We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms need repairs and can be noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Green Village Langkawi
Ranked #99 of 140 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Rooms need repairs and can be noisy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

I’m in two minds about this place. On the one hand I found the staff to be very helpful and welcoming, and the grounds and pool were well maintained and pleasant. On the other hand the room was a bit of a war zone with peeling vinyl on the floor, venetian blinds in danger of falling down, leaking pipes in the toilet and bathroom, cracked bathroom fixtures, random holes in the wall, a TV that didn’t work properly and so on. There were plenty of staff maintaining the grounds and in the reception area, but almost no effort put into maintaining the rooms. The location is good, and within easy walking distance were some nice restaurants (I particularly recommend the Mexican/Italian restaurant La Bomba). The front desk organised an island hopping tour at a good price, and were always happy to organise taxis.

Perhaps the biggest drawback, though, was the new (by the looks of it) complex next door with its nightclub which booms away until 3am. Both nights of our stay I woke up after midnight and couldn’t get back to sleep until the place closed. It is close to the family room, so if you were at one of the back units you probably wouldn’t be so troubled.

Overall, I think you can do better than this place.

Room Tip: Don't stay at the front of the resort near the reception area or you will endure the thumping ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CantonaForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    40
    35
    18
    36
See reviews for
36
52
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heemstede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

I have never before posted a negative review, but this place was so dissapointing that I couldn't stop myself. This is one of the smallest rooms I have ever stayed in. All the space is taken up by the bed (with a matress that is all used up and lumpy pillows that stink) and a giant tv that had no channels (why don't they just take it out, it has no function). There is one tiny window, so hardly any daylight. The walls are covered with smears and smudges. The bathroom is so tiny that you have to shower standing over the toilet. you have to walk on the wet and very slipery floor (i fell) everytime you have to go to the toilet or you want to wash your hands (the sink is tiny, cracked, dirty and not a real washbasin) and it leaks. The water heater didn't work, even after i asked if maintenance could take a look at it. But the worst thing of all: in the eveniing at around 8 pm the bar next door that you hadn't noticed during the day, starts playing really loud music until aproximately 02.30 in the night. Even my super earplugs couldn't block the noice.

If you are a backpacker, this hotel might do it for you, unfortunately the price doesn't match the quality at all. It seems the people who own and run it, are not willing to invest in the rooms at all. This hotel is in my top three of worst hotels ever. I am writing this review at 01.00 am lying in this terribly uncomfortable room waiting for the morning to come so I can leave this place....

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esthergoesasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Langkawi hotels

Kota Bharu, Kelantan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

After browsing through some of the reviews, I thought this resort will be a relaxing gateway for my family, that is, until we reached the place. Although there is a sign pointing the direction to the resort, there is no visible board of the resort's name at the entrance. The parking lot is terrible too. We booked 2 standard rooms for 4 adults and to our surprise, the room is so small and under-ventilated, definitely not what you see on the brochure or on the internet. On the brochure, they even dare to say that the resort is 3-stars when the fact is the service is bad and room conditions are terrible ( only worth 2 stars ). We asked for non-smoking rooms and they gave us one room with previous smoking occupant. When I asked for a change, the staff was rude ( my mistake for not asking for her name ) and not apologetic at all, dismissed my complaint and not even asking the housekeeping to change the sheets and spray some air-fresheners as she had promised to. Aside from that, the breakfast is only so-so and service is slow. All in all, definitely not worth your money for such an unpleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clover_sze831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

My partner and I picked this hotel and were worried about it before arriving. However we were blowen away with this little gem. Green Village is a great little place tucked away off the street. Its only a 10min walk to Underwater world and amazing resturants (Sagar indian across the road is the best indian I have ever had). The rooms are basic yes, but you get what you pay for. Air con works very well and is not noisey. Rooms are cleaned daily. Breakfast is fun and good quality. Cheap drinks at the bar. And a nice pool to cool off in.
All up would stay here again for sure and support the smaller friendly local business, rather than wasting money at the rip off resorts.

Room Tip: pay the few dollars more for the deluxe room, its abit nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank farva222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

What great value. We stayed here for 3 nights (11th - 13th of sept) and felt that all our needs were met. Breakfast at uncle jiggs each morning was very tasty and filling. The bed was comfortable, great selection of DVD's from reception. The staff are very willing to help you with anything you might need.
All in all, I would stay here again, great location, just a 10minute walk to the main street in Pantai Cenang. I would highly recommend for anyone wanting a 'base' to explore Langkawi. We spent most of our time out and about during the day, and looked forward to coming back each night.

Room Tip: Delux room was our pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chocolatekara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heilbronn, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

I stayed here with a friend for 4 nights. My first impression of the resort was, "Really?" It didn't look like the pictures online, the grass was dead and the courtyard just looked cluttered and brown. Could have just been the time of year though. Our first room was a huge disappointment, we had a cockroach infestation. We discovered about 6 or 7 of them in the bathroom one evening and had someone on staff come and kill them with poison. We decided to stay in the room that night anyway - big mistake. I woke up at 3am with a cockroach in my hair! After that we switched rooms (friend wanted to switch resorts... I wanted to give them another chance). The staff was apologetic and helpful. They gave us two new rooms to choose from. We got a nice upgrade for no extra charge - cockroach-free this time! I think the problem with a lot of the rooms is the cement bathroom flooring and spaces between the front door and the surrounding wall. We noticed the cockroaches coming through little holes in the cement bathroom. There was absolutely no sealing (we saw this in a couple of the other rooms too - not sure if they had the same problem). Also, when our front door was shut, there was a lot of space where there was no proper seal.

I think the best thing this resort has going for it is the staff. They were very warm and always smiled. The free DVD rentals came in handy during rainy afternoons, and they have an extensive library. There's also a work-out room with some treadmills and equipment. The free breakfast was probably the best complimentary one I've had. It was substantial and they changed it a bit every day so we didn't get sick of it :) The restaurant (Uncle Jiggs Bistro) has great food at great prices.

Something we found a little disappointing was its proximity to the beach. It is only 500m from the beach (as advertised); however, that section of beach is mostly private and not very nice. It's actually about a 15 minute walk to the public beach area - still, not bad, but we were expecting to be closer to the action. We did find many mid-range resorts right on the beach that had comparable prices to Green Village, and had we known that we probably would have booked one of those. However, if location convenience doesn't concern you, Green Village is still a good choice. Because it's off the main 'strip' it's very quiet.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaROK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

A group of close friends and i stayed at Green Village in November of 2010. We been to Langkawi many times in the past few years and stayed in a number of different hotels. Since my friends and i are always looking for reasonably priced accommodation in Langkawi, we decided to give it a try.

The resort is tucked at the corner at Pantai Tengah not far off from Pantai Chenang. If you're driving, it will be on your left hand side coming from Chenang. Watch out for signs for Sunba Retro Bar and you know it will be time to signal to turn left. Green Village lives up to its name the time you set foot. It is as "green"as it can get with lovely shady trees, lush plants and a garden in the middle of the resort where the simple but beautiful swimming pool is. There was shaded concrete huts with loungers chairs and wooden deck chairs by the pool too. Not forgetting about the very interesting tree house they had. The property itself is quaint and you will get this laid-back vibe about the place.

We booked two rooms - one was their Standard room and the other was their Junior Family room. Since we were going during low peak season, we got really good rates for both rooms. For the rooms, it was clean but very basic and small. The Junior family room was slightly more spacious with a double bed and a double decker bed plus their bathroom was pretty quirky as their sink was made of an entire concrete slab. For the standard room, it was extremely small and really basic. So much so that it wouldn't be far off from it being a hostel budget like setting. Bed was too big for the room that you can't open the room door without hitting the bed. Then there was no cupboards or tables but a bare open steel frame thing instead to hang your clothes or put things on. But we weren't really complaining as for the price we paid (which included breakfast) plus the fact the we were out of the room almost all day and night, it made for a pleasant nights sleep. Perhaps I will suggest that you booked their deluxe rooms instead or go for their family rooms even though its just two of you.

Breakfast was simple western, not buffet style and cooked for you only if you come for breakfast which was a economical idea. There is only one restaurant which doubles up as their bar called Uncle Jiggs Bistro. We didn't eat there except for breakfast but i heard that the food is good. We did spend alot of time drinking over there because it rained most of the time during our stay. Drinks were cheap, the staff were friendly and it was very chill out. So much so that we left Sunba next door early so that we could hang out at Jiggs instead. Plus you can play pool for free.

On another note - low peak is great to good if you don't mind the rain. Prices are cheaper but for Green Village it can get tricky as there is not shaded pathways to get from room to room or from the lobby/restaurant to your room. They do provide umbrellas for you so do ask. Because it was low season, we were one of the few guest there so you will get the swimming pool or bistro all by yourself.

Green Village is not for everyone i must say. If you are looking to stay by the beach or want a more "luxurious" type of accommodation or prefer a more populated area like Chenang then don't stay here. But if you are on a budget like us and want good value for your money or want to find a little peace and quiet in such a rustic enviroment than this resort will offer you that.

Room Tip: Book their deluxe or family rooms instead. Standard room is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.1 mi away
The Villa Langkawi
The Villa Langkawi
#82 of 140 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Pantai Tengah Beach Inn
#4 of 6 in Pantai Tengah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
1.1 mi away
Airis Sanctuary Resort
Airis Sanctuary Resort
#73 of 140 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Fina Fine Homes
Casa Fina Fine Homes
#18 of 140 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Molek
Villa Molek
#3 of 5 in Pantai Tengah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rasa Senang Chalet
Rasa Senang Chalet
#86 of 137 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Village Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Village Langkawi

Property: Green Village Langkawi
Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah | Teluk Baru, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Village Langkawi 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Green Village Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Village Langkawi Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing