We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic place - loved it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Temple Tree at Bon Ton
Ranked #6 of 161 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Great spot - one of a kind boutique resort. Preferred Temple Tree to Bon Ton and we loved the cats - cats everywhere as they look after them. Beautiful rooms and very funny owner.
Breakfast the only downside. Needs to he drastically improved.
Would stay again but go out for breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 911dg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

I repeat, don't book anywhere else in Langkawi; it's part of the Langkawi experience.

Pros:
The rooms are splendid, the pool is enjoyable, the view from temple tree and bonton is beautiful, the bonton restaurant is a must and the people are very friendly. In addition, there's nothing like waking up to the sound of birds, these houses are almost in the wild.

I read some reviews saying that this resort has a lot of dogs and cats, well yeah they do have some but are not annoying at all. I wanted to clarify this point because I almost did not book this hotel because of this point, and now I wouldn't book anywhere else in Langkawi.

I have passed by other hotels that were on my list to book, and am very glad that I haven't booked there.

The people:
I got there exhausted and James was kind enough to give me a room beforehand to have a rest. Maas, a beautiful and kind Langkawiian, makes sure you feel at home with her help and her smile.
Andy and Li are friendly and professional people.

Cons:
The wifi does not work well (or at times not at all) I would have preferred if it worked better but I'm not going to Langkawi to be fixed on my ipad. However I do suggest they improve the availability of the wifi.

I don't mean that they are not very clean, however things won't come by itself, you need to remind them to add a new soap, change towels and clean somewhere you want them to clean. I also suggest the hotel pay more attention regarding the housekeeping.

The breakfast is ok; accoding to my experience, for such range of hotels, the breakfast should be more rich and would prefer to have fresh juice instead of bottled ones.

Tips:
- Try the laksa at bonton (make sure you pour all the chili sauce in the soup first)
- If you like red wine, their australian red wine is delicious and cheap

Info:
this place is not on the beach, however it's a fifteen minutes walk away from the beach.

Room Tip: Make sure you book "chinese 2", if not available, then go for "chinese 1". Havin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Objectively
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The concept of relocating old houses is excellent. All houses are different and very well decorated. The staff is adorable. The food at the hotel restaurant is good. The stay would have been perfect if:
Breakfasts had been served in the restaurant and not in the room, the breakfast choice had been larger (cakes, fruits, toast and jam are perfect for those eating sweet breakfasts) and the room/bathroom better cleaned and maintained (fingerprints on the door, stains on the wall, dust on the furniture....). Also, restaurants and bars are a bit far, 25 min walk. One good point was to have free and different cocktails everyday at Bon Ton.

Room Tip: I would not recommend to stay at Estate. It might be a bit noisy as walls are paper thick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ParisSingap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Away from the hustle-bustle of Pantai Cenang, tucked away near a marshy pond, the restored old-world elegance shines through at Temple Tree. We stayed at the Estate Room which was beautifully put together and retained it's classic charm while being equipped with all the modern amenities we cannot do without these days!

We'd spend our evenings at the deck at Bon Ton (sister property), listening to the birds and then watching the sun disolve into the beautiful skyline. The F&B at the Bon Ton restaurant was fabulous - great hospitality and delicious meals!

Now for the cons - I wish Temple Tree were maintained a little better - the grounds seem to be screaming for care...it has this abandonned feel to it which is such a pity! The second pool looked more like a algae infested nightmare! The wifi is temparamental at best and non existant at worst!

If you dislike/are afraid of/are allergic to cats - please please stay away from Temple Tree and Bon Ton! Both properties are paradise for cat lovers....I felt like there were more cats than people around!

Overall - Temple Tree is not everyone's cup of tea... but if you just want to get away..go back in time - cut-off from everything and unwind - it's a great place to be!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Payal84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Outside the noisy village of pantay Cenang. No beach but a beautiful pond at the Bon Ton restaurant. Stunning sunsets and great food. Best of malay indian and arab kitchen. Ricefields across the rood 2. Min walk with breathtaking scenery at sunset. staff is very helpfull and friendly. Definitely a must see.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I booked two nights at Bon Ton and stayed 6 nights at both BT and their sister inn next door at Temple Tree. Staff and mgmt. were very accommodating and welcoming. Rooms/cottages were unique, interesting, spacious, comfortable and historic. Both inns are small and intimate. Attention to detail and guests needs and requirements are well attended to. I was very comfortable; loved the pools, speaking with the staff and both restaurants. Nice views of the mtns and walking distance to the beach. I would return and recommend to others who want this kind of experience while traveling.

Room Tip: I stayed in Frangipani at Bon Ton and Chinese House at Temple Tree, both wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katievalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

as cats lovers, my husband and i had a good time relaxing in the calm and serene settings while watching the cats frolic. however, we had a tough time to find places to eat when we opt to eat out because we didn't rent a car. for the premium price, i wish the hotel had at least a shuttle and preferably more facilities. otherwise, service is excellent and staff are attentive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,264 reviews
9 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#9 of 105 in Langkawi
1,388 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Rebak Island, Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Tree at Bon Ton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Tree at Bon Ton

Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range: £64 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Tree at Bon Ton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though classified as B&B/Inn, Temple Tree is actually more of a boutique resort of many cultures, an eclectic mix of heritage chic...Antique buildings of Chinese, Malay, Indian and Eurasian origin, make up this 8 villa hotel, with 8 rooms & 6 suites now open. Each building has, over its 70-110 year old history, created its own heart and soul. Hopefully we have given due respect to each of these family homes with the restoration process. These houses are now the continuing the story of people who live in them, our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Temple Tree at Bon Ton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Tree At Bon Ton Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing