We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the money”
Review of Azio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Azio Hotel
Ranked #51 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
686 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
“Great for the money”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This is a no frills type of place but for the money I paid I was very happy with it indeed.
The minute that you step inside the doors of the Azio you benefit from the wonderful aircon which is a blessing when you have been in the oppressive humidity and heat outside.
The staff are very polite and helpful and the reception area is a pleasant place to sit for a while.
The rooms have a modern wet room with shower, sink and loo. The beds are huge, comfortable and spotless.
If I find myself in Kuah again (which is rather likely) I would definitely use the Azio Hotel again.

Room Tip: Just ask the staff - they are very obliging
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TartanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    66
    39
    8
    10
See reviews for
23
52
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

A no-frills hotel with a good location owing to the nearby restaurants and duty-free shops, all within walking distance. The night market is also across the street so you're never out of options even without a car. Rooms are bare-bones but clean, with a comfortable bed and an LCD TV. Good showers and free wifi are an added plus, but in the end you get what you pay for. My air-conditioner was leaky, and the bathroom floor was chronically wet because of the poor exhaust fans. Wifi signal was also weaker the further away you are from the lobby. My biggest gripe has to be NO FRIDGE, so all the wonderful booze (and chocolates) I bought cheaply on the island has to be consumed immediately lest I develop a strong liking for warm beer.

Overall, ridiculously cheap, but be aware of its shortcomings. I suggest spending an extra RM100 and finding a nicer 3-star hotel for your weekend all-drinking, all-singing, all-dancing booze party. I'd give this 2.5 stars if I can but hey, cheap!

Room Tip: They're all the same. Fair game.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ezekiel_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The hotel located at the center of Kuah town where easily access to all the place of interest by car. Walking distance to night market, restaurant, duty free shop and many more. Room and bathroom is clean and cozy. We stay at family room. Great saving for those travel up to 5 people with only RM150/room only.

The hotel only provide basic amenities like bathroom amenities, tv,hanger, hair drier and water refilled machine at the corridor. No refrigerator, no phone, no save box and no cupboard. However, it is good enough for the budget traveler and to get a good quality sleep for next day activities.

If you want to do for your last shopping top up. At the hotel itself, they also have a duty free shop. Where you can get one stop solution "buy and sleep".

Most of the shop or place only open after 10am and closed at 9.30pm. So, wise planning is important! If you worry about your breakfast at 7am. Don't worry. Just 2 min walk from the hotel (at the cross juction with traffic light" with restaurant name called "Rootian Restaurant" where day time is a hawker stall and night time will be seafood restaurant. Highly recommend! When you tired, you can get spa of foot relaxation from the shop nearby also.

Don't worry with the hotel location although you may hardly get a public transport nearby. You can aim your place to go and do. Just survey and bargain at the tour agent counters when you on the way out from the departure hall.They will provide return transfer services for the package you would like to take. Personally, i rent a viva car for RM50/day.

Room Tip: Get the room facing the big road with window view although no scenic view from it but at least bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shya83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

A good budget hotel located at Kuah. The room is simple and clean. Staff are friendly and helpful. Azio duty free is just downstairs of the hotel. free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon1T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Located at Kuah town

walking destine can get a lot of free duty shops, night market, Chinese Restaurant - Rootian and etc

Clean environment, new....

Because of too new, room don't have fridge and phone line. Looking for reception, you need to go out from the room and look for them.

No swimming pool and restaurant from this hotel, but you can easily get your meal out there.

price is cheap...a room for 5 pax is RM150 per day.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyYap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I stayed here twice before writing this review.

Overall, the hotel looks very nice and clean. The staff are nice and friendly, though they should smile more. The lobby looks nice, I especially liked the way they mark every room number with a small lighted sign, making it easier to find your room and to know which ones are occupied. A filtered hot/cold water dispenser is provided next to the main entrance. I like it that the main entrance will be closed at midnight, and the hotel will only be accessible by hotel guest via a side entrance secured with the same key-lock they use on the guest door, providing a good security.

Location-wise, the hotel is located at the edge of town but still close to the shopping areas, it's also convenient that the hotel itself is located above a large duty-free shopping center with the same name, unfortunately since it is facing outward from the town not many people knew about it or shop there. There isn't any sign guiding shoppers there either. There is a couple of restaurants on the same road, and plenty of food stalls serving delicious and various Malay and western food located a good walking distance in front of the hotel, there are also a few stalls selling clothes and souvenirs right across the road.

The room is quite nice, it is quite spacious, with a fixed folded table on the wall and a luxurious bathroom. I don't really understand why they use a glass wall for the bathroom though. But the water pressure is strong and there's plenty of hot water. They also provide a tea set complete with a glass pot on a nook at the entrance. There's no closet, just a hook on the wall with a couple of hangers. A small LCD TV is provided, but they put it too high on the wall. They should check the condensate water pipe for their AC unit because water are flowing on the wall from under it onto the table. There are plenty of socket points for your laptops and phone chargers and both the bed and blankets are very comfortable, I had a very good sleep.

Conclusively it is a very good budget hotel, with comfortable beds and a nice room. A good value for money for travelers on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megat I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murcia, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The main photo presented here does not do the hotel justice. It is situated in Kuah Town over a very nice shop of the same name and I sus pect the same owners. There is a little bit of a climb to the upper floor to the main recetion area, where welcomed by very friendly staff who were always willing to help and give advise.
The rooms were rather small and the bathroom/shower room was behind a glass front with a curtain added as an afterthought to give privacy. Saying that the room was kept very clean and each day tidied by the staff.
For a short stay a good place to stay though transport is advised to get around and see this lovely island.
The hotel was adjacent to a great market which was held there in the evenings, twice a week

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.0 mi away
Altis Hotel Langkawi
Altis Hotel Langkawi
#62 of 103 in Langkawi
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Asia Langkawi
Hotel Asia Langkawi
#3 of 17 in Kuah
283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Geopark Inn Langkawi
Geopark Inn Langkawi
#9 of 17 in Kuah
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Citin Hotel Langkawi
Citin Hotel Langkawi
#32 of 103 in Langkawi
363 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bahagia
Hotel Bahagia
#52 of 103 in Langkawi
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langkawi Uptown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azio Hotel

Property: Azio Hotel
Address: No 1-19 Jalan Pandak Mayah 7 | Kuah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 103 Hotels in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Azio Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Azio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing