We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Privilege Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Privilege Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Elegant and intimate indoor Malaysian restaurant located on the first floor overlooking Telaga Harbour Marina. Privilege restaurant offers a degustation and a la carte menu with a fusion of Malay, Chinese and Indian influences. The bar offers a wide selection of wines, champagne and sparkling wine by the glass to enhance your dining experience. Wide selection of classic, house specialty and spicy cocktails and mocktails are available.
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Went from advice of TripAdvisor and were not disappointed, only small recommend you book. The food was amazing presented lovely and service was excellent. Had the raw salmon and pickled cucumber, malaysian seafood curry, king prawn curry and smoked banana ice cream very different. Wine very good and served good. Will definitely visit again before the end of the holiday.

1  Thank rachego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Ting, Owner at Privilege Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear rachego,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted that you had enjoyed your meal here.
We look forward to welcome you back to Langkawi again.
Kind regards,
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 317 of 890 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have visited Langkawi for 3 years in a row and on each occasion have eaten at Privilege restaurant on 2 occasions each time. We have had most items on the menu and have never been disappointed . The stand out dishes for both my wife and I are the 5 spiced duck ( Peter please do not take this dish off the menu- ever), the seafood curry and spicy prawns in the main's department. For starters the mixed starter plate ( satay , scallop,and salmon ) ,the lamb samosas or any of the 3 starters that make up the starter plate are superb.
The wines are reasonably priced and the service is top notch. Peter ,the owner ,checks on his diners to ensure everything runs smoothly .
We travel from Casa del mar to eat at Privilege and have always felt it well worth the 60 ringgit return fare to eat at an establishment that we regard as one of the very best on the Island.

1  Thank WaWa1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Ting, Owner at Privilege Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear WaWa1963,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted that you had enjoyed your meal here.
We look forward to welcome you back to Langkawi again.
Kind regards,
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

we were surprised it was number one on trip advisor! I agree with a previous reviewer who felt that everything about the restaurant (food/service/ambience) was of a good standard but nothing really special. We were staying at The Danna, so it was just a few minutes walk away and definitely worth visiting for an evening meal if you are staying nearby, but I don't think I would travel a distance to dine there. The food was very well presented but we definitely had more memorable meals elsewhere during our stay in Langkawi.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rjhmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Ting, Owner at Privilege Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear rjhmt,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad that you had enjoyed your meal here.
We look forward to welcome you back to Langkawi again.
Kind regards,
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Small restaurant with relatively short menu but what they serve from a small kitchen is superb. Reservations advised. Ask for a table over-looking the small marina if possible. We took our young children but, really, this is a restaurant for adults or those with older families. Well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Hector18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Ting, Owner at Privilege Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Hector18,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted that you had enjoyed your meal here.
We look forward to welcome you back to Langkawi again.
Kind regards,
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

My friend and I dined here upon reading all the five star reviews on trip advisor. Don't get me wrong our experience wasn't bad, the food was nice but not amazing in flavour. Service was good but the atmosphere was lacking something. Very similar to a dining experience you would get back home in Australia. We had more amazing dining experiences in Langkawi that we would tell people back home about.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ruby_Frankcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Ting, Owner at Privilege Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Ruby_Frankcombe,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We do appreciate the feedback and understand that it is made constructively. These comments will be useful when we are making improvements.
We do hope you had a great time in Langkawi.
Kind regards,
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Privilege Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing