We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant dining”
Review of Privilege Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Privilege Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Elegant and intimate indoor Malaysian restaurant located on the first floor overlooking Telaga Harbour Marina. Privilege restaurant offers a degustation and a la carte menu with a fusion of Malay, Chinese and Indian influences. The bar offers a wide selection of wines, champagne and sparkling wine by the glass to enhance your dining experience. Wide selection of classic, house specialty and spicy cocktails and mocktails are available.
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Elegant dining”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Up market contemporary restaurant - A little formal so if you want a more relaxed atmosphere then one of the restaurants downstairs would be better. The food was good, quite pricey compared to other places.
The owner was dining in the restaurant and came to talk to us, where are we from. etc, it was a nice personal touch. However, the staff started packing up all the empty tables and chairs around us as we were finishing our meal which was quite off putting, it was a late meal, we arrived around 9.30pm and this was then around 10.30pm ( they close at 11pm) but it was very off putting and to be honest spoiled the meal a little as we ended up pretty much ion our own next to a pile of tables and chairs!. It was a shame because the restaurant had been recommended to us and as it is a higher end priced place it was disappointing in the end.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Ting, Owner at Privilege Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear nicky B,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We do appreciate the feedback and understand that it is made constructively. These comments will be useful when we are making improvements.
We do hope you had a great time in Langkawi.
Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

890 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    609
    182
    63
    26
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, great atmosphere, lovely views”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

My husband & I visited Privilege Restaurant after reading the good reviews here on Trip Advisor. We booked ahead for a 6pm dinner, however we had the place to ourselves! Granted, most people seem to have dinner from 7pm in Langkawi...
The food was delicious, high quality & the presentation beautiful (I had seafood curry then chocolate cake, hubby had the duck then cake with coconut icecream). The wine selection was decent and their non-alcoholic selection very good as well.
The location was stunning - the buildings had a touch of Europe about them, and the view of the yachts on the harbour was very relaxing. It was a little out of the way, but worth the drive.
I'm very glad we visited this restaurant. I can see why it's number one on Trip Advisor. A must on your visit to Langkawi.

Helpful?
Thank MaisieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Ting, Owner at Privilege Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear MaisieF,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted that you had enjoyed your meal here.
We look forward to welcome you back to Langkawi again.
Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“If you don't visit this restaurant you'll be sorry!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We arrived in Langkawi and the first thing we did was book a table at Peter Ting's Priviledge restaurant after a memorable meal there six months ago. We were warmly welcomed by the staff and then Peter arrived and came over to add his welcome too. We both had the seven course, don't worry they're small portions, Degustation menu which was absolutely superb! Also had the matching seven wine choices which matched perfectly and again were superb from the Pouilly Fumé through the Shiraz with the lamb and finished with an Italian dessert wine. The dessert for you chocaholics out there is a gooey centred chocolate and cardamon pudding with home made vanilla ice cream. All this for the princely sum of MYR441 inc. service or £80.00. As foodies who have eaten at Gordon Ramsey's, and Rick Stein's all I can say is; the food is first class, the service is first class and this restaurant certainly deserves a Michelin Star!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ArtySin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Ting, Owner at Privilege Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear ArtySin,
Welcome back and thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted that you had enjoyed your meal here again.
We look forward to welcome you back to Langkawi again.
Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Oh Dear ...”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We just spent approx 400B and what a let down. Entrées were ok ... but the raw salmon was cooked??? ... the french bourgogne pinot noir was aweful ... the duck main was fine ... my lobster, well there lied the main problem. Menu says it's 450g when it comes out 180g (at best) in a tasteless broth. And, it's awfully overcooked. Goodluck trying to convince me that the base of the broth wasn't a chicken stock cube. And, that was 1/3 of the total bill. View ... what view??? you're behind a glass window viewing a few boats front on and a road to the left. Staff seemed apologetic about the lobster issue but were all talk no action - as no action was taken. Big let down.

Helpful?
3 Thank ByZoeRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Ting, Owner at Privilege Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear DiariesofZRK,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We do appreciate the feedback and understand that it is made constructively. These comments will be useful when we are making improvements.
We do hope you had a great time in Langkawi.
Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“A privilege indeed, it's exquisite”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We checked out the restaurants on Trip Advisor before we touched down in Langkawi as food is very much part of our travel experience. Privilege Restaurant was ranked number one and we inked it in as a must do. We are so glad we did!!! Nice setting at Telaga Harbour near the Danna Hotel and just a 3 minute cab ride (10 ringgit) from Berjaya Resort, the Oriental Village and the cable car.

The staff are very friendly and are knowledgeable about the menu. The bar is small but fairly well stocked and the owner, Peter, has worked some magic with his chef to create a beautiful menu. From what we saw, you can't make a bad choice so it's just about what you want the most. There is a recipe book at the table which is a great idea and you can buy a copy as you leave with all the proceeds from the book going to a local charity. We were pretty impressed with this social conscience as well and bought 2 copies.

We were only in Langkawi for 10 nights and our resort had some very nice restaurants, however we went here twice. You must book in, we saw a quite a few people get turned away as the restaurant was fully booked - and if you are only in Langkawi for a short time it would be dreadful to miss the experience of dining here at least once. We booked by email via their website and got a response fairly quickly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saggital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter_Ting, Owner at Privilege Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Saggital,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted that you had enjoyed your meals here.
We look forward to welcome you back to Langkawi again.
Kind regards,
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Privilege Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Kuala Teriang, Langkawi
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing