We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My kind of holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Temple Tree at Bon Ton
Ranked #6 of 150 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My kind of holiday”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

As an animal lover and owner of 8 cats I loved the fact that cats roam at will on the resort. They do not bother clients but co-exist comfortably. I brought a cat to my room and I felt completely at home. Staff were friendly but food a tad expensive. The whole resort was quaint

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinafazlita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    112
    26
    6
    12
See reviews for
102
246
30
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed at the quaint Temple Tree Resort where they had restored antique villas for rent as one or as individual hotel rooms. We stayed at the 'Plantation House' as we travelled as a family and needed two rooms.
Upon arrival we were served an icy cold drink, which was much appreciated in the hot afternoon. We were well looked after by the friendly and extremely helpful staff.
And the Cats...there are cats roaming the property and clearly this is their home. A portion of the revenue from the hotel goes to LASSie (Langkawi Animal Shelter and Sanctuary Foundation) for it to continue its work on the island with stray animals.
The going rate is a tad expensive but off season they offer good discounts or check on internet rates.
It is a great place!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RShahrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Had the pleasure to stay at the Temple Tree for 3 nights in March and simply loved it. The character and uniqueness of the resort amazed us, we loved the decor of our house and the food at both Temple Tree and the Bon Ton was fabulous and definitely must be tried.

My friend had her 5 month old baby daughter with her and no request was too much trouble. From the moment we arrived and were met by an icy cold drink, we were well looked after by the gorgeous Richelle and her staff. Thank you Richelle for all of your recommendations and local knowledge and for looking after us so well. We had an amazing time in Langkawi and more specifically the Temple Tree, with it's wonderful staff.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Margy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a 4 night stay at Temple Tree. It is difficult to sum it up adequately, because it is so unique. While Bon Ton, the sister property next door, is a collection of Malay huts, fitted out as hotel rooms, Temple Tree is a small selection of old wooden Malay houses harvested from various parts of Malaysia and reconstructed on the site. These are divided up to provide spacious accommodation, in as close a style as possible to when the house was first constructed. There are some nods to modern living, such as decent plumbing, TV in the bedrooms and I think there is wifi, although we didn't use it. But there are no house phones. The hotel's green credentials are pretty good, due to the extensive use of recycled materials and the fact that air conditioning is only available in the bedrooms. I believe a portion of the revenue from the hotels goes towards the animal rescue sanctuary that is located between Bon Ton resort and the main road.

What is easier to do is sum up what this place does well and on the other hand, why you might not want to stay here. Staying in these old houses provides a lot of space (our part of one house was as big as a large suite in a "normal" hotel) and a lot of style that comes from a bygone age. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. Throughout our stay we were addressed by our names, not only by the manager, but other staff as well. The location, 10 mins from the airport and in the opposite direction, Cenang beach, is pretty ideal. Then there are the animals. There a quite a few cats, but a few dogs as well. The animals roaming the property are well looked after and this is clearly their home. For instance, there is a ginger cat called Alex who spends most of his day sleeping on a stool next to the reception desk, quietly vetting the guests as they come and go.

Do not come here if you are looking for a five star beach resort with multiple restaurants and a business centre. Do not come here if you have a problem with cats. Do not come here if the sight of a few insects bothers you (this is Asia!). Do not come here if (like one reviewer below) it is important to you that all the joints and floorboards in the rooms are flush - guess what, they are not meant to be! If any of these are a problem for you, then kindly choose a place more suited to your needs and leave these precious rooms/houses to those who appreciate them.

I think this is a wonderful place and I look forward to a return visit as soon as possible.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Chidlom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I have been to Langkawi previously and stayed in one of the five star properties that had a private beach.This time I was looking out for a boutique property, and agoda had a good rate for Temple Tree and I chose the property after closely looking at all the other reviews here on Trip Advisor.

I must say I agree with most of the people when they rave about this place. The property is indeed unique, and the overall concept is different from the norm. The cats and dog are adorable, my two year old son had a great time talking to all the cats on his walks outside the property.The breakfast was not what we would have ideally preferred as we usually like a hot breakfast on vacations, but it was more than adequate -the breads that they serve taste like home made ,each slice has a different herb, and the cakes were really to die for!

We stayed for three nights in Plantation two-2 adults and one baby, and the room size was very comfortable. I just wish that they had outdoor garden seating for breakfast or a night cap.

One can walk to Bonton next door and they serve free cocktails and a starter every evening between 7-8pm.We found out only on the last day after speaking to a fellow guest.

We had a lovely time and I wish there were more such hotel properties in Malaysia.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I enjoyed my stay here simply because the concept is so unique and the folk so friendly and hospitable. Rustic traditional houses transplanted from their original location and moved to Langkawi. We booked 2 nights at Colonial 4 which accommodates 4 adults - 2 bedrooms (2 singles and a double) both with ensuite bathrooms. Colonial 4 is located at the front section of the upper floor of Colonial House and has a well equipped family hall with a rather large wooden bathtub and a living hall with 2 bookcases (filled with good books), dining table, minibar and most times the really intelligent resident cat (trust me - this cat has character) will love keeping you company.

You'll enjoy a really traditional feel to the stay and if you love cats and animals, this place is perfect for you. The owner of the property has set up an animal shelter here and there are free roaming cats and several dogs at both Bon Ton and Temple Tree (note though that the Temple Tree resident pooch, JJ has a great dislike for other dogs)

Breakfast (continental) is delivered every evening (together with the turn down service) in the refrigerator to be enjoyed at your own leisure. Great quality tea and coffee, home made bread, cake, yogurt and juices.

For those who expect 5 star comfort, you may be in for a disappointment as the property is more rustic than luxury but that really is part of the whole charm.

I would certainly visit this resort again. Excellent hospitality and the staff are all wonderful here.

Room Tip: Select whichever house you like based on the website - each are decorated differently and no two roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odette_my
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

we stayed at the colonial 1, well furnished with vintage pieces around the room, 2 shower heads and a cute outdoors bathtub. good sized room and bathroom. The property is very charming, quaint vintage houses with a small pool and cats wandering around plus the resident dog.
The service was amazing!!

the only downside was our neighbours upstairs who kept us from sleeping. the walls are really thin! we were woken up by what sounded like a water pipe bursting in our room and which can only be the toilet flushing upstairs, followed by running feet, and conversations and what sounded like a bathtub being filled at....3 am in the morning? we laid awake in bed listening to a lady going on about her failed relationship (lol), burps and what not, until well past 4 am.

Room Tip: Colonial 1 is very pretty but watch out for your neighbours upstairs! walls are paper thin, you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cortecera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
12.3 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,340 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
2.1 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Tree at Bon Ton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Tree at Bon Ton

Property: Temple Tree at Bon Ton
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Tree at Bon Ton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though classified as B&B/Inn, Temple Tree is actually more of a boutique resort of many cultures, an eclectic mix of heritage chic...Antique buildings of Chinese, Malay, Indian and Eurasian origin, make up this 8 villa hotel, with 8 rooms & 6 suites now open. Each building has, over its 70-110 year old history, created its own heart and soul. Hopefully we have given due respect to each of these family homes with the restoration process. These houses are now the continuing the story of people who live in them, our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Temple Tree at Bon Ton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Tree At Bon Ton Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing