also wonderful.
You will not regret staying at temple tree, and after you do, you will want to stay again. It's truly a unique experience and I wish it were closer to home so that I could visit again and again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Stayed 3 nights at the Temple Tree section of the joint Bon Ton/Temple Tree resort in April 2013. Where Bon Ton offers traditional Malaysian cottages on stilts brought up to modern standard, Temple Tree section offers old colonial buildings from Malaysian mainland. These have been transported and re-erected on Langkawi. Really cool idea! This review will cover both Bon Ton and Temple Tree as they are on the same property and under same management, but different in appearance.

Getting there: Easy with taxi from airport. About 5-10 mins journey, at appx RM20-25.

Location: Not along the beach or shore. This is an inland resort, with partly swamps near by. Nothing dangerous resides in these swamps, however! The resort is 3 mins taxi ride from the Chenang beach "strip", where lots of shops and restaurants ++ can be found.

Facilities: The villas on both sections of the resort are really cool, and individually different. Standard is more than adequate for most. Be aware that those travelling with children or persons over 190 cm, should opt for Temple Tree because of available space and entrance doorway height.

The resort is nicely maintained, and offers several swimming pools of the long and narrow kind. Quite stylish, although not the kind children normally prefer.

The Bon Ton restaurant is excellent, and also welcomes diners from other nearby hotels. There is also a restaurant at the Temple Tree side, but with a more western food orientation and thus not so exiting for those looking to try the local cuisine.

For those loving animals, the resort also house an animal shelter for cats and dogs. So you will find alot of cats around the resort. Dogs however - except Temple Trees' JJ - are restricted to the shelter facility.

Price: Expensive, but worth it as this is a one-of-a-kind resort offering a different experience.

Conclusion: This is definetly worth the visit! An interesting and exiting place. The colonial athmosphere of Temple Tree is really cool, and we had a great time at the resort. Service levels are great, and staff very friendly. In fact, the staff offered many useful and honest advise on things to do and not to do, so this was particularly helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StianGiskeodegard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Well I have now lost count quite how many times I have returned to this beautiful resort in Langkawi, once again we were greeted personally by the team and enjoyed our welcome drinks before checking in to the 'Chinese House' which in my opinion holds the best setting in Temple Tree, we had the whole house as 3 of us travelling so we had both upstairs and downstairs, upstairs offering a superb balcony with beautiful views over the lagoon towards the mountains in the distance, the pool is some 100ft in length and again is right in front of the house, we stayed 4 days and it felt like we were staying in our private villa, we had run of the pool pretty much most of our stay as many people go out and about sightseeing during the day. we moved to Penang House during our stay to sample another house which is next to Chinese and again had the whole house both 1 & 2, it is also incredibly beautiful and is lighter and on one level, it has a TV room, multiple other rooms, ample wardrobe space, fridge, safe etc We dined in sister restaurant Bonton next door most evenings and had lunch at templetree every day, the food continues to be INCREDIBLE, the famous Nam restuarant at Bonton continues to be one of the very best on the Island and it is hard to go anywhere else as the food is so excellent especially the Laksa for lunch and the seafood platter in the evening, just delicious, the resort also mixes up a seriously mean cocktail and every evening they now do a complimentary cocktail hour on the susnset deck, a really nice touch to sample a few cocktails to start your evening, I always feel a bit guilty as when I stay here i tend not to move but that is what is wonderful about Temple Tree and Bonton, chilled water throughout the day by the pool, snacks in the evening, great food, great company, great cocktails, great setting, unique and historic accomodation, if its a truly relaxing unwinding break that you need I cannot think of anywhere better than this spectaular resort, thanks to Alison and all the team who once again made our stay so very special, cant wait to come back soon

Room Tip: Any house, they are all wondeful in their own way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AsiaSteve72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Temple Tree for a 3 day long weekend and couldn't have been happier. The houses are really cool and the pool was great for lounging around. We hired a car to explore the villages and island but were happier spending the most of our time at the Temple Tree. We managed to sample most of the food on the menu at the Bon Ton restaurant and it was all tasty and reasonably priced. We're looking forward to our next visit at Temple Tree.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffG605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed here for a week last August at the end of a 3 week trip across Malaysia. It was the perfect place to unwind. Rooms are not luxurious but are comfortable, although you might have to share it with the wildlife (cats, lizards, and the odd cockroach). We were given spray to get rid of any creepy crawlies, which visit due to the rustic nature of the accommodation. We loved the set-up of the place - individual houses spread through the lush grounds. The staff here are amazing, so friendly and helpful. Extra touches like fruit and cocktails brought to us at the pool were much appreciated. We ate in the restaurant a couple of times and really enjoyed the food. We also drank gallons of the delicious pineapple mint tea! The beach and resort are a 5 minute taxi ride away, and easy to do. If you want 5 star luxury, this place may not be for you, but if you like somewhere a bit different and more personal, give it a try!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spam66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

So, where should I start ?? If I could give more than 5 points which means already excellent I would...wrote a mail to tripadvisor if they they can make an exception just for temple tree, because the time we had there was truly out of this world !

I spend 3 wonderful days at TT , when we (my parents and me) arrived, Richelle, the Resort Manager was already waiting for us and greeted us by names, we felt right from the beginning, what true and genuine hospitality is... Richelle invited us for a welcome drinks, a mix of tea, mint and pineapple juice which was delicious, we sat outside on the veranda and did the check n formalities, very quick and easy... Richelle escorted us to our room(Plantation 1) , an amazing 2 bedroom flat with extraordinary furnitures and cozy ambience....we couldn't believe our eyes, everything was so special, all those little details, just amazing !! We settled, changed and headed to the pool area. The pool is just lovely, the water is chilled, and the sun beds (total 16 with umbrellas) were very comfy :) the pool is a designer pool I believe , very stylish, never seen before, about 20-25 meter in length and 2 meter width...we lounged in the sun the whole day, Mas from the restaurant/bar came every 20 minutes with complimentary ice water to refill our glasses and to keep us hydrated, just lovely. Mas was really friendly and attentive, it was so nice talking to her, a pleasant character and one of the good souls of TT:) when we were chilling by the pool, Rachelle approached us, asking about our satisfaction...she offered us a room upgrade to Colonial 4 , which is even bigger than the room we had before, she said that the room will be not occupied for the next days, so she would like to make our stay even more comfortable !!! How awesome is that ??? The guys helped to move our luggage, needles to say, Colonial 4 was breathtaking ! Everybody had their own bathrooms, separate lounge, a wooden tub at the end of the corridor, very very stylish !!! Little amenities such as: locally made balm for sunburn, Moscito spray, high quality shampoos and body lotions !! I stayed in so many hotels and guest houses in my life, but TT was the most special place !! The owner has an eye for beautiful things, all those little details, antique furnitures, the staff there, everybody seems to enjoy their work and they loved what they do...

My mum loved to take the resort dog "JJ" out for a walk, we loved playing with the cats and kittens, the breakfast ( they put the evening before a continental brekkie into your Minibar) , was absolutely enough and we liked the idea...so you don't have to get ready in the morning to go to a buffet...just like at home, you open the fridge and you get your first meal of the day, whenever you liked...

One of the staff, Yazid, recommended us a nice Seafood restaurant, 5 minutes from TT (Orkid Rea), please see me review about it, it was really really good and we had a great time.

My father and I rented scooters and we just explored the island, my mum chilled by the pool and had some awesome "me time" ...

Dear Richelle & TT team, thanks again from the bottom of our heart for such a wonderful time. Even though it was a short stay, we enjoyed it to the fullest and we will be surely back and recommend your beautiful place to all friends :)

Tobi with Parents :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobi1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,242 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,380 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
2.1 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Tree at Bon Ton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Tree at Bon Ton

Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range: £54 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Tree at Bon Ton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though classified as B&B/Inn, Temple Tree is actually more of a boutique resort of many cultures, an eclectic mix of heritage chic...Antique buildings of Chinese, Malay, Indian and Eurasian origin, make up this 8 villa hotel, with 8 rooms & 6 suites now open. Each building has, over its 70-110 year old history, created its own heart and soul. Hopefully we have given due respect to each of these family homes with the restoration process. These houses are now the continuing the story of people who live in them, our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Temple Tree at Bon Ton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Tree At Bon Ton Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing