We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay..Great staff..fantastic place to chill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Temple Tree at Bon Ton
Ranked #6 of 161 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Me and my partner stayed here for 4 nights in May. Wow it certainly lives up to its reputation. All I can say we will be back. Temple Tree certainly takes the prize..the individually restored colonial buildings, the staff and the views from the pool are amazing. If you love a resident cat in accommodation you will love it. This place is small, well run and close to most attractions. Langkawi is the place to chill, rent a car, catch some rays…and stay at Temple Tree. Thanks..

Room Tip: All beautiful….
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pony71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

it is far away from action, i.e. restaurants, beaches, shops, etc. Internet in the rooms does not work most of the time, there is no telephone in the room to communicate for an emergency or for a request to reception, and IT IS COMPLETELY UNATTENDED DURING THE WHOLE NIGHT, nobody remains in the property, if you have a problem you have to call emergency by yourself. STAFF is very helpful but ESPECIALLY MRS AYUNIE, an enchanting and lovely malayan woman that is very good in english speaking and very helpful with tips, recommendations and reservations.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alejandro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

A friend took me to have brunch at The Temple Tree's restaurant just next to Bon Ton's hotel. And I thanked him for that.

The food was excellent taste-wise, portion-wise and presentation-wise. The overall property was so relaxing and they even let us used the pool. It was quiet and the lady serving us was very lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank DitaGenier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Pros: beautiful place, relaxing, quite, nice warm pool with sunset view... Such an antique place... Unique houses that represent malaysia, my room was huge with 2 wooden tub..

Cons: the aircond does not work well, a bit warm at nite, too quite and too dark at nite, when i want to rent video, i have to walk 5mins to bon ton and the road was quite dark.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Shila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I loved this place! We were staying there for only one night and it was perfect for that. The atmosphere is surprisingly laid back and relaxed, even in the excellent restaurant. The houses are amazing, the pool looks stunning in the beautiful garden. The dogs in the neighboring Bon Ton can be noisy at night and the location away from the beach might not be what everybody is looking for.
I would definitely recommend this to anybody for a shortish stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddog2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

I booked a room in the Colonial House as a surprise present for my boyfriend's birthday. We're travelling South East Asia on a shoestring budget but wanted to do something special for my boyfriend's birthday. Before we'd even arrived the manager James said he'd decorate the bedroom even though I had no clue what I wanted it to look like and it looked gorgeous!
Furthermore we had dinner in the Bon Ton restaurant on my boyfriend's birthday and they brought us a lovely surprise chocolate cake! Therefore everyone at Temple Tree and Bon Ton went really out of their way to make a real effort and my boyfriend had the best birthday. The place was perfect especially because he loves cats so much!
Furthermore the room was to die for, with beautiful traditional decor and the grounds were lovely too. We loved the pool especially because it was always so quiet!
We'd like to say a massive thank you to everyone there for making sure we had an amazing holiday and we hope to see you soon!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank EllaMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Absolutely delightful. Not what one would expect though... All the cottages are reconstructed traditional houses bought and transported here - hence no standardization of the rooms. But what an experience! We thoroughly enjoyed the unique houses...
Yes it can be unsettling initially since it isn't what one would expect, but gradually one settles in to the charm of the place. Lotsa cats and dogs around... Could be disastrous if u don't like them... Very helpful staff. Pretend that u aren't in a hotel but in someone's house and you will enjoy. Don't expect 5 star service and u will be fine...
Now for the disadvantages - food isn't that great, the bar is overpriced, it is quite a distance from the beach, breakfast is limited and served in the room.
All in all I will definitely visit there again...

Room Tip: Very very roomy cottages. We travelled with 2 kids and expecting cosy rooms, we booked a 2bedroom co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anandpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
5.6 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.0 mi away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,243 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,380 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
2.1 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Tree at Bon Ton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Tree at Bon Ton

Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range: £54 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Tree at Bon Ton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though classified as B&B/Inn, Temple Tree is actually more of a boutique resort of many cultures, an eclectic mix of heritage chic...Antique buildings of Chinese, Malay, Indian and Eurasian origin, make up this 8 villa hotel, with 8 rooms & 6 suites now open. Each building has, over its 70-110 year old history, created its own heart and soul. Hopefully we have given due respect to each of these family homes with the restoration process. These houses are now the continuing the story of people who live in them, our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Temple Tree at Bon Ton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Tree At Bon Ton Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing