We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has its pros and cons but you could probably do better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Green Village Langkawi
Ranked #108 of 159 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 December 2010

Alright, well first of all the rooms are pretty disappointing. Ours was just big enough to fit the bed, the giant old-fashioned TV with no channels, and not much more. No bathtub, just a shower nozzle coming out of the wall, but at least the water is warm(ish). The bathroom door is plastic, if you like that. The wifi in all rooms only works for about 30 minutes a day, so don't rely on it. There's a computer in reception to use if you need it. Also, I think we were given a queen-sized bedroom even though we booked and paid for a king. All the rooms have two chairs outside, which is nice.

The hotel grounds are pretty cool. The pool, while nothing special, was usually not being used so it was a nice amenity to have. The courtyard is really green, lush and pretty. There are swings, a tree house and some shaded chairs to relax on.

There's lots of little restaurants that serve cheap and delicious food. A good amount of choice within 5-10 minutes walking distance. A nice little fruit stand with convenience store-type products a few minutes' walk away. (there's no convenience store on site, so nowhere to buy water at the hotel. Also, no fridge in the rooms either, so water becomes a problem)

The main problem, the one thing that would makes me want to post this review is how hard it is to sleep here! As peaceful as it is during the day, the on-site bar (which has NO ONE in it) starts playing the loudest, crappiest music from 10pm until 2 or maybe 3am. The grounds are small so it's impossible to tune this music out. And on top of that, the hotel keeps a pet rooster on the grounds that starts crowing at the first sign of sunrise.

So if you don't care about sleeping, having internet access or TV channels this might be the place for you. Otherwise, you could probably do better in the same price range.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veryshibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Green Village Langkawi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2010

Green Village Resort is a relatively new and less-advertised resort in Langkawi. It is about 7 kms from the Langkawi airport on Pantai Tengah, a short distance from Pantai Cenang. The beach is only 500 m away and the Oceanarium about a kilometer. It is located on a quite lane but not too far from the busy Pantai Cenang. The rooms are clean as shown on their webpage and are reasonably priced.

Green village, true to its name, gives a very laid back feel away from the busy city life. The resort staff, manager and owner were all very helpful. They suggested places to visit and pointed to a good car rental shop. Breakfast is included with tea/coffee being available all day long. The resort has a swimming pool and a library with books and novels in different languages. The gym was still under construction (as of Oct 2010). The resort also has a restaurant and bar. There are quite a few birds around and the resort staff feed them first thing in the morning. They also offer guests umbrellas for use as they roam around Langkawi which is very helpful as it rains a lot.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srir0002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Location is ok. Rooms are averagely maintained. Same for the pool. I find the rates are on the high side due to the conditions of the rooms. No TV channels but they can loan free use of DVDs. No minibar. It's good only for staying in for the night and out for most of the day.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigjewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

Me and a friend stayed at Green Village Langkawi for 3 days and 2 nights. Finding the place was not hard as there was a huge sign board as we approach the hotel area. The reception area is very simple and before you reach that area you can see the Uncle Jiggs Bistro(they have live bands-sadly only on certain days). Very understaffed I would say, the same people doing most of the work but they are always there to help out, seems to be more like a family run establishment but I doubt it is. Very small knit community that I like. Approaching the room, the greenery and atmosphere is amazing, you feel so serene, so at home. The pool is amazing and we spent a huge amount of our time, basking under the sun and playing in the water. We went during a week-day just before Raya hence it was rather quiet and we loved that, we had the pool all to ourselves and we stay and had our drinks there. The bartender was very helpful and very pleasant, he made out trip very pleasant. The room was pretty disappointing though, very run-down,pillows were lumpy, no proper place to put your clothes only skeleton racks to hang clothes on, beds not very comfortable. Bathroom is super small and I understand that normal rates are RM170 per night, so not worth it for the price. If they were to upgrade the rooms, yes that would be justify the amount. But we got a discounted rate and paid about 100 for the room even then we felt it was not value for money if based on the hotel room although the surrounding area compensated for that. The breakfast wasn't very nice but edible. Staff were quite helpful. Overall I would go back providing they upgrade their rooms as the place itself is truly a paradise even though it is not directly by the beach. Renting a car solves this problem as the beach is only about 4 minutes away(Pantai Cenang). This hotel is in Pantai Tengah.

Just a little polishing and tis would be an ideal place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Лучше не останавливаться в этом отеле!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank robin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank minozada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.0 mi away
The Villa Langkawi
The Villa Langkawi
#72 of 159 in Langkawi
163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Idaman Motel
Casa Idaman Motel
#61 of 161 in Langkawi
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Desa Terrace
Desa Terrace
#62 of 159 in Langkawi
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Fina Fine Homes
Casa Fina Fine Homes
#17 of 159 in Langkawi
271 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bunk Inn Langkawi
Bunk Inn Langkawi
#3 of 7 in Pantai Tengah
15 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Lodge Motel
White Lodge Motel
#6 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Village Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Village Langkawi

Address: Jalan Pantai Tengah | Teluk Baru, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range: £22 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Village Langkawi 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Green Village Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Village Langkawi Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing