We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“only bed up to expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Baron Resort Langkawi
Ranked #101 of 140 Langkawi B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“only bed up to expectation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Price : low to average
Room : average
Bed : Good
Bathroom : Poor (A bit smelly)
Breakfast : Average. But more or less the same menu
Front desk service : Good. Fast check in and out
Security : Terrible. No staff was visible at night. Not even security guard
Parking : Ample parking space
Location : Good as we spend time at Kuah town for shopping

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nazim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    45
    95
    45
    57
See reviews for
97
69
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We had read mixed reviews about coming here but due to budget restrictions had limited choice. Our experience here was mixed. Our initial impression was that we were far from pleased, arriving at night after a long day flying to find we had been given to single beds and our room reeked of smoke, despite requesting a double room non-smoking. We were told there was nothing that could be done that night. Fortunately we were moved the next morning, but only after being quite assertive. They initially stated that the only way we could have a double room would be to have no window. After stating we were not satisfied with that another room miraculously appeared. From then on in our experience at the resort improved. The actual communal areas were quite pleasant and lovely, great pool and spectacular view from the restaurant and deck area. Food at the restaurant was reasonably priced and nice, the included breakfast was edible but not great. The location of the motel was quite good, a reasonable distance to a lot of tourist attractions. The staff were not particularly helpful, particularly those at reception, and the tour desk, which was barely ever manned. Save yourself the trouble and head to the one in town. If budget allowed us, we probably wouldn't choose to stay here again, the staff were not particularly helpful, and the whole place just could have done with a good scrub and a lick of paint. However, if you are restricted for a budget, and aren't fussy about extras debaron was comfortable enough. And I can guarantee you 100% that the rest of langkawi will not fail to impress, it is an incredible place to have a holiday and if your budget means that you need to stay somewhere like this. definitely don't pass up the opportunity!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

the building for standard rooms have no reception and the lobby is so gloomy and have toilet smell. overall, the facility is big and located at a very nice location, but poorly maintained. the staff is not friendly and food (breakfast) have nothing special. even for a budget price, the resort should be maintained well and train their staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khairul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel isn't well maintained and the room had dirty walls and the bed sheets and towels were not clean. The room was indeed spacious but its not really a place where I would stay again...................

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ioana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beijing
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

pleasantly suprised by this hotel, spacious room enough for me, two teenagers and a child. the pool is very nice and has two slides and two pools albeit not huge. breakfast is also quite good with plenty to offer including a chef preparing fresh omelettes and fried eggs. The room was cleaned well every day and the bedding changed every other day or as needed. The reception staff were also helpful overall. The restaurant also served food by the pool or to the room without any fuss.

Room Tip: i asked for a room with a sea view prior to booking and was not disappointed... mountains, sea, beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawn1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Overall the room is very spacious.
I able to get the room facing seaside which quite a nice view, you may able to seen the Eagle located at Dataran Lang from far.
The bathroom drainage system is poor, water is soaking at bath area and overflow at another outlet.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

You got what you paid. Dont expect too much in this resort, as its low prices compared to other and so does its service. Guest complaining at the lobby is common view. My water heather got problem, and fortunately they change room immediately. Breakfast menu not so special, and even egg station finished early. Maybe because it was a peak season during new year when we stayed. But they should anticipating as well. Pool quite ok, and they have beach side view facing dataran lang. Nice to sit there during sunset or enjoy moonlight. Overall i should say in average, not soo good but not so bad, maybe it's not "real" resort anyway, but for budget traveller who wants to stay at kuah area, it's quite ok.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank andrutomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Waterfront
0.4 mi away
Langkawi Seaview Hotel
Langkawi Seaview Hotel
#40 of 100 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Asia Langkawi
Hotel Asia Langkawi
#3 of 16 in Kuah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Kuah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Langkawi Baron Hotel
Langkawi Baron Hotel
#85 of 140 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Baron Resort Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Baron Resort Langkawi

Property: De Baron Resort Langkawi
Address: Jalan Teluk Baru, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Langkawi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — De Baron Resort Langkawi 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your De Baron Resort Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Baron Resort Langkawi Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing