We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Temple Tree at Bon Ton
Ranked #6 of 145 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

As mentioned by others, this hotel is a real one off.

Great buildings which are all different and original, a fantastic pool area like no other and a great restaurant next door at Bon Ton which we used nearly every day.

We stayed in room Estate 1 which was very roomy and unique. As animal lovers, we loved the cats that roamed about the resort. We had a couple of cats who waited for us each night and would stay the night. JJ the dog also loved a walk around the resort, so please take him for a walk if you do stay there!

The breakfast was nice, if a little different. It was great to be able to make fresh coffee each morning with toast, but for what you pay would would expect a made breakfast at the restaurant.

The hotel is expensive for what you pay, but taking the cost out of the equation the overall experience is second to none.

This would be a five if the price reflected the rooms and breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DirkBigler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    111
    26
    5
    12
See reviews for
100
243
30
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Everything about this hotel makes it stand out: the attention to detail in the rooms; the beautiful buildings which are all different (a real change from hotels where all the buildings look the same); the attentive and friendly staff; the two pool areas; the food at the restaurant and the breakfasts delivered to your room each morning. We had a fantastic five night stay here - we went to the nearby beach on the second day but realised that the hotel was more peaceful, cooler and a much more pleasant place to be. Staff were on hand throughout, bringing water and fruit plates in the afternoon, as well as providing beer and cocktails if you wanted them. The restaurant is outstanding. I rarely say that I will go back somewhere but this is a place I will be visiting again. The cats that roam the hotel and JJ (the hotel dog) sitting by reception add real character. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Vilniaus Apskritis, Lithuania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

From the meticulously crafted rooms to the amazingly pleasant staff, from the incredible atmosphere to every little creative decision, from the boldly beautiful nature to the insanely cute dogs and cats around, everything leads to absolute perfection. There no other place like it. If you ever find yourself in Malaysia, the trip to The Temple Tree is something to include. It couldn't be more great to stay at this resort even if it gave you money for it. No wonder people are always complimenting it. Thank you goes out for the staff and the owners!

Room Tip: Chinese 1 is mind-blowing, Chinese 2 is amazing, Penang 1 is great, all of the Estate ones are worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince_Gogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

So nice to stay somewhere that is different from the standard hotel room. We stayed in Penang House 1- couple in one room and another person in the second room. Our house was beautifully decorated and the original features were so well preserved. No TV with reception but that wasn't a bother. As other reviews state, there are a lot of cats around, perfect for us as we love animals. We found ourselves with a house cat over our 5 day stay (saw on the last day that it had fleas though so weren't so cuddly after that).
Pool was great, restaurant was amazing. Reasonably priced food (not cheap by island standards but by western standards it certainly was). The waiter was fantastic also.
Happy hour in the neighbouring bon ton resort was a nice touch. Even with going to this more expensive resort next door, I think that the temple tree wins out in charm and service.
Thanks temple tree, hope to be back again soon!

Room Tip: penang 1 was great! right near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batu Ferringhi, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

I love this place,beautiful old colonial houses transported from all over Malaysia,set in a tranquil non beach environment yet only a short drive from all the activities cenang beach has to offer,the added bonus for me is the cats this is part of a cat sanctuary they are everywhere.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

It's very hard to describe the temple tree. They brought traditional buildings from several parts of Malaysia and assembled them at the temple tree, attention to detail adds to a wonderful atmosphere where everything is laid back, elegant and relaxing. I highly recommended for couples. Wine selection was great and meals are served in a central building. I recommend the Chinese house, that was beautiful. If you are allergic to cats, be aware, this really tame and cute cats live in the property and roam free through the gardens

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spaniardgipsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Having traveled and stayed at diverse hotels and resorts across, Temple Tree turned out to be one of the most unique experiences ever. An anchorage for cat lovers with its 30+ cats that roam around the property giving you the opportunity to spend as much time with these lovely creatures. The experience of offering fresh water to one of the cats in our rooms to feeding them cat food was truly unique.

Beyond the cats, the property is conveniently located close to the airport and the Chenang beach (10 mins by taxi) so no issues on the location. Dotted by rice fields and blue hills make it a picture postcard location when you sit near the pool.

Rooms: We stayed in a Malay themed colonial house which was aesthetically done with a seamless blend of the modern facilities and traditional furniture. The ACs worked fine, mini ref was ok and the bathroom had appropriate facilities. The toiletries could have been better (read better quality brands) to go with the look and feel of the place. The beds were comfortable, rooms were cleaned well every day we were there.

Food: The in-room breakfast was nice….cakes and bread were filling. We also tried the food at the adjacent BonTon and that was pretty good as well.

Service: Understanding, amiable and ready to help staff across both properties....James (Manager) also helped us resolve a issue with a Tour operator, which was appreciated....

A few shortcomings: No phones inside the rooms, wi-fi does not really work, you cant order any food in the room, a really small pool….

Overall: So if you are looking for a different experience and want to enjoy time with cats, this is the place for you.

Stayed in December 2013, traveled as a couple.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepak N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
0.8 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 103 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
0.6 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
2.1 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Tree at Bon Ton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Tree at Bon Ton

Property: Temple Tree at Bon Ton
Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Tree at Bon Ton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though classified as B&B/Inn, Temple Tree is actually more of a boutique resort of many cultures, an eclectic mix of heritage chic...Antique buildings of Chinese, Malay, Indian and Eurasian origin, make up this 8 villa hotel, with 8 rooms & 6 suites now open. Each building has, over its 70-110 year old history, created its own heart and soul. Hopefully we have given due respect to each of these family homes with the restoration process. These houses are now the continuing the story of people who live in them, our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Temple Tree at Bon Ton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Tree At Bon Ton Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing