We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough but could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Green Village Langkawi
Ranked #98 of 140 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Heilbronn, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice enough but could do better”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I stayed here with a friend for 4 nights. My first impression of the resort was, "Really?" It didn't look like the pictures online, the grass was dead and the courtyard just looked cluttered and brown. Could have just been the time of year though. Our first room was a huge disappointment, we had a cockroach infestation. We discovered about 6 or 7 of them in the bathroom one evening and had someone on staff come and kill them with poison. We decided to stay in the room that night anyway - big mistake. I woke up at 3am with a cockroach in my hair! After that we switched rooms (friend wanted to switch resorts... I wanted to give them another chance). The staff was apologetic and helpful. They gave us two new rooms to choose from. We got a nice upgrade for no extra charge - cockroach-free this time! I think the problem with a lot of the rooms is the cement bathroom flooring and spaces between the front door and the surrounding wall. We noticed the cockroaches coming through little holes in the cement bathroom. There was absolutely no sealing (we saw this in a couple of the other rooms too - not sure if they had the same problem). Also, when our front door was shut, there was a lot of space where there was no proper seal.

I think the best thing this resort has going for it is the staff. They were very warm and always smiled. The free DVD rentals came in handy during rainy afternoons, and they have an extensive library. There's also a work-out room with some treadmills and equipment. The free breakfast was probably the best complimentary one I've had. It was substantial and they changed it a bit every day so we didn't get sick of it :) The restaurant (Uncle Jiggs Bistro) has great food at great prices.

Something we found a little disappointing was its proximity to the beach. It is only 500m from the beach (as advertised); however, that section of beach is mostly private and not very nice. It's actually about a 15 minute walk to the public beach area - still, not bad, but we were expecting to be closer to the action. We did find many mid-range resorts right on the beach that had comparable prices to Green Village, and had we known that we probably would have booked one of those. However, if location convenience doesn't concern you, Green Village is still a good choice. Because it's off the main 'strip' it's very quiet.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaROK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    40
    35
    18
    35
See reviews for
36
52
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

A group of close friends and i stayed at Green Village in November of 2010. We been to Langkawi many times in the past few years and stayed in a number of different hotels. Since my friends and i are always looking for reasonably priced accommodation in Langkawi, we decided to give it a try.

The resort is tucked at the corner at Pantai Tengah not far off from Pantai Chenang. If you're driving, it will be on your left hand side coming from Chenang. Watch out for signs for Sunba Retro Bar and you know it will be time to signal to turn left. Green Village lives up to its name the time you set foot. It is as "green"as it can get with lovely shady trees, lush plants and a garden in the middle of the resort where the simple but beautiful swimming pool is. There was shaded concrete huts with loungers chairs and wooden deck chairs by the pool too. Not forgetting about the very interesting tree house they had. The property itself is quaint and you will get this laid-back vibe about the place.

We booked two rooms - one was their Standard room and the other was their Junior Family room. Since we were going during low peak season, we got really good rates for both rooms. For the rooms, it was clean but very basic and small. The Junior family room was slightly more spacious with a double bed and a double decker bed plus their bathroom was pretty quirky as their sink was made of an entire concrete slab. For the standard room, it was extremely small and really basic. So much so that it wouldn't be far off from it being a hostel budget like setting. Bed was too big for the room that you can't open the room door without hitting the bed. Then there was no cupboards or tables but a bare open steel frame thing instead to hang your clothes or put things on. But we weren't really complaining as for the price we paid (which included breakfast) plus the fact the we were out of the room almost all day and night, it made for a pleasant nights sleep. Perhaps I will suggest that you booked their deluxe rooms instead or go for their family rooms even though its just two of you.

Breakfast was simple western, not buffet style and cooked for you only if you come for breakfast which was a economical idea. There is only one restaurant which doubles up as their bar called Uncle Jiggs Bistro. We didn't eat there except for breakfast but i heard that the food is good. We did spend alot of time drinking over there because it rained most of the time during our stay. Drinks were cheap, the staff were friendly and it was very chill out. So much so that we left Sunba next door early so that we could hang out at Jiggs instead. Plus you can play pool for free.

On another note - low peak is great to good if you don't mind the rain. Prices are cheaper but for Green Village it can get tricky as there is not shaded pathways to get from room to room or from the lobby/restaurant to your room. They do provide umbrellas for you so do ask. Because it was low season, we were one of the few guest there so you will get the swimming pool or bistro all by yourself.

Green Village is not for everyone i must say. If you are looking to stay by the beach or want a more "luxurious" type of accommodation or prefer a more populated area like Chenang then don't stay here. But if you are on a budget like us and want good value for your money or want to find a little peace and quiet in such a rustic enviroment than this resort will offer you that.

Room Tip: Book their deluxe or family rooms instead. Standard room is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2011

the location is great - close to the beach and close to great restaurants. very close to a party location called "sunbar".
the accomodation itself is a really lovely place! the rooms are positioned arround a beatiful garden with swimming pool, sun beds, play ground, hammock... it is really great to relax!
I would really recomment this vanue!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klemensR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We really liked our time at Green Village. Rooms we're clean (altough they don't offer very much space). It has a TV + DVD player. You can rent books & DVDs for free. Bath was clean and offers enough room. Extra plus for the staff - they're really helpful and friendly. A small breakfast is also included. If you want to go out there's a bar called Sunba near the resort where a live-band is playing until late night.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w00dp3ck3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed in a deluxe room which was a really good size, comfortable beds and big bathroom.
The pool was a delight, and there are lots of little additions around the garden which add to the character and charm of the place, such as a tree house, swings (both kid's and adult sized), a hen & rooster which roam the gardens... The list goes on...
Be sure to stay at this pleasant property at a fraction of the cost of other Langkawi resorts, and explore these hidden treasures for yourself.
If you're after 5 star luxury, try somewhere else... If charm, peace and tranquility are more your style, this place is worth a look!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlayfulPup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bota,Perak.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We stayed from 6/6/11 until 9/6/11

The first impression, when put our first foot at reception , where the deco are "Indian or Hindu's Theme". May be some group not feel easy about it.

I booked two family room.
But upon check-in , we were giving 1 family room and 2 standard room.
Family room quite small, 1 queens size bed, 1 double decker, 1 big tv set, 1 set DVD player, No cupboard to put in your clothes. No Frige
The standard room, 1 queens size bed, 1 mini frige, 1 big TV and 1 set DVD player. Quite comfortable.

1 small pool., in front of our room. My kid really love this facility.

No live TV, instead, they supply us a dozen of DVD upon our request.

We, included the breakfast. Not much choice. But every morning, you get western breakfast.

We have good nice sleep.

I feel enjoy the relaxation around the resort.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKhairuddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Had a great stay during April and would happily stay again.
Real value for money with helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.1 mi away
The Villa Langkawi
The Villa Langkawi
#83 of 140 in Langkawi
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Pantai Tengah Beach Inn
#4 of 6 in Pantai Tengah
4 reviews
1.1 mi away
Airis Sanctuary Resort
Airis Sanctuary Resort
#72 of 140 in Langkawi
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Fina Fine Homes
Casa Fina Fine Homes
#18 of 140 in Langkawi
266 reviews
0.8 mi away
Langkawi Chantique Resort
Langkawi Chantique Resort
#3 of 140 in Langkawi
330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Molek
Villa Molek
#3 of 5 in Pantai Tengah
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Village Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Village Langkawi

Property: Green Village Langkawi
Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah | Teluk Baru, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Village Langkawi 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Green Village Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Village Langkawi Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing