We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Rustic Charm” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temple Tree at Bon Ton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Temple Tree at Bon Ton
Ranked #6 of 141 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Rustic Charm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Away from the hustle-bustle of Pantai Cenang, tucked away near a marshy pond, the restored old-world elegance shines through at Temple Tree. We stayed at the Estate Room which was beautifully put together and retained it's classic charm while being equipped with all the modern amenities we cannot do without these days!

We'd spend our evenings at the deck at Bon Ton (sister property), listening to the birds and then watching the sun disolve into the beautiful skyline. The F&B at the Bon Ton restaurant was fabulous - great hospitality and delicious meals!

Now for the cons - I wish Temple Tree were maintained a little better - the grounds seem to be screaming for care...it has this abandonned feel to it which is such a pity! The second pool looked more like a algae infested nightmare! The wifi is temparamental at best and non existant at worst!

If you dislike/are afraid of/are allergic to cats - please please stay away from Temple Tree and Bon Ton! Both properties are paradise for cat lovers....I felt like there were more cats than people around!

Overall - Temple Tree is not everyone's cup of tea... but if you just want to get away..go back in time - cut-off from everything and unwind - it's a great place to be!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Payal84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    109
    25
    5
    12
See reviews for
97
240
30
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Outside the noisy village of pantay Cenang. No beach but a beautiful pond at the Bon Ton restaurant. Stunning sunsets and great food. Best of malay indian and arab kitchen. Ricefields across the rood 2. Min walk with breathtaking scenery at sunset. staff is very helpfull and friendly. Definitely a must see.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belize
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I booked two nights at Bon Ton and stayed 6 nights at both BT and their sister inn next door at Temple Tree. Staff and mgmt. were very accommodating and welcoming. Rooms/cottages were unique, interesting, spacious, comfortable and historic. Both inns are small and intimate. Attention to detail and guests needs and requirements are well attended to. I was very comfortable; loved the pools, speaking with the staff and both restaurants. Nice views of the mtns and walking distance to the beach. I would return and recommend to others who want this kind of experience while traveling.

Room Tip: I stayed in Frangipani at Bon Ton and Chinese House at Temple Tree, both wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katievalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

as cats lovers, my husband and i had a good time relaxing in the calm and serene settings while watching the cats frolic. however, we had a tough time to find places to eat when we opt to eat out because we didn't rent a car. for the premium price, i wish the hotel had at least a shuttle and preferably more facilities. otherwise, service is excellent and staff are attentive.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

The room is adorably appointed and takes on the look of a well thought out trip to Pottery Barn. Shabby chic it is- however, I feel they should be clear about that on their website upfront.

The photos on the website of the hotel are at night and that is for a reason. It looks like a rustic campground during the day. Disappointing grounds, pretty pools, but they looked like they had fungi/ algae growth,etc. LOTS of cats on the grounds. The staff told us that there were over 50. They will try to come into your room and can be persistent. There are padlocks on the doors. The standard room is in a row of rooms that looks like a rustic camp motel, with the aforementioned padlocks on the doors, and there is no soundproofing at all; you can hear every cough. Wifi was too weak- we had to walk over to their sister property (Bon Ton) to use it.

Room Tip: Just know that there is no soundproofing- if your neighbor is watching a DVD, that means you are too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

If you want an ultra lux hotel this is not the place... but if you want a historic, unique experience, go here. The staff is well trained for a small sized resort, which can be hard to find in Malaysia. They were professional and helpful. The main restaurant is great, however it would be nice if took more care on their wine offerings and explained the wine selection on the menu (instead of just putting the type of grape.) Wifi barely works and the TVs have no channels, just DVD. But somehow the charm of the whole place supersedes any of these annoyances. And the cats are cute too.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room. The rooms themselves have zero insulation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank altimaklr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

By Malaysian standard, this is very good hotel. Slow-paced and relaxed vibe. Swimming pool is a little small. The owner succeeded in making the place comfortable without being too touristy. Staff are very friendly and engaging. Missus loves animals, so the cats around the resort is an added bonus!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kennysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.6 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
8.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
0.8 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,216 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Tree at Bon Ton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Tree at Bon Ton

Property: Temple Tree at Bon Ton
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Tree at Bon Ton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though classified as B&B/Inn, Temple Tree is actually more of a boutique resort of many cultures, an eclectic mix of heritage chic...Antique buildings of Chinese, Malay, Indian and Eurasian origin, make up this 8 villa hotel, with 8 rooms & 6 suites now open. Each building has, over its 70-110 year old history, created its own heart and soul. Hopefully we have given due respect to each of these family homes with the restoration process. These houses are now the continuing the story of people who live in them, our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Temple Tree at Bon Ton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Tree At Bon Ton Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing